Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

TU Go From O2 - Launched


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 28-02-2013, 09:05
stuf83
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Ayr,Scotland
Posts: 44

The long awaited app from O2 called TU Go has launched today on iOS and Android...Now you can use your normal O2 allowances over wifi when you have no mobile signal Looks good so far!
stuf83 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 28-02-2013, 09:07
hassan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3,379
The long awaited app from O2 called TU Go has launched today on iOS and Android...Now you can use your normal O2 allowances over wifi when you have no mobile signal Looks good so far!
Sounds good for emergencies, but being in london I can't really recall when I had no signal
hassan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2013, 09:46
Everything Goes
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the future....
Posts: 9,553
Was part of the trial a few weeks ago. Whilst not perfect it did work.
Everything Goes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2013, 09:53
Everything Goes
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the future....
Posts: 9,553
Undocumented fact about TU Go is that you can put diffrent networks sim card in your phone and using the wifi /data allowance you will be able to access text messages and phone calls via TU Go! So no need to carry 2 phones
Everything Goes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2013, 10:00
Neilgcal
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 34
Anyone knows if it works abroad on wifi rather than roaming?? Would be much better then!
Neilgcal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2013, 10:43
stuf83
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Ayr,Scotland
Posts: 44
Anyone knows if it works abroad on wifi rather than roaming?? Would be much better then!
Yes as long as you have a wifi connection it will use your allowances as if you were in the UK
stuf83 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2013, 12:09
Thine Wonk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10,408
I hope other networks do this soon. It's actually a Telefonica project and they own some of the patents etc.

They are making the technology available to other networks as well if they want to license it.
Thine Wonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2013, 13:02
Redcoat
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: West Tyrone
Posts: 1,799
I hope other networks do this soon. It's actually a Telefonica project and they own some of the patents etc.

They are making the technology available to other networks as well if they want to license it.
Could be something 3 might look at if they want to roll out LTE on 800/1800 MHz in areas where they currently don't have 3G at present, before VoLTE can be made available.
Redcoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2013, 14:24
JimmyCarrFan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 97
Is there a Mac app?

How do I disable it for incoming traffic? i.e. I only want to use it when I want to call someone with little or no cell signal
JimmyCarrFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2013, 15:03
gillyallan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 27,241
Can someone explain this as I dont understand. Why would it use any of your allowances over wifi anyway?
I think I'm being thick though
gillyallan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2013, 15:54
gillyallan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 27,241
So would an example be. You were on eurostar in tunnel so no signal but this would allow you to phone and text as normal through the app but over wifi ( assuming theres wifi on the train that is)
gillyallan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2013, 16:44
gillyallan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 27,241
Not that anyone has answered yet but could O2 be sneaky with this assuming above is correct. Could they just sense when you are on wifi anyway and divert everything through wifi and save their air capacity. ...or wouldn't that really matter to them anyway?
gillyallan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2013, 17:07
matty1000kk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 136
Not available for buisness users yet. Will be useful when roaming however if connected via wifi as the calls come out of your uk bundle.
matty1000kk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2013, 17:18
gillyallan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 27,241
Is that definite matty
Just reading the t and cs and it says something about international calls are available through the app but international rates apply. Or does that mean making a call outside the uk through it rather than calling back to the uk?
gillyallan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2013, 17:28
matty1000kk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 136
It means that roaming data charges will apply if you use 3G. If you stick to wifi the costs will be the same as in the UK. That's how I read it anyway.
matty1000kk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2013, 17:55
Stiggles
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dundee, Scotland
Posts: 7,946
Oh, doesn't work for PAYG accounts. That's nice......
Stiggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2013, 18:06
hxbro
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,115
http://www.o2.co.uk/tugo/want-it
hxbro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2013, 18:44
Thine Wonk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10,408
Can someone explain this as I dont understand. Why would it use any of your allowances over wifi anyway?
I think I'm being thick though
How would you make calls from a wifi connection to a standard telephone number without paying for calls?

Somebody has to pay for the call, you are just using wifi instead of cellular for the connection. The connection goes into O2 as data and then to the other person's phone as a standard phone call.

If both parties were on a wifi you could use skype for free.
Thine Wonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2013, 18:57
gillyallan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 27,241
Yeah since that post you can see ive more or less worked it out
gillyallan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2013, 23:00
psionic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Crystal Palace TX
Posts: 18,916
It's pretty impressive so far. My Nexus 7 (WiFi only) now showing SMS, calls and voicemails. Call quality isn't too bad either.
psionic is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 07:51
Steven L Hunter
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 10,511
This is similar to the recently launched BT Smart talk app
Steven L Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 08:40
legends wear 7
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,071
Cant believe it would not still incur roaming rates when abroad, no network will erode their revenue by doing this.

especially one that has just dropped behind Vodafone on Revenue having been massively ahead of Vodafone jn the uk a year or two ago.
legends wear 7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 14:22
BrianWescombe
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 875
Used it on PC yesterday, no problem. And again this morning, but now can't log in, just says there is a problem. Totally unuseable at the moment
BrianWescombe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 14:58
d123
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 683
Used it on PC yesterday, no problem. And again this morning, but now can't log in, just says there is a problem. Totally unuseable at the moment
So about as reliable as every other O2 service?
d123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 13:13
wrexham103.4
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,949
i found using bt smart talk you need to have a good wifi speed at 6pm here calls drop.also using it on 3g travel around calls drop too
wrexham103.4 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:30.