Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

BSkyB buys O2/BE Broadband and Fixed Line Business


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-03-2013, 13:16
*angeldelight*
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 419
Looks like then for me being an O2 mobile user and broadband I will lose the discounted rate for the use of broadband!

Prior to this I was with AOL and the switch over to Talk Talk was the worst experience ever! Lost connection completely!

Changing to O2 was the best thing I ever did, flawless good connection. Not read many good reports on Sky BB?

Does that mean we will have to alter all router settings etc and are we likely to get the same speeds?

Suppose it was good whilst it lasted or until it lasts
*angeldelight* is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 01-03-2013, 13:20
flagpole
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 43,524
things like setting your target SNR are bound to go. there are just not enough people that are bothered.
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 13:26
*angeldelight*
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 419
yep, O2 are the best for customer service too, I'm so annoyed!
*angeldelight* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 13:27
Belligerence
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Ghosts Forge/Paris
Posts: 26,457
That means I'll be looking for another broadband provider.

Fun while it lasted, eh.
Belligerence is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 13:42
*angeldelight*
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 419
But the question is who?
*angeldelight* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 13:56
Lamparilla
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 344
That means I'll be looking for another broadband provider.

Fun while it lasted, eh.
Same here - anything even vaguely associated with Murdoch is not something I want to be involved with.
Lamparilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 14:03
Ray266
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Leeds
Posts: 1,781
Sad news for the staff at o2 broadband, I think o2 came on the scene a bit late I'm glad I left this week & got BT Infinity unlimited I wouldn't touch Sky with a barge pole, Shame though all the same.
Ray266 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 14:08
chenks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 10,220
I can only hope $ky wont mess about with the infrastructure that BE provides.
surely you mean B, seeing as you are putting currency symbols in every company name.
chenks is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 14:09
DJGM
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Whitefield, Manchester
Posts: 3,498
I've been considering switching to Plusnet FTTC for several weeks. For me, as an O2 Home Broadband customer,
today's news is effectively the straw that broke the camel's back, and I'll be finalising the move later this month.

Aside from anything today's news brings, as far as I'm concerned, bog standard, fixed-line DSL based broadband
from the likes of O2 and others, is no longer fit for purpose. Those antiquated, decades old, copper telephone
wires were never designed for the increasing bandwidth demands of the modern internet. Fine for the basic stuff
like e-mails, FB and Twitter, but trying to stream (or download) a movie or TV show in HD ... fuhgeddabaahhdit!
DJGM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 14:10
chenks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 10,220
Aside from anything today's news brings, as far as I'm concerned, bog standard, fixed-line DSL based broadband
from the likes of O2 and others, is no longer fit for purpose. Those antiquated, decades old, copper telephone
wires were never designed for the increasing bandwidth demands of the modern internet. Fine for the basic stuff
like e-mails, FB and Twitter, but trying to stream (or download) a movie or TV show in HD ... fuhgeddabaahhdit!
you do know that FTTC still uses that "antiquated, decades old, copper telephone" from the cabinet to your house?

streaming movies/tvs etc in HD seems to work quite well on my DSL connection, then again i do sync at 21Mbps.
chenks is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 14:14
Hugh_
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 906
Will this make Sky the UK's 2nd largest broadband provider then? Pushing Virginmedia into 3rd place? I know they're expected to hit second place sometime this year anyway but I imagine this will speed it up a bit.
Hugh_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 14:15
chenks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 10,220
Will this make Sky the UK's 2nd largest broadband provider then? Pushing Virginmedia into 3rd place? I know they're expected to hit second place sometime this year anyway but I imagine this will speed it up a bit.
yes it does
chenks is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 14:20
Hugh_
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 906
Same here - anything even vaguely associated with Murdoch is not something I want to be involved with.
Is it just Murdoch? Or are you happy to buy/use products associated with people who have actually done far worse? Because YA KNOW....Your coffee may contain coffee beans that were grown by people envolved in rapes and mass murders.

Your diamond jewelry may contain blood diamonds and we al know the horror story there. Even if the diamonds arent blood diamonds people will of suffered in the production. I hope all your chocolate is fair trade and doesn't come from cocoa grown on ground where the original owners were burned out of their homes an even burnt to death to get the land.

I hope you car doesn't contain parts made in poor countries where the workers will suffer awful life shortening illnesses due to the manufacturing process???
Hugh_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 14:20
gillyallan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 26,662
I have a good deal on be unlimited and dont take their phone line. Ive been getting interested in bt lately though since getting a smart phone to make use of the hot spots. Guess this might be the push I needed to do just that
gillyallan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 14:22
TH14
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 11,431
This is a shame. I left Sky for o2 a couple of years ago after I had experienced connection problems and Sky just blamed my phone line and weren't bothered in helping but it was nothing to do with the phone line o2 have been fantastic, great speeds, great customer service and unlimited downloads at a reduced price because I'm an o2 mobile customer. I don't want Sky landline either and will be disappointed if this is forced on me
TH14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 14:23
chenks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 10,220
Is it just Murdoch? Or are you happy to buy/use products associated with people who have actually done far worse? Because YA KNOW....Your coffee may contain coffee beans that were grown by people envolved in rapes and mass murders.

Your diamond jewelry may contain blood diamonds and we al know the horror story there. Even if the diamonds arent blood diamonds people will of suffered in the production. I hope all your chocolate is fair trade and doesn't come from cocoa grown on ground where the original owners were burned out of their homes an even burnt to death to get the land.

I hope you car doesn't contain parts made in poor countries where the workers will suffer awful life shortening illnesses due to the manufacturing process???
add to that any electronic device made by foxconn - who make products for almost every mobile phone company, laptop or pc company etc etc
chenks is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 14:28
F2kSel
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Stoke
Posts: 1,111
This is a shame. I left Sky for o2 a couple of years ago after I had experienced connection problems and Sky just blamed my phone line and weren't bothered in helping but it was nothing to do with the phone line o2 have been fantastic, great speeds, great customer service and unlimited downloads at a reduced price because I'm an o2 mobile customer. I don't want Sky landline either and will be disappointed if this is forced on me

Same for me I left BT as they blamed the line, there is a fault but it's easy to work around it with O2.
F2kSel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 14:30
DJGM
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Whitefield, Manchester
Posts: 3,498
you do know that FTTC still uses that "antiquated, decades
old, copper telephone" from the cabinet to your house?
Yes I know ... but with FTTC, it's a much, much shorter length of copper wiring that doesn't stretch all the way
from the local exchange. Instead of having to put up with dragging the data through just over a mile of copper,
it's about 100 metres or so (150 metres at the most) from the nearest street cabinet to my home.

Although FTTC is still partially reliant on some of that copper wiring, it isn't copper all the way unlike ADSL2.
So, at least 90% of the journey between the BT exchange and my home would be ultra modern fibre-optic.
To all intents and purposes, it'd be the same if I decided to switch back to Virgin Media for broadband,
since that is effectively FTTC in all but name ... although VM's street cabinet is a little closer

Of course, if FTTP was available in my area, and for a reasonable price comparable to both FTTC and ADSL
then I'd go for that instead with no hesitation. Unfortunately, that would probably cost at least 1000 just to
have it installed, then a fairly steep monthly subscription fee to get a decent service.
DJGM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 14:30
1andrew1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,368
surely you mean B, seeing as you are putting currency symbols in every company name.
LOL don't tempt people!
1andrew1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 14:55
real world
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 199
Will this make Sky the UK's 2nd largest broadband provider then? Pushing Virginmedia into 3rd place? I know they're expected to hit second place sometime this year anyway but I imagine this will speed it up a bit.
Does it matter?
real world is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 14:55
linea
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 496
I really hope not. I have the same package with 14 fixed ip. I do pay a lot for it but it does exactly what I want. The fact they use AnnexM and their support is excellent. You speak to a technical person who actually knows what they are talking about!! For example, they can change the upload speed on the fly as you are talking to them. You won't get that from $ky.

In my mind, they are, no, were the only ISP who can provide such a service to the more technically minded consumers.

I can only hope $ky wont mess about with the infrastructure that BE provides.
That's the same reason I'm with BE, they're not the cheapest but it's understood you're paying for a premium service, tech staff that actually know what they're talking about and a consistent and fast speed. I get a 13-16meg download speed regardless of whether it's 9am, 6pm or 3am. And when I've had a problem BE have solved it where other ISP's would have just blamed it on a line issue and done nothing.
From what I've read on the BE site the deal is the death of BE as an independent provider, it won't operate as a seperate company as it did under the ownership of O2. All BE customers will be migrated to Sky and will become Sky broadband customers.
This is only bad news for consumers wanting choice, after the sale of O2 and BE broadband consumers wanting ADSL max at my exchange will be reduced to BT, Sky and Talk Talk.

The only glimmer of hope for me is that I'm no longer under contract with BE so can cancel at any time and BT infinity is due at my exchange sometime this year.
linea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 14:58
Peace100
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,472
Ive had Sky Unlimited for a few years and phone line and have no problems whatsoever, been good customer service and BB service..no complaints whatsoever.
Peace100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 14:59
dmuk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 10,913
Do Sky throttle? I went with BE five years ago because they didn't throttle, and to my knowledge, have never done so.
dmuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 15:02
kev
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: South Notts (Waltham TV TX)
Posts: 19,332
Drat - don't want to got to Sky so it's looking like it's time to move (the lack of fibre has been annoying for a while tbh).

Does anyone know if EE are any cop, and if you get a static IP? Saving 2 a month, plus getting a doubling of speed would be nice!

So yet another ISP to leave before the borg wrecks it (Freedom 2 Surf being the last one).
kev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 15:02
chenks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 10,220
Do Sky throttle? I went with BE five years ago because they didn't throttle, and to my knowledge, have never done so.
no traffic shaping, throttling or bandwidth limits.
Sky Broadband Unlimited - 7.50pm
chenks is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:38.