Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Core i7-3970X Extreme Edition


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-03-2013, 15:13
neo_wales
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South Wales/Gran Canaria
Posts: 7,393

Anybody here used a Core i7-3970X Extreme Edition based PC? If so whats your opinion?
neo_wales is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 04-03-2013, 15:17
c4rv
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Essex
Posts: 14,877
what are you planning on using it for ?
c4rv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 15:21
TheBigM
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: moon
Posts: 12,674
Usually the absolute top end CPU has a more than proportional increase in cost compared to the performance. (Calculate a GFLOPs per $ ratio).

Better to buy a decent i5 'K' processor with an unlocker multiplier and a decent cooling fan and thermal paste and overclock it. Then a couple of years later you can do the same again, all for the price of the original i7 extreme.

Or do the same once with an overclocked i7.

If you don't want to overclock, just get a mid-range i7 otherwise, I really don't think the extremes are worth the money unless you must have the last word in framerates in some new game or something.
TheBigM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 15:57
neo_wales
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South Wales/Gran Canaria
Posts: 7,393
I'm running an i7 system now but I upgrade every 12 months or so and my old system gets passed down the family/home network. If I'm honest I don't really need to upgrade but just fancy doing it.

I'm not a big gamer but will fit a good graphics card. I'm getting back into photography again and have a pile of home videos from over the years which need a good tidy up and edit , many many hours of video.
neo_wales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 16:10
flagpole
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 43,524
the point being made to you is that the 3970x is 850
something like the 3930k is about 6% slower but cost nearly half the price.
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 17:08
TheBigM
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: moon
Posts: 12,674
I'm running an i7 system now but I upgrade every 12 months or so and my old system gets passed down the family/home network. If I'm honest I don't really need to upgrade but just fancy doing it.

I'm not a big gamer but will fit a good graphics card. I'm getting back into photography again and have a pile of home videos from over the years which need a good tidy up and edit , many many hours of video.
Better things to spend your money on then like: higher quality screens, more RAM (go up to 32GB if you feel like being frivolous), faster I/O subsystem - an SSD as system disk and a striped RAID array to put your 'to be edited' video on.

Then again, if you're in a more money than sense situation, I would go along to the Apple store and buy lots of things there.
TheBigM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 18:56
neo_wales
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South Wales/Gran Canaria
Posts: 7,393
Thanks for the comments but I am at fault in the wording used in the initial post, I'm really wondering if anyone here was using the processor and had come across any particular glitches when using it that are often not mentioned in main stream reviews.

I'm not being flippant or flash when I say that the cost is not that important. I give myself a budget each year for my new toys and gizzmo's and last year spent little so in effect I'm on a 'roll over year' lol. I've enough put aside for a Surface Pro, W8 phone and a good budget for my new PC. Works out cheaper than playing golf.

The new system will have 64gb ram and a good sized SSD as primary drive, my monitor is fine so no need to replace that.

Thanks for the replies.
neo_wales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 19:04
curiousclive
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Slough, UK
Posts: 371
Going from the negative replies I don't think very many people have spent money on that CPU so can give no clue as to its performance.
But if you Google for reviews of this CPU you may get some ideas.
curiousclive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 19:05
joshua_welby
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: London
Posts: 6,828

Anybody here used a Core i7-3970X Extreme Edition based PC? If so whats your opinion?
Yes, I have one and my Parents too, I use mine to watch 4K videos on YouTube, for Printing and Scanning, all works very very fast, I recommend you get one if you can afford one

I have had no glitches so far from the CPU
joshua_welby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 23:40
DarkestHour
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: High Wycombe, UK
Posts: 1,355
Thanks for the comments but I am at fault in the wording used in the initial post, I'm really wondering if anyone here was using the processor and had come across any particular glitches when using it that are often not mentioned in main stream reviews.

I'm not being flippant or flash when I say that the cost is not that important. I give myself a budget each year for my new toys and gizzmo's and last year spent little so in effect I'm on a 'roll over year' lol. I've enough put aside for a Surface Pro, W8 phone and a good budget for my new PC. Works out cheaper than playing golf.

The new system will have 64gb ram and a good sized SSD as primary drive, my monitor is fine so no need to replace that.

Thanks for the replies.
As has been said, yes, it's the fastest performing processor, but in terms of bang for buck it's not great. If you have the budget, go for it - but personally I'd just go for an i7-3770k and put the leftover money in a better GPU, extra hard drive for RAID or elsewhere in the PC.

Not sure I've ever heard of a processor having glitches

It overclocks nicely and is a higher binned chip than standard i7s, which usually leads to even more overclocking potential (with the appropriate cooling) and a longer lifespan.
DarkestHour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 00:24
joshua_welby
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: London
Posts: 6,828

Yes, I have one and my Parents too, I use mine to watch 4K videos on YouTube, for Printing and Scanning, all works very very fast, I recommend you get one if you can afford one

I have had no glitches so far from the CPU
I forgot to mention that the latest i7 CPU Extreme being sold now it the THIRD generation or Gen 3 as some people might call it - obviously Gen 3 Extreme CPU is more expensive just because it is new
joshua_welby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 03:29
Loobster
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 11,291
The new system will have 64gb ram and a good sized SSD as primary drive, my monitor is fine so no need to replace that.
Make sure you get a Pro OS (if, indeed, you plan to use Windows) since Home versions top out at 16GB of RAM. 7 Pro x64 allows for up to 192GB.

Over 16GB you'll not likely feel any difference, even when editing whole DVDs. You have to have software specifically coded to take advantage of that amount of RAM, for it to be of any use.

I do some video editing myself and don't even get close to using 16GB.
Loobster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 12:56
Mr Dos
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 392
joshua welby - Ivy Bridge extreme (ie 6 core) i7 not released til Q3 2013. Also do you really have a 6C/12T cpu for 'printing' ? And a 4K TV for YouTube ?

April 1st not for a few weeks . . .
Mr Dos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 14:37
neo_wales
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South Wales/Gran Canaria
Posts: 7,393
I'll use W8 Pro with it. I need to take a serious look at video software.
neo_wales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 02:15
Mr Dos
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 392
Found this o/c i7 3970X system. The quad SLI pushes the price to 6 grand

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...d=2474&subcat=

but seriously, if the OP is into self build, Aria in Manchester do an o/c bundle using the cheaper 3930 for about 800. Can't vouch for that actual product, but I have a clocked 2600K bundle from Aria that takes After Effects, Premiere Pro, Cinema 4D etc rendering with ease.
Mr Dos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 02:32
joshua_welby
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: London
Posts: 6,828

joshua welby - Ivy Bridge extreme (ie 6 core) i7 not released til Q3 2013. Also do you really have a 6C/12T cpu for 'printing' ? And a 4K TV for YouTube ?

April 1st not for a few weeks . . .
Yes, I really have the FIRST Edition of the i7 Extreme CPU, but I do not have a 4K TV, I watch 4K Youtube videos using my Samsung 3D/4K PC Monitor and so do my Parents, they have the same as me

I bought both PCs from PC Specialist a few years ago, it was cheap at the time, plus I got a special deal on top
www.pcspecialist.co.uk
joshua_welby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 02:54
joshua_welby
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: London
Posts: 6,828

joshua welby - Ivy Bridge extreme (ie 6 core) i7 not released til Q3 2013. Also do you really have a 6C/12T cpu for 'printing' ? And a 4K TV for YouTube ?

April 1st not for a few weeks . . .
Well, it seems that PC Specialist has already got plenty of them in stock

https://www.pcspecialist.co.uk/formquote-save/

Click on Customise a Desktop, then Click on Intel then on the Bottom of the Page click on i7 Extreme box at the bottom left-hand side then on the drop down menu choose i7 Extreme six core and then save the quote
and voila you have a six core i7 Extreme PC
joshua_welby is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:44.