Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

SSD size and speed etc


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-03-2013, 18:22
swiftyme
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Warminster, Wiltshire
Posts: 706

As above, looking into this.
I've read that it should make a massively noticeable performance difference in my laptop.

Basic specs at the moment are HP DV610 or similar, AMD phenom quad core, 8GB DDR3 and windows 7 pro.

Was also tempting to go windows 8 at the same time but not sure on the clean install deal with this.

Anyway, I have 600gb at the moment but barely use anywhere close to that, but am curious, probably looking for a 256gb drive or similar due to cost, but am not too sure on the whole 6gb/s thing, are they all this speed?
Are there any recommendations? And other advice?

Thanks
David
swiftyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 06-03-2013, 18:32
curiousclive
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Slough, UK
Posts: 371
An SSD will do more to speed up your Laptop than almost anything else. And also run much cooler.
240-256GB size is a good size for normal users but can relegate your old drive as extra storage with an external docking station or caddy.

Depending on your Laptop 6GB (Sata 3) drives are backward compatible with Sata 2 so should have no problems but will not be as fast as sata 3 but still much faster than normal hard drives. A lot of later laptops have sata 3 now depending on price.
Better to have win 7 or higher to get full use of the Trim command to increase life span of drive as should not defrag SSD's.
Good luck with your upgrade.
curiousclive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 18:33
shhftw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 1,485
As above, looking into this.
I've read that it should make a massively noticeable performance difference in my laptop.

Basic specs at the moment are HP DV610 or similar, AMD phenom quad core, 8GB DDR3 and windows 7 pro.

Was also tempting to go windows 8 at the same time but not sure on the clean install deal with this.

Anyway, I have 600gb at the moment but barely use anywhere close to that, but am curious, probably looking for a 256gb drive or similar due to cost, but am not too sure on the whole 6gb/s thing, are they all this speed?
Are there any recommendations? And other advice?

Thanks
David
A Seagate Momentus SSHD. They're expected soon.

Basically a 7200rpm drive with NAND flash cache (mine has 500GB/4GB and is a Momentus XT Hybrid SSD), the next gen are expected at this size, 1TB and above with up to 32GB flash cache. Interface is SATA-III (6Gbps)

Just check the z-height on the larger drives as they may not fit into some laptop's enclosures.
shhftw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 18:35
swiftyme
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Warminster, Wiltshire
Posts: 706
Still confused now haha, thanks though - 7200 rpm? Thought this was irrelevant for SSD? Ill just keep the original hard drive to replace the SSD when I upgrade laptops eventually anyway

Cheers
swiftyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 18:47
shhftw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 1,485
Still confused now haha, thanks though - 7200 rpm? Thought this was irrelevant for SSD? Ill just keep the original hard drive to replace the SSD when I upgrade laptops eventually anyway

Cheers
No it's a hybrid. The HDD spins at 7200rpm, but it has a flash cache.

Basically it achieves near SSD performance with traditional size storage without the hefty price tag.

I have an i3-380m with 8GB RAM and one of the 1st gen Momentus Hybrids. If I use a high-end laptop that doesn't have an SSD, it feels slower than my laptop.

This is the other 1st gen drive

http://www.ebuyer.com/321969-seagate...ssd-st750lx003

it has 750GB/8GB Flash - a lot cheaper than an SSD and three times the storage.
shhftw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 18:50
curiousclive
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Slough, UK
Posts: 371
As shhftw said Hybrid drives with SSD for booting are available now with larger storage than SSDs and are quite fast.
They are a mix of SSD and standard 7200RPM hard drive for the storage capacity.
They are normally cheaper than full SSDs but will not be as fast at some operations as full SSD.
curiousclive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 19:03
shhftw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 1,485
I built an i5 for a friend and used an m-SATA 64GB cache drive (on Z77). His main drive was a 500GB 5900rpm Seagate (out of a Sky HD machine).

Absolutely flies like stink.
shhftw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 19:09
swiftyme
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Warminster, Wiltshire
Posts: 706
I'm not so fussed on storage as such as its not a heavily used machine anyway
What does seem to be worth finding out is whether I'm on sata 2 or 3?
The hybrid is an option but to be fair I think for my small uses I'd benefit most from the full SSD setup, simply because as mentioned the storage capacity isn't too drastic - if I'm going to upgrade to maximise my machine I think this is the way ill go,

Ideally I need to figure out what SATA I'm running though and progress from there, no point buying SATA 3 If my laptop runs 2 right?
swiftyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 19:47
swiftyme
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Warminster, Wiltshire
Posts: 706
Will the crucial.com upgrade manager be adequate to determine this?
swiftyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 21:31
Erlang
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Weston-s-Mare
Posts: 2,641
Just be aware of SSD death throes..

There aren't any. They seem to just go pppfff.

So either only use for things that are utterly replaceable, and or daily backups in place.

I just RMA'd a 20 month old one, hopefully the 3 year warranty will be honoured.
Erlang is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 21:41
swiftyme
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Warminster, Wiltshire
Posts: 706
Brilliant! Well I keep most backed up anyway and NVQ work is on a server so nothing important anyway
swiftyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 22:34
BrokenArrow
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 14,664
I'm not so fussed on storage as such as its not a heavily used machine anyway
What does seem to be worth finding out is whether I'm on sata 2 or 3?
The hybrid is an option but to be fair I think for my small uses I'd benefit most from the full SSD setup, simply because as mentioned the storage capacity isn't too drastic - if I'm going to upgrade to maximise my machine I think this is the way ill go,

Ideally I need to figure out what SATA I'm running though and progress from there, no point buying SATA 3 If my laptop runs 2 right?
If you don't use it much, why do you need a SSD ?

If its just boot up times, then just use sleep mode....boots up in 2 seconds.
BrokenArrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 01:20
c4rv
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Essex
Posts: 14,270
If you don't use it much, why do you need a SSD ?

If its just boot up times, then just use sleep mode....boots up in 2 seconds.
I was going to ask the same thing.

You have to think, what tasks are you going that are disk intensive ?? Boot time, application opening times. Anything else ?

The only other item is that SSD do use slightly less power so if eking every last minute out of the battery is an issue then that would be another reason for the upgrade.
c4rv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 02:47
Loobster
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 11,275
Ideally I need to figure out what SATA I'm running though and progress from there, no point buying SATA 3 If my laptop runs 2 right?
It doesn't matter. The SATA3 ones are as cheap or cheaper than the SATA2 ones. The only SATA2 ones being sold new at this point are just old stock that they can't get rid of.

I usually stick a 128GB one in laptops, but I guess you could go for a 256GB one if you need a bit more space.

After I install Windows 7 and all my applications etc I am still usually left with 65GB free out of 128GB.
Loobster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 07:56
swiftyme
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Warminster, Wiltshire
Posts: 706
Battery life is a factor, as is getting the best performance I can get even for the low level of use basically
No other real reasons as such
swiftyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 07:57
swiftyme
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Warminster, Wiltshire
Posts: 706
And that makes life easier then SATA 3 is obviously what ill but, I may go smaller to save cost as ill never use the extra 100gb, may go somewhere in between perhaps
swiftyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 18:04
Alan F
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 884
One scenario has not been discussed which may be worth considering. That is fitting a smaller SSD 60/120 GB as the system disk and replacing the DVD drive with a caddy such as this ...

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/2nd-hard-d...item4abe0ae631

and installing the original 600GB disk as a Data disk.

This works very well provided that you can live with the absence of a DVD drive instantly available.
Alan F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 22:00
swiftyme
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Warminster, Wiltshire
Posts: 706
This is an option I hadn't even thought of - something I need to think on - I don't use the drive much though occasionally I do burn last minute discs and so on, something I need to weigh up I guess

Cheers
swiftyme is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:36.