Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Using a micro SIM in two devices?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-03-2013, 18:51
muldran
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Wolverhampton
Posts: 468

H'lo,

Just about to get a Nexus 7 - I'm upgrading from a first gen iPad.

My iPad is still working fine, though - I just fancy a change. The Nexus 7 does have a micro SIM slot as well for 3G. I was going to terminate the micro SIM in the iPad and get a new one for the NExus 7, but since they're both the same size, can I swap between the two devices, or are SIMs tied to a specific device, when it comes to tablets?

The O2 micro SIM for the ipad is the 10 quid per month one, rolling one month thing, so it's not a contract.

Anyone tried this?
muldran is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 07-03-2013, 19:15
JulesandSand
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Caledonia
Posts: 5,404
I haven't but sims aren't tied to devices - I've swapped my wife's micro sim with the one in my phone and am trying a 3 PAYG sim and have had it in 2 different phones - all works fine.

I can't see how it would be different for tablets.
JulesandSand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2013, 00:29
Shot_gunN
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Merseyside
Posts: 583
Was going to try the same thing, got an iPad mini 64gig from Apple with a 3 sim card in it.
Picked up another from Orange (got a long standing loyalty discount) 15 a month for the 32gig version.
Orange data plan was crap at 250mb but for 100 cheaper than buying from apple wasnt going to argue.
I didnt know this before but the tablets are locked to orange. So kinda knackard my plans a bit.
At least I can teather off the iPhone worse case.
Shot_gunN is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:12.