Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Windows 7 network issues


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 13-03-2013, 20:42
Stevebean296
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4

Hi, For some reason I have recently been having issues connecting to some websites such as microsoft, ebay, facebook etc. There is a red X over my connection icon and when I click on it, I am told I am not connected and connections are available, but underneath that it states I am connected to my router, only leaving me an option to disconnect.
If I open the network centre, it says I am not connected to a network but if I try to set up a new connection, I am told that I am already connected to the internet.
I cannot get online help from Microsoft or my internet provider as I cannot log on to their sites?
Any tips will be greatly received.
Stevebean296 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 13-03-2013, 21:01
Stig
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sandy Heath, Beds, UK
Posts: 7,000
Welcome to DS!
Are you wired or wireless?
Have you tried turning the router off then on? Fully rebooted the PC?
Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2013, 23:59
Stevebean296
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4
Hi Stig,
It's a wireless connection to my laptop. I've tried turning the router on and off several times and even managed to reboot it after I found the original instructions, but so far no luck.
Stevebean296 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2013, 00:04
irishguy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 20,376
You could try connecting your PC directly to the modem with a cable and see if that is working okay.... at least that way you can determine if its a router or a modem issue.
irishguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2013, 01:16
robertcrowther
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 236
Hi Stig,
It's a wireless connection to my laptop. I've tried turning the router on and off several times and even managed to reboot it after I found the original instructions, but so far no luck.
Are you using the correct passkey in order to connect to your router?

Also, in your network properties, have you got, Obtain an IP address automatically enabled?
robertcrowther is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2013, 02:56
FIFA1966
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 705
Hi, For some reason I have recently been having issues connecting to some websites such as microsoft, ebay, facebook etc. There is a red X over my connection icon and when I click on it, I am told I am not connected and connections are available, but underneath that it states I am connected to my router, only leaving me an option to disconnect.
If I open the network centre, it says I am not connected to a network but if I try to set up a new connection, I am told that I am already connected to the internet.
I cannot get online help from Microsoft or my internet provider as I cannot log on to their sites?
Any tips will be greatly received.




I have a similar problem.

The wireless signal always says "Identifying".
FIFA1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2013, 03:05
robertcrowther
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 236
I have a similar problem.

The wireless signal always says "Identifying".
Have you tried changing the wireless channel?
robertcrowther is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2013, 16:16
oilman
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 692
Somewhere in manage my wifi settings you can tell pc to delete or forget a profile of your wifi ssid. Do this and rescan and then renter password.

This
oilman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2013, 16:19
oilman
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 692
Somewhere in manage my wifi settings you can tell pc to delete or forget the profile of your wifi ssid. Do this and rescan and then reenter password.

This often sorts out strange problems like rebooting a pc* does.
oilman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2013, 22:45
tealady
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: colchester
Posts: 11,002
What make and model of router?
tealady is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2013, 23:20
LION8TIGER
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,451
There is a red X over my connection icon and when I click on it, I am told I am not connected and connections are available, but underneath that it states I am connected to my router, only leaving me an option to disconnect.
Can you click on that and see whether you are connected to your router ?
LION8TIGER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2013, 01:58
Si_Crewe
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dumfries
Posts: 35,383
FWIW, a red X through the monitor icon means your PC isn't connected to anything.

If your PC IS connected to the router but the router, in turn, isn't connected to the internet then you get the monitor icon with a yellow triangular "!" in it.

That suggests that you need to look at your PC as well as the router.
Are the drivers for your wifi adapter up to date?
Does this happen at a particular time such as, perhaps, when you open or close the screen of your laptop?
Is there anything that might be interfering with the wifi signal?

Try downloading Inssider and use it to see if there's a lot of traffic on the same channel your wifi is on and, if there is, use a different channel.
Also monitor the signal strength from your router to see if it fluctuates.

Your original post is a little misleading.
Are you saying that you can be quite happily surfing the net but then, whenever you try to connect to these specific websites, your connection will drop?
Does that happen ALL the time and ALWAYS with the same websites?

If it does then perhaps try using a different browser as a test or clearing the cashe and cookies from your existing browser in case something there is corrupt.

It could be a problem with your router dropping the connection to the PC as well but you really need to establish which device is at fault.
If, for example, your laptop says there's no connection but you also have a smartphone that can still connect to the interweb via your router then it's likely the router is working properly and the fault lies with the PC whereas, conversely, if nothing can connect to the interweb then the fault is probably with the router.
Si_Crewe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2013, 07:18
Stig
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sandy Heath, Beds, UK
Posts: 7,000
Back to basics: is there a switch or function key which turns the wifi on and off? Make sure this is turned on.
Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2013, 09:34
Yorkie47
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 1,425
You haven't by any chance recently downloaded Internet Explorer 10 have you?

I downloaded IE10 as an "important update" a few days ago. I could not connect to the internet properly. I uninstalled it and went back to IE9 - no further problems.

If you look on the Microsoft Forums you will see masses of problems related to Internet Explorer 10. Just a thought.
Yorkie47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2013, 12:06
robertcrowther
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 236
You haven't by any chance recently downloaded Internet Explorer 10 have you?

I downloaded IE10 as an "important update" a few days ago. I could not connect to the internet properly. I uninstalled it and went back to IE9 - no further problems.

If you look on the Microsoft Forums you will see masses of problems related to Internet Explorer 10. Just a thought.
People have only had problems with IE10 because their computer has crapware that prevents IE10 from working.

Microsoft is now taking a hard line against rouge software.
robertcrowther is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2013, 12:09
Daedroth
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2,957
People have only had problems with IE10 because their computer has crapware that prevents IE10 from working.

Microsoft is now taking a hard line against rouge software.
You like making such bold claims don't you?
Daedroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2013, 12:20
robertcrowther
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 236
You like making such bold claims don't you?
No, I've just had to sort out so many computers that have had crap on them. IE10 then works.
robertcrowther is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2013, 12:23
Daedroth
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2,957
No, I've just had to sort out so many computers that have had crap on them. IE10 then works.
So you're broad statement is just limited to a few you've fixed? I had issues with IE10 on my own personal machine, which doesn't suffer from any "crapware".
Daedroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2013, 12:26
robertcrowther
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 236
So you're broad statement is just limited to a few you've fixed? I had issues with IE10 on my own personal machine, which doesn't suffer from any "crapware".
Nope, not just a few thank you.

If you've got your computer setup right, then IE10 will not have a problem, argue if you like, but you are the one who had the problem not me.
robertcrowther is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2013, 12:29
Daedroth
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2,957
Nope, not just a few thank you.

If you've got your computer setup right, then IE10 will not have a problem, argue if you like, but you are the one who had the problem not me.
You are also the one who generalised everyone with issues with IE10, then the cause must be crapware.
Daedroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2013, 12:33
robertcrowther
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 236
You are also the one who generalised everyone with issues with IE10, then the cause must be crapware.
You should read other forums too, as all the problems so far that relate to IE10 not working has been down to software installed on a persons computer.
robertcrowther is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2013, 12:35
Daedroth
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2,957
You should read other forums too, as all the problems so far that relate to IE10 not working has been down to software installed on a persons computer.
So you've checked the whole of the Internet to make that statement?

As for the OP, do you have another wireless device you can try on the wireless? That would show whether its the specific computer or the router.
Daedroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2013, 12:38
robertcrowther
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 236
So you've checked the whole of the Internet to make that statement?

As for the OP, do you have another wireless device you can try on the wireless? That would show whether its the specific computer or the router.
Have you?
robertcrowther is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2013, 12:56
Daedroth
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2,957
I've already seen a couple of issues with Flash compatibility and issues with Norton 360. People may complain about these products, but they don't classify under "crapware".
Daedroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2013, 12:59
robertcrowther
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 236
I've already seen a couple of issues with Flash compatibility and issues with Norton 360. People may complain about these products, but they don't classify under "crapware".
lol, Norton has been crapware for many years now, I think Peter should not have sold it.
robertcrowther is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 17:50.