Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Favourite Football Manager/Championship Manager


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 19-03-2013, 13:40
The Special One
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Southampton
Posts: 426

I was looking at playing one of the older manager games because my laptop doesn't handle Football manager 13 well.

So which of the previous iterations of this game is your favourite and why?
The Special One is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 19-03-2013, 14:30
bob2005
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: London
Posts: 3,277
My fav was Championship manager 3 brilliant back in the day. I've always had the same problem with my laptop.
bob2005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2013, 14:36
mred2000
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6,755
IF you're going right back then it might be worth hitting CM01/02 which is available for free and is still being updated:
http://forums.digitalspy.co.uk/showthread.php?t=951820
http://www.champman0102.co.uk/showth...pdate-Feedback
mred2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2013, 15:22
The Special One
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Southampton
Posts: 426
IF you're going right back then it might be worth hitting CM01/02 which is available for free and is still being updated:
http://forums.digitalspy.co.uk/showthread.php?t=951820
http://www.champman0102.co.uk/showth...pdate-Feedback
I still have my original copy of 01/02 somewhere. Will I just be able to download an update for that?
The Special One is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2013, 16:21
mred2000
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6,755
I still have my original copy of 01/02 somewhere. Will I just be able to download an update for that?
Possibly. You might as well just download the latest version of the game from Eidos, though (it's legal...):
http://forums.championshipmanager.co...ad.php?t=63494

Then database updates etc from the fansite:
http://www.champman0102.co.uk/downloads.php

How old/what spec is your laptop, though? I would expect something like FM2008 would run fine on it, being over 5 yrs old... That wasn't a bad version, from what I remember...
mred2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2013, 17:08
The Special One
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Southampton
Posts: 426
Possibly. You might as well just download the latest version of the game from Eidos, though (it's legal...):
http://forums.championshipmanager.co...ad.php?t=63494

Then database updates etc from the fansite:
http://www.champman0102.co.uk/downloads.php

How old/what spec is your laptop, though? I would expect something like FM2008 would run fine on it, being over 5 yrs old... That wasn't a bad version, from what I remember...
Its only about a year old. From my system, it says its an AMD E1-1200 APU with Radeon HD Graphics 1.4Ghz. 4GB RAM and Im running windows 8. SOrry, dont really know much about computers.

My main issue with 13 is the time it took between clicking continue.
The Special One is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2013, 17:25
whedon247
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 13,517
champ manager 94 probably my fav as it was first one i had, was so amazing

i have played alot on FM13 though this year,still going strong
whedon247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2013, 17:31
Scooterwolf
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Black Country
Posts: 2,188
CM0102 for me, load up 10-20 leagues and work through it at my own pace a season can easily be done in 4-6hrs.
Scooterwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2013, 17:39
bob2005
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: London
Posts: 3,277
For me any of the old championship managers are best 2001/02 was my personal favourite can just lose hours on it.
bob2005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2013, 17:45
Si_Crewe
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dumfries
Posts: 34,308
The one I used to play on my Spectrum back in about 1984.

It was fun editing all the code to make your team into super-human goal-scoring machines.
Si_Crewe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2013, 17:54
Sick Bullet
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Chadderton
Posts: 9,167
FM 2005 was the best, I just can't play them anymore so unrealistic for me.
Sick Bullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2013, 18:14
mred2000
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6,755
Its only about a year old. From my system, it says its an AMD E1-1200 APU with Radeon HD Graphics 1.4Ghz. 4GB RAM and Im running windows 8. SOrry, dont really know much about computers.

My main issue with 13 is the time it took between clicking continue.
Off the top of my head that's a low-spec CPU - is it a netbook you have?

How many leagues are you trying to play with in the game?
mred2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2013, 18:17
The Special One
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Southampton
Posts: 426
Off the top of my head that's a low-spec CPU - is it a netbook you have?

How many leagues are you trying to play with in the game?
no its a laptop. I was trying to play with the english leagues down to league two
The Special One is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2013, 18:30
mred2000
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6,755
no its a laptop. I was trying to play with the english leagues down to league two
Well, I hope it was cheap as that really is a low spec CPU It's comparable to the Intel Atom chips: http://www.notebookcheck.net/AMD-E-S...r.73569.0.html
http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/forums/20...s-amd-e1-1200/

So... understandable why it can't handle many leagues on FM13...
mred2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2013, 19:45
The Special One
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Southampton
Posts: 426
Well, I hope it was cheap as that really is a low spec CPU It's comparable to the Intel Atom chips: http://www.notebookcheck.net/AMD-E-S...r.73569.0.html
http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/forums/20...s-amd-e1-1200/

So... understandable why it can't handle many leagues on FM13...
Dont really know what that means but yes it was cheap. Wasnt bought for games.
The Special One is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2013, 22:03
mred2000
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6,755
Dont really know what that means but yes it was cheap. Wasnt bought for games.
Basically it's an old and low spec CPU so it's not brilliant for many things... might even be questionable that Win8 is on there!

Anyway, you should be more than safe with the old CM 01/02, though, I would've thought. Using the more up to date FM games will mean running on minimal leagues, unfortunately.
mred2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2013, 12:21
Erythroleukos
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 809
CM01/02 for me - shame I'm just sooooo bad at it
Erythroleukos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2013, 22:38
bob2005
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: London
Posts: 3,277
Started playing Football manager 2008 on 360 forgot how addicitive it is the control system works suprisingly well.
bob2005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2013, 23:47
Yoshi Fan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: The end of time.
Posts: 9,968
2007 for me...still play it even now. It's simple and runs quickly.
Yoshi Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2013, 06:29
Simon1984
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Shenzhen, China
Posts: 5,101
CM97/98, brilliantly simplistic and incredibly addictive.
Simon1984 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2013, 13:22
jdog55
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 161
Downloaded Champ 00/01 from the link given in this thread the other night, after fixing a not enough system memory error message when starting a new game I'm now receiving a message asking me to put in the disk. Anyone else experience this?
jdog55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2013, 13:30
mred2000
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6,755
Downloaded Champ 00/01 from the link given in this thread the other night, after fixing a not enough system memory error message when starting a new game I'm now receiving a message asking me to put in the disk. Anyone else experience this?
If it's the same download I got (same site but I got mine last year at some point) the zip file contained an .iso file that I just burnt to disc. That's the disc I keep in my drive when playing. There are ways of mounting the iso so you don't need the dic, and even some cracks on the web for the .exe file, but I've not tried any of those.
mred2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2013, 19:18
Scooterwolf
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Black Country
Posts: 2,188
For the above two comments you can install Daemon Tools lite and mount the ISO in there and play it without the disc.

http://www.daemon-tools.cc/eng/products/dtLite - free download

Heres the guide on how to install the game via Daemon Tools: http://www.champman0102.co.uk/showth...M-without-disk
Scooterwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2013, 21:50
Steveaustin316
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 10,887
I still play FM06 occasionally. I had great fun taking Man Utd all the way down to the conference.
Steveaustin316 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2013, 22:02
mred2000
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6,755
I still play FM06 occasionally. I had great fun taking Man Utd all the way down to the conference.
Admittedly I've done that a few times... I do it with City now
mred2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:58.