Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

EE4G- 3G To 4G Data Handover Issue


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 23-03-2013, 17:57
coolmp3
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 137

I have for a number of weeks noticed an issue with my 4G EE connection with my iphone5. When i am streaming data for example a radio station in the car as i move from a 4G area to a 3G area the station carries on playing and stays on 3G. My phone will not switch back to 4G until i stop the streaming and its idle. This is regardless of being in a strong 4G areas or not.

Has anyone else noticed this? I am going to call customer services and see if they have any information.
coolmp3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 23-03-2013, 18:01
Thine Wonk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10,864
That's interesting, I hope this is just an EE thing, a handset thing or is fixable as I stream a lot in the car and was looking forward to LTE on the S4.
Thine Wonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2013, 18:04
wavejockglw
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 10,276
I have for a number of weeks noticed an issue with my 4G EE connection with my iphone5. When i am streaming data for example a radio station in the car as i move from a 4G area to a 3G area the station carries on playing and stays on 3G. My phone will not switch back to 4G until i stop the streaming and its idle. This is regardless of being in a strong 4G areas or not.

Has anyone else noticed this? I am going to call customer services and see if they have any information.
Interesting observation but what does it matter if the service you are using continues unaffected on 3G rather than 4G?
wavejockglw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2013, 18:05
coolmp3
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 137
That's interesting, I hope this is just an EE thing, a handset thing or is fixable as I stream a lot in the car and was looking forward to LTE on the S4.
It must be a bug with either the network or the Iphone5. Last week i thought the network had issues as i traveled down the M1 into London from Milton Keynes and never had 4G once. When i got to my destination i tuned off tunein and 4G came back. I did not think anything of it.
coolmp3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2013, 18:08
coolmp3
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 137
Interesting observation but what does it matter if the service you are using continues unaffected on 3G rather than 4G?
Because the issue also applies to video streaming. So when moving to a congested 3G cell the video quality drops, this is not right as it should have switched to 4G and therefore have a much better streaming experience.
coolmp3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2013, 18:09
Thine Wonk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10,864
Interesting observation but what does it matter if the service you are using continues unaffected on 3G rather than 4G?
You would expect the handset / network to be configured in a way that always gives you the best performance.

Say you were connected to a service with an ongoing connection and then you use the phone for loading web pages, maps etc you are going to get lower performance on 3G due to higher ping etc.

It might take a couple of minutes but I'd expect it to switch back to LTE when it's available, rather than hang on to 3G when you're paying a premium for faster, low ping 4G service.

The issue could be handset or network here. I wonder if Plymouthbloke would know about this?
Thine Wonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2013, 18:37
coolmp3
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 137
Well i have spoken to EE who said it was a current feature. She spoke to the tech guys and they said its just the way it works and also happens with samsung handsets. She passed me on to apple support to see if they could do anything.

Apple explained you can go from a high bandwidth data session to a lower one ok, but once on the lower bandwidth it will not revert back to the higher without restating the data session.

Humm not good news!


So basically if your 4G coverage is good and you don't move whilst streaming you will stay on 4G. So whats the point in paying for a 4G service in a mobile when i can't always take advantage of the 4G signal when mobile! It's ok when surfing as once you load your page the data connection is idle. This is maybe why it has not been noticed before.
coolmp3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2013, 18:43
Thine Wonk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10,864
So that mean you actually have to lose and disconnect the stream if 3G drops out or suddenly goes through a low speed /high signal noise patch, even though you've got a very good 4G signal that you're paying extra for, that it's not even bothering to use.

Hmmm, I do hope that's not the way it will work on all networks, 2G goes up to 3G right? and this is meant to be a newer spec / better technology.
Thine Wonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2013, 18:54
coolmp3
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 137
I agree, not happy. I stream alot and theres no point if i spend 99% of the time on 3G.
coolmp3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2013, 19:05
The Lord Lucan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 4,107
Seen it do this in the USA too so I'm not sure if it is an iPhone thing or network or that's just the way it is.

It's like when you are using the data connection on 2G it does not switch up until you stop briefly.

However I'd imagine that with streaming video the buffer would allow a small break in the connection to allow switch up as streaming doesn't transmit/receive 100% of the time. I therefore am inclined to think its a handset/chipset/LTE standard thing.

I'm going to try this with an S3 on Monday to see if it is indeed iPhone specific or not.
The Lord Lucan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2013, 19:09
wavejockglw
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 10,276
I agree, not happy. I stream alot and theres no point if i spend 99% of the time on 3G.
To be fair if you are paying a premium price for 4G and it's available in your area then you should be able to use it.

Just remember it's early days for the technology and it'll take a while for the hardware and software to work 100% correctly.

3G is perfectly useable for streaming as millions with 3's USB dongles use that every day. 3 Mbps is all that is needed for YouTube videos in HD or LoveFilm streaming in High Quality using a PS3. Audio streaming using the likes of Tune-In should be stable with the oldest version of HSDPA and EE have upgraded a lot of their cell sites to the latest version already.

If you genuinely have buffering issues in 4G coverage areas using 3G then you have a valid complaint, however if the only issue is the network type on the status bar I doubt if EE will be interested. They like all the other networks are technology neutral unless a customer has a performance issue that significantly reduces the user experience of their equipment.
wavejockglw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2013, 20:01
coolmp3
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 137
To be fair if you are paying a premium price for 4G and it's available in your area then you should be able to use it.

Just remember it's early days for the technology and it'll take a while for the hardware and software to work 100% correctly.

3G is perfectly useable for streaming as millions with 3's USB dongles use that every day. 3 Mbps is all that is needed for YouTube videos in HD or LoveFilm streaming in High Quality using a PS3. Audio streaming using the likes of Tune-In should be stable with the oldest version of HSDPA and EE have upgraded a lot of their cell sites to the latest version already.

If you genuinely have buffering issues in 4G coverage areas using 3G then you have a valid complaint, however if the only issue is the network type on the status bar I doubt if EE will be interested. They like all the other networks are technology neutral unless a customer has a performance issue that significantly reduces the user experience of their equipment.
Wave i agree with what your saying and yes if the 3G performance in a 4G area is fine what the problem?, but deep down i ask why am i paying for 4G and being put on the same network as the lower paying 3G customers when i could be 4G.
coolmp3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2013, 20:14
wavejockglw
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 10,276
Wave i agree with what your saying and yes if the 3G performance in a 4G area is fine what the problem?, but deep down i ask why am i paying for 4G and being put on the same network as the lower paying 3G customers when i could be 4G.
That just screams technology snobbery really....

Yuk!!
wavejockglw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2013, 20:20
coolmp3
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 137
That just screams technology snobbery really....

Yuk!!
No it's wanting what you pay for!
coolmp3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2013, 20:23
wavejockglw
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 10,276
No it's wanting what you pay for!
I'm afraid the last post revealed an unpleasant smell of snobbery ... no further response from me will be considered. I hate snobs!
wavejockglw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2013, 20:47
plymouthbloke1974
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SW England
Posts: 5,076
Indeed..... However I am on a 61 plan with T-Mobile on 3G. Does that make me a snob?

(The fact I get 50% off that is irrelevant)
plymouthbloke1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2013, 20:58
wavejockglw
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 10,276
Indeed..... However I am on a 61 plan with T-Mobile on 3G. Does that make me a snob?

(The fact I get 50% off that is irrelevant)
Are you complaining that you are paying more and are not getting more than the plebs on the 3G tariff?

I don't think so..... but that is what the OP was moaning about. Not performance using the network, just the fact that when the network dropped to 3G and the content continued to play as normal the indicator on the handset did not return to 4G when in coverage! Who cares? Other than snobs who want justification they have made the right decision to dole out more money than is necessary to get service provision?
wavejockglw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2013, 21:01
The Lord Lucan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 4,107
Problem is. Like how it works on 2G what if this is the nature of LTE... there is little that can be done about it.
The Lord Lucan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2013, 21:17
coolmp3
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 137
Are you complaining that you are paying more and are not getting more than the plebs on the 3G tariff?

I don't think so..... but that is what the OP was moaning about. Not performance using the network, just the fact that when the network dropped to 3G and the content continued to play as normal the indicator on the handset did not return to 4G when in coverage! Who cares? Other than snobs who want justification they have made the right decision to dole out more money than is necessary to get service provision?
No sorry you have misunderstood my point.

I pay for a premium 4G service because i want the fastest data connection possible. Nothing to do with snobbery! If a 4G signal is available then i want to be able to use it! I don't want to fight for my slot of data on a heavy traffic 3G cell when i know theres a 4G signal available.

Too me 4G is more than just download speed its the snappiness of the low ping times, that unless your using 3G t 3am you rarely get on 3G.
coolmp3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2013, 21:19
wavejockglw
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 10,276
No sorry you have misunderstood my point.

I pay for a premium 4G service because i want the fastest data connection possible. Nothing to do with snobbery! If a 4G signal is available then i want to be able to use it! I don't want to fight for my slot of data on a heavy traffic 3G cell when i know theres a 4G signal available.
Despite the fact that the 3G signal might provide exactly the same requirement as the 4G one.....

It's snobbery - pure and simple and I doubt anyone would disagree considering previous posts.
wavejockglw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2013, 21:22
coolmp3
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 137
Despite the fact that the 3G signal might provide exactly the same requirement as the 4G one.....

It's snobbery - pure and simple and I doubt anyone would disagree considering previous posts.
Think what you like i wont be loosing any sleep tonight!
coolmp3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2013, 21:26
wavejockglw
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 10,276
Think what you like i wont be loosing any sleep tonight!
No don't and please complain if the economy passengers smell when they brush by you on route to the aircraft heading for the cheap seats!

Really....

Laughable!!
wavejockglw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2013, 22:01
plymouthbloke1974
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SW England
Posts: 5,076
Are you complaining that you are paying more and are not getting more than the plebs on the 3G tariff?

I don't think so..... but that is what the OP was moaning about. Not performance using the network, just the fact that when the network dropped to 3G and the content continued to play as normal the indicator on the handset did not return to 4G when in coverage! Who cares? Other than snobs who want justification they have made the right decision to dole out more money than is necessary to get service provision?
I don't care about 4G personally. I don't need the faster speeds. I prefer unlimited Internet
plymouthbloke1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2013, 22:06
The Lord Lucan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 4,107
Wave have you actually used 4G ?

I just hate using 3G after having 4G for any decent amount of time.

Much like folk who use 3G hate using 2g.. just not as much
The Lord Lucan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2013, 22:23
coolmp3
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 137
Wave have you actually used 4G ?

I just hate using 3G after having 4G for any decent amount of time.

Much like folk who use 3G hate using 2g.. just not as much

I agree, you just get used to everything pretty much responding virtually instantaneously. Once you get used to it 3G feels pretty laggy. Thats what i pay my money for!
coolmp3 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 19:30.