Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Divis signal down due to bad weather!


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 13-01-2008, 14:51
highwire
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 13

You can display the test card on any reasonably new Freeview receiver
using the following steps. Note that some older set top boxes do not
fully conform with the specifications and may be unable to access this
service.

1. Tune to the BBCi channel (currently ch. 105)
2. When the BBCi background appears, press Yellow (within 30 secs)
3. Tune away to a different channel
4. Tune back to the BBCi channel (currently ch. 105)
5. When the BBCi background appears, press Green (within 30 secs)
The word 'Secret' will appear in the top right hand corner
6. Wait until the status page appears
7. Enter 3, 3, 5, 8, 2, Red, Green, Yellow, Blue
(note "33582" spells out the word "DELTA" on a mobile phone keypad)
8. Wait approximately 30 seconds
Test card W will appear

have fun
highwire is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 13-01-2008, 14:55
Ian
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Midlands
Posts: 1,321
Excellent! I was waiting to reply with reference to April Fools and sarcastic smileys.......... but it's actually true!

The status page that starts with 'Secret' has been documented previously, but the key combination leading to TCW is a new one to me.
Ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2008, 15:39
tghe-retford
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Retford
Posts: 17,346
All we need now is a test tone to accompany the screen.

Thanks for this.
tghe-retford is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2008, 15:48
ProDave
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Northern Scottish Highlands
Posts: 11,302
Well I tried it on my PVR (Bush IDPVR801B).

It got as far as the Status page, but entering the code just got me a black screen, even after a long wait.

But, the front panel display on the PVR displayed UCL or something like that, which I have never seen before. Needed a re boot, so I guess it just chashed.
ProDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2008, 16:07
Pablo Diablo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Manchester
Posts: 4,985
It got as far as the Status page, but entering the code just got me a black screen, even after a long wait.
Same here on an Echostar T101+.
Pablo Diablo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2008, 16:21
Boatman
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: South Wales
Posts: 389
Workd fine on my Sony except that I can't get it to widescreen.
What do the regional variations do?
Boatman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2008, 16:26
Dan's Dad
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 5,996
You can display the test card on any reasonably new Freeview receiver
using the following steps.
Thanks for that.

It works on my Toshiba IDTV, but the Humax 9200 gives only the middle part of the card - just the circle - filling the screen.
Can anyone confirm this?

All we need now is a test tone to accompany the screen.
Or even a CD of authentic testcard music of the 60's.

(Would that be better than birdsong on Oneword's former DAB channel??)
Dan's Dad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2008, 16:32
chrisy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Beds (Sandy Heath TX)
Posts: 8,394
8. Wait approximately 30 seconds
Test card W will appear
Just a blank screen on the old IDTV, however my Sony displayed it as soon as I had pushed BLUE.

Very interesting - thanks.

If this is being broadcast then it should be a little less hidden away (perhaps in the BBCi Help menu somewhere), could be invaluable for people setting up new TVs.

I didn't know about the status page either, if BBCi knows which region you're in, why isn't this used for anything? (I never understood why they broadcast all the regions news on BBCi anyway, I'm not really interested in Yorkshire's local news unless it is important - in which case it will be in the national news anyway. This space could be better used for some of the Ceefax content that hasn't been transferred over.)
chrisy is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2008, 16:50
Gilson
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,145
Fantastic - mant thanks. Works OK on my cheap Alba boxes will test on Sony 870 DVDR later. Very useful for comparing static performance of prospective new LCD against my CRT

I have test card W and PM5544 on DVD already but this gives possibility of real off air comparison and set ups.
Gilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2008, 17:05
Flinx
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 11
Brilliant! It actually works on my old Pace Twin.

Many thanks.
Flinx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2008, 17:18
ProDave
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Northern Scottish Highlands
Posts: 11,302
Works on my Woolworth Worth It box

Pure nostalgia. Brings back memories of when I was a child and that test card was broadcast on BBC2 in the daytime. Ah I remember that phrase "BBC2 returns to a trade test transmission"

I tried changing my region on the "status" page, but can't see any difference.
ProDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2008, 17:51
Mike_1101
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lancs
Posts: 6,290
This also works on my Strong SRT500T receiver. It took a long time to appear though.

Now it's time to bring back the old trade test colour films and don't forget to SIDE (Switch off, Isolate, Dump & Earth). I think that came from a film about nuclear reactors.
Mike_1101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2008, 17:52
Ian
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Midlands
Posts: 1,321
The interesting part of all this to me is that the first few steps (press yellow, then retune, then press green) are actually necessary - you can't just go in and press green. How/why is this? Surely the BBCi application ceases to be active as soon as you move off the channel, so then the box must be remembering your previous 'press yellow', but how/why does it do this?
Ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2008, 18:06
Bucksman
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bucks but at uni in Birmingham
Posts: 1,633
Does anyone know why this is even here?
Bucksman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2008, 18:10
saiorse44
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: England
Posts: 291
A glimpse into the closely guarded mechanics of the DTT platform methinks.
saiorse44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2008, 18:18
Gilson
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,145
Works on the Sony 870 DVDR as well.

For those getting nostalgic for older test cards I can remember Test Card C and the alternated "Demonstration Film"
Gilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2008, 18:26
Mike_1101
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lancs
Posts: 6,290
Works on the Sony 870 DVDR as well.

For those getting nostalgic for older test cards I can remember Test Card C and the alternated "Demonstration Film"
Bring those back too! What goes around comes around, who knows one day television might be worth watching again.
Mike_1101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2008, 18:31
DXRulz
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Poole, Dorset
Posts: 4,130
Works on my Wharfedale DVDRHD400F
DXRulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2008, 18:37
gcbus
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 774
Works on my Pioneer PDP435XDE plasma - going to try my TopUpTV box soon! (Gulp!)
gcbus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2008, 18:38
russellelly
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Scotland
Posts: 10,299
I didn't know about the status page either, if BBCi knows which region you're in, why isn't this used for anything? (I never understood why they broadcast all the regions news on BBCi anyway, I'm not really interested in Yorkshire's local news unless it is important - in which case it will be in the national news anyway. This space could be better used for some of the Ceefax content that hasn't been transferred over.)
I presume it's so that BBCi on Mux B channels is consistent with BBCi on Mux 1. I don't imagine there's any way the regional data could be found if Ch105 was on Mux B.

Also agree with Ian that the tuning in and out bit is interesting - maybe there's some status flag in a set top box that is activated initially, but it's have to be a part of the DVB spec if it were to exist. Very strange.
russellelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2008, 18:50
beardedwonder
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,653
Works with the Nebula TV card, although it's 4:3 and i assume it's meant to be 16:9
beardedwonder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2008, 18:54
albertd
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Crawley, W. Sussex
Posts: 7,310
I'm not really interested in Yorkshire's local news unless it is important - in which case it will be in the national news anyway. This space could be better used for some of the Ceefax content that hasn't been transferred over.)
This is quite useful when, like me, you are close to regional borders. I receive from Crystal Palace, but my local news is sometimes on 'South East' and sometimes on 'South'.
albertd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2008, 19:09
Netizen
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Wakefield
Posts: 4,872
Very interesting! Has anyone found different pages if you set your box to the TEST region?
Netizen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2008, 19:44
ProDave
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Northern Scottish Highlands
Posts: 11,302
What puzzles me is who found this and how? they must have been given a nod from someone in the know. I can't believe someone is so bored they just tried pressing buttons and stumbled upon it.

I wonder what other gems are lurking there to be discovered.
ProDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2008, 19:46
saiorse44
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: England
Posts: 291
I just get "service unavailable" or something on BBC red button services and also on ch.303 where ther was nothing before.
saiorse44 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:34.