Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Free upgrade for Thompson sky+hd box owners


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 24-07-2013, 13:45
jeffkey1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 256

According to this site Sky are launching a new Sky_HD box this month. (July)

http://www.skyhdsolutions.com/news/

Anybody heard any rumours about it.

Is the the box with the built in Wifi?
jeffkey1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 24-07-2013, 14:11
Tiwttmos
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2,244
Anything's got to be better than my noisy 2tb Sky HD box!
Tiwttmos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2013, 14:20
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 37,479
Doesn't sound very plausible, particularly their claim that cards supplied after the launch would only work in the new boxes?.

As is well known, there IS a new box in the pipeline (with in-built WiFi), but when I asked the Sky ASA rep last week (as he was admiring the Sony 4K demo) about it he didn't know when it was likely to be out, but he didn't expect it any time soon.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2013, 14:34
jeffkey1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 256
Ah....

I thought it a bit odd as I could not find any other reference.
jeffkey1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2013, 15:29
RobSmithS
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 548
Anything's got to be better than my noisy 2tb Sky HD box!
I wasn't happy with the extra noise when I upgraded from my (as good as totally silent) drx890-r to the 2tb drx895-c with its whirring noises and louder clicks as standard issue. It was almost as if they decided to knock 'em out without any sound dampening. Shame, the apparant extra operational noise was a step backward (but the extra storage space is now necessary for the premium experience!).
RobSmithS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2013, 15:43
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 37,479
I wasn't happy with the extra noise when I upgraded from my (as good as totally silent) drx890-r to the 2tb drx895-c with its whirring noises and louder clicks as standard issue. It was almost as if they decided to knock 'em out without any sound dampening.
I would imagine the boxes are identical, apart from the HDD fitted - presumably the 2TB drive is just much noisier?.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2013, 16:27
adam241
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Manchester
Posts: 214
Would any new box released be Xbox One ready, with hdmi in and out?
adam241 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2013, 16:28
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 37,479
Would any new box released be Xbox One ready, with hdmi in and out?
I would have thought VERY unlikely.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2013, 16:41
paul_smith3
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 99
and dont forget the subs go up also
paul_smith3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2013, 17:16
Chrisj3456
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Littlehampton, West Sussex
Posts: 270
Anything's got to be better than my noisy 2tb Sky HD box!
My 2TB box is deathly quiet! hardly hear anything at all from it from the day I got it, so they are not all like yours luckily
Chrisj3456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2013, 17:56
fastest finger
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Heart of England.
Posts: 5,895
Would any new box released be Xbox One ready, with hdmi in and out?
The Xbox One has HDMI in and out, the Sky box doesn't need to be any different to how it is now.
fastest finger is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2013, 18:08
adam241
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Manchester
Posts: 214
The Xbox One has HDMI in and out, the Sky box doesn't need to be any different to how it is now.
I think you will find it does..

1. Supported television tuner or cable/satellite set top box with HDMI output and HDMI cable required (all sold separately).


http://www.xbox.com/en-GB/xboxone/what-it-does
adam241 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2013, 18:18
fastest finger
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Heart of England.
Posts: 5,895
I think you will find it does..

1. Supported television tuner or cable/satellite set top box with HDMI output and HDMI cable required (all sold separately).


http://www.xbox.com/en-GB/xboxone/what-it-does


All Sky HD boxes (which are now supplied as standard, and have been for some time) already have an HDMI output. The Sky box does not need an HDMI input to work with Xbox One.

Unless you've got an old Thompson, which has no HDMI at all, you won't have a problem.

In any case, there's no rush. Microsoft have already said that the TV functions will only work in the US at launch.
fastest finger is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2013, 18:24
adam241
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Manchester
Posts: 214
Okay my bad so say sky hd boxes will be compatible with the xbox one come november for the live tv feature, would the tv be connected to the xbox by hdmi then another hdmi from xbox to sky hd?
adam241 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2013, 18:27
Gormond
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 15,246


All Sky HD boxes (which are now supplied as standard, and have been for some time) already have an HDMI output. The Sky box does not need an HDMI input to work with Xbox One.

Unless you've got an old Thompson, which has no HDMI at all, you won't have a problem.

In any case, there's no rush. Microsoft have already said that the TV functions will only work in the US at launch.
You are correct but the Xbox One would need access to TV guide and channel info which it currently doesn't have and I can't see Sky doing it in the near future.

What I would like to see is support for HDMI CEC so we can just hit the Sky button and turn the TV over.
Gormond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2013, 18:28
Gormond
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 15,246
Okay my bad so say sky hd boxes will be compatible with the xbox one come november for the live tv feature, would the tv be connected to the xbox by hdmi then another hdmi from xbox to sky hd?
Your Sky box would connect to the Xbox One and then it would connect to the TV.

So you would watch Sky through your Xbox One, the entire thing seems pointless to me but there you go.
Gormond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2013, 18:30
adam241
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Manchester
Posts: 214
Your Sky box would connect to the Xbox One and then it would connect to the TV.

So you would watch Sky through your Xbox One, the entire thing seems pointless to me but there you go.
Yes i agree it does seem pretty pointless, the only thing it takes out is the switching of inputs on your remote.
adam241 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2013, 18:39
fastest finger
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Heart of England.
Posts: 5,895
Okay my bad so say sky hd boxes will be compatible with the xbox one come november for the live tv feature, would the tv be connected to the xbox by hdmi then another hdmi from xbox to sky hd?
Firstly, It won't work in November, it is USA only at first. (it may still act as a pass-through, saving you an HDMI socket and letting you flick between games and TV - you'll still need your Sky remote to watch TV though)

Your Sky box HDMI will plug into the Xbox One, and then the Xbox One HDMI will plug into the TV.

What functions you get will depend on how closely Sky and Microsoft work together. At best, your Sky picture will be overlaid with Microsoft's EPG software, and you'll be able to change channels, set recordings, access you planner, interact with programmes etc through voice commands and gestures as your Xbox takes control of your Sky box via your home network.

At worst, you'll need an IR blaster which will mimic your remote. where you'll be able to change channel up and down, but that's about it.
fastest finger is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2013, 18:45
fastest finger
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Heart of England.
Posts: 5,895
You are correct but the Xbox One would need access to TV guide and channel info which it currently doesn't have and I can't see Sky doing it in the near future.

What I would like to see is support for HDMI CEC so we can just hit the Sky button and turn the TV over.
I think the plan is to eventually let the Xbox One control the Sky box using your home network, much like how the iOS/Android Sky+ app works now, giving it full access to your planner in conjunction with an online version of the EPG and on-demand library. But, as we've said, this depends very much on Sky/MS working together to get the required app onto the Xbox One, which will take time. (if it happens at all, as nothing has been confirmed)
fastest finger is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2013, 18:48
adam241
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Manchester
Posts: 214
Not a surprise really that the US will have it first, they have never been able to watch tv through the xbox 360. (Sky go)
adam241 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2013, 18:48
Gormond
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 15,246
Yes i agree it does seem pretty pointless, the only thing it takes out is the switching of inputs on your remote.
Which if Sky would include CEC would be one press of a button...
Gormond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2013, 18:50
Gormond
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 15,246
Not a surprise really that the US will have it first, they have never been able to watch tv through the xbox 360. (Sky go)
I also wonder what happens if Xbox live is down... Take last night for example, i couldn't watch TV catchup on my Xbox 360 because live was having problems, and this isn't the first time this has happened.
Gormond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2013, 18:51
fastest finger
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Heart of England.
Posts: 5,895
Not a surprise really that the US will have it first, they have never been able to watch tv through the xbox 360. (Sky go)
They've just done a deal with Time Warner Cable in the US. They'll have up to 300 TV channels on Xbox 360 by the end of the summer.

That said, they've had so many false starts with TV services, it's a bit of a joke to be honest. Their on demand stuff isn't bad though.
fastest finger is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2013, 18:53
fastest finger
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Heart of England.
Posts: 5,895
I also wonder what happens if Xbox live is down... Take last night for example, i couldn't watch TV catchup on my Xbox 360 because live was having problems, and this isn't the first time this has happened.
You'd still get pictures, as they will come via satellite rather than IPTV, but with no EPG data you'd have to use your Sky box in the normal way.
fastest finger is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2013, 18:56
Gormond
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 15,246
You'd still get pictures, as they will come via satellite rather than IPTV, but with no EPG data you'd have to use your Sky box in the normal way.
Yeah I was referring to the EPG data, does that mean an xbox live sub would be required?

There is no doubt I will end up getting an Xbox One at some point but I really can't see me using this feature.
Gormond is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:44.