Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Hard drive help


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 25-03-2013, 19:07
Mark glasgow
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 66

Hi just been giving a mates old ps3 as the hard drive was corrupted and couldnt be fixed. Is there a specific hard drive i must put into the machine and what should i do when i 1st switch it back on?

What are the costs likely to be. Its an original phat 1st day release.

Thanks for any advice.
Mark glasgow is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 25-03-2013, 19:09
gother
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Concrete Jungle
Posts: 6,689
This will be perfect for you. Just make sure to format it to FAT32 before putting it in your ps3.
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Scorpio-Mobi...4238514&sr=8-3
gother is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2013, 19:17
Mark glasgow
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 66
Thanks for the quick reply is there anything else that i need to get to do this?
Mark glasgow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2013, 20:32
gother
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Concrete Jungle
Posts: 6,689
Thanks for the quick reply is there anything else that i need to get to do this?
Might be worth you watching this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NNSytaL9hnI
gother is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2013, 21:03
Mark glasgow
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 66
Thanks for this im sure this will do the trick
Mark glasgow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2013, 21:35
Conroy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: cs_office
Posts: 2,454
I would suggest a Samsung Spinpoint M8 over any Western Digital HDD. You can get a 1TB for around 58 on Amazon which is a very good price (probably the lowest it has been in nearly 2yrs) and it's 9.5mm thick which is the thickest size the PS3 supports. You could try Overclockers or Scan as similarly priced alternative retailers.

As the PS3 isn't a Slim, there's no need to format the HDD to FAT32 before you put it in. The firmware is stored internally and will prompt you to format the HDD when you turn it on. You can then update the firmware if necessary (v4.40 came out last week) once the formatting has finished.
Conroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-03-2013, 07:42
The Terminator
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4,877
If the firmware version on it is 3.55 or below I'd strongly recommend looking into installing custom firmware, it makes the console miles more useful.
The Terminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2013, 15:06
stretfordender
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Limavady, Northern Ireland
Posts: 59
I would suggest a Samsung Spinpoint M8 over any Western Digital HDD.
Could you tell me why this is? Any particular reason? I was thinking of getting a 1tb.
Thanks
stretfordender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2013, 15:55
Conroy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: cs_office
Posts: 2,454
Could you tell me why this is? Any particular reason? I was thinking of getting a 1tb.
Thanks
Personally I've just never been a fan of WD, but that's going back about 10yrs with the performance and reliability of their HDDs compared to others such as Seagate and Maxtor.

More recently, there were a few problems with WD 2.5" SATAs which caused constant stuttering playback with iPlayer due to some kind of battery saving efficiency mechanism. This benefited laptops but not the PS3.

It is possible that this problem has been resolved with newer WD drives but I've had experience with 3 Samsung capacities in the PS3 (256GB, 512GB & 1TB) since launch and they have all been problem free. I'm sure others on here will say the same about Samsung drives too.
Conroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2013, 08:54
stretfordender
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Limavady, Northern Ireland
Posts: 59
At the moment I've a Seagate drive installed which I put in myself a couple years back. It's never give me any problems what so ever, however it will soon be full. So a 1tb would be great upgrade for me.

Thanks for the information about the Samsung drives, I'll take them into consideration along with Seagate when buying a drive.

Thanks
stretfordender is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:40.