Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Network Identifying Windows 7


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 27-03-2013, 03:18
FIFA1966
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 612

Can anyone help with the following:


I have been getting the (IDENTIFYING) thing on the wireless signal icon on the bottom right for a few weeks now and I have tried everything but nothing worked, so can anyone help?
FIFA1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 27-03-2013, 13:25
GetFrodo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,649
Need more information:

Do you have network access?
Internet access?
Do you have other wireless devices, do they work?
Does it work if you use an ethernet cable?
Have you changed anything?
Have you right-clicked the icon and chosen "troubleshoot"?
Have you rebooted your router?
GetFrodo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2013, 02:50
FIFA1966
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 612
Need more information:

Do you have network access?
Internet access?
Do you have other wireless devices, do they work?
Does it work if you use an ethernet cable?
Have you changed anything?
Have you right-clicked the icon and chosen "troubleshoot"?
Have you rebooted your router?

1. Yes, I have network access.

2. Yes, I have Internet access.

3. Yes, they do work. (PS3, Xbox 360).

4. It's not my router, it's someone else's.

5. Only changed the DNS server to Google's servers.

6. Same as number 4.
FIFA1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2013, 07:07
Stig
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sandy Heath, Beds, UK
Posts: 6,847
Can anyone help with the following:


I have been getting the (IDENTIFYING) thing on the wireless signal icon on the bottom right for a few weeks now and I have tried everything but nothing worked, so can anyone help?
I always find it funny when people say they have tried 'everything' as by definition nobody can then offer any new advice!

Rebooting the PC and then the router are the most sensible first steps. I know you say it's 'not your router'. So where are you? Can you ask permission to just turn it off then on?
Stig is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2013, 09:53
GetFrodo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,649
If everything works, why not just hide the icon?
GetFrodo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2013, 02:16
FIFA1966
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 612
If everything works, why not just hide the icon?



It works some times, but not all the times.
FIFA1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2013, 02:23
FIFA1966
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 612
I right-clicked on the wireless icon and then clicked on troubleshooting and after a while it said the following:

Windows has detected that you are able to access some websites.

On a off-topic, another problem:

I recently upgraded Internet Explorer from 9 to 10 and every time I go to Google basic search settings to turn off Google Instant, the icon that says SAVED does not appear, can anyone help?

I've already cleared cookies, cache and everything else, but the problem is still there.
FIFA1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2013, 02:24
FIFA1966
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 612
I always find it funny when people say they have tried 'everything' as by definition nobody can then offer any new advice!

Rebooting the PC and then the router are the most sensible first steps. I know you say it's 'not your router'. So where are you? Can you ask permission to just turn it off then on?


I'm at home.

I cannot get permission because getting permission is complicated.
FIFA1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2013, 10:30
Stig
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sandy Heath, Beds, UK
Posts: 6,847
I'm at home.

I cannot get permission because getting permission is complicated.
You mean it's next door's WiFi
Stig is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2013, 10:41
s2k
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,037
I've seen this sort of thing happen when an IP conflict has occurred or there is an issue seeing the default gateway. It may also reset to a "public network".

Long and short of it is you will need access to the router to either reboot it or check the settings/physical cabling. Stig seems to have knocked the nail on the head so I'm not sure anyone will be able to offer anymore useful advice
s2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-2013, 02:40
FIFA1966
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 612
You mean it's next door's WiFi



How in the name of Sir Isaac Newton can it be next door's WIFI when I don't know the Network Security Key
FIFA1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 03:14
FIFA1966
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 612
The problem remains.

In other words, it's still happening again.
FIFA1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:17.