Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Can I Use a 3 Data SIM in My Phone


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 28-03-2013, 13:19
JulesandSand
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Caledonia
Posts: 5,404

I've just changed to 3 from Tesco and when in London recently tried to tether my phone (it's against the T&Cs of my contract but I used to do it on occasion with my Tesco SIM to check emails etc), but 3 blocked it straight away.

However I do have PAYG 3 data SIMS for my MiFi device - can I simply put one of these in my phone and tether that way?

I don't want to try it because as soon as the SIM is used the data expires after a month and I wont need to use it until May.
JulesandSand is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 29-03-2013, 00:20
12december1984
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,026
Sadly you can't use a Data SIM in your iPhone to tether....
12december1984 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2013, 09:08
JulesandSand
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Caledonia
Posts: 5,404
Sadly you can't use a Data SIM in your iPhone to tether....
I don't have an iPhone.
JulesandSand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2013, 10:19
12december1984
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,026
I don't have an iPhone.
Sorry, I was half asleep last night and imagined you had.

I know when I tried my iPad Data SIM in my iPhone to try and do a Speedtest on Three to see if it was worth joining last year it wouldn't have it.

Guess it's worth a try with your kit to see what happens?
12december1984 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2013, 10:21
JulesandSand
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Caledonia
Posts: 5,404
Sorry, I was half asleep last night and imagined you had.

I know when I tried my iPad Data SIM in my iPhone to try and do a Speedtest on Three to see if it was worth joining last year it wouldn't have it.

Guess it's worth a try with your kit to see what happens?
Thanks, it seems like trying it to see is my only option. I see that with 3 I can buy a tethering add on for 5/month which is about the same as the 1GB data sims cost.
JulesandSand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2013, 11:17
TheBigM
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: moon
Posts: 12,663
I've just changed to 3 from Tesco and when in London recently tried to tether my phone (it's against the T&Cs of my contract but I used to do it on occasion with my Tesco SIM to check emails etc), but 3 blocked it straight away.

However I do have PAYG 3 data SIMS for my MiFi device - can I simply put one of these in my phone and tether that way?

I don't want to try it because as soon as the SIM is used the data expires after a month and I wont need to use it until May.
If you have a 3 data sim and a compatible MiFi device, just use those, why worry about tethering?
TheBigM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2013, 13:54
JulesandSand
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Caledonia
Posts: 5,404
If you have a 3 data sim and a compatible MiFi device, just use those, why worry about tethering?
So you don't know the answer to my question then?
JulesandSand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2013, 14:32
the porter
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: wigan lancs
Posts: 266
funnily enough i tried to tether yesterday ip5 to ipad and immediately got the no tethering webpage, so i had to reboot the phone so then opened the puffin browser app instead of safari and i was allowed to tether to my hearts content how stange
the porter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2013, 15:33
TheBigM
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: moon
Posts: 12,663
funnily enough i tried to tether yesterday ip5 to ipad and immediately got the no tethering webpage, so i had to reboot the phone so then opened the puffin browser app instead of safari and i was allowed to tether to my hearts content how stange
It's not strange, its just a different user agent thats being reported so Three didn't spot the tethering on that occasion.
TheBigM is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:52.