Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Can't find N64 on TV.


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 28-03-2013, 21:02
evesapples131
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4,248

Hiya everyone.

I have an N64 that I haven't played in a few years, tonight I set it up hoping to play Zelda, but I can't find it on the TV.

The Nintendo powers on (the little red light is on) but nothing appears on the screen, the cable I have is a scart lead with a white, red and yellow things going into the scart head. I've tried searching, but still nothing.

I have just plugged in my gamecube to see if that works - and it does instantly without tuning.

Any advice would be great, my TV isn't new or HD, it's an old samsung, I'm not sure if that's relevant or not lol

Any advice would be great, thank you
evesapples131 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 28-03-2013, 23:07
0lly
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 156
Maybe a silly question but did you try any other games to see if they showed up?

It might be dust or dirt causing the problem, so try blowing in the console cartridge slot and maybe in the actual game to try and clear any dust out. Don't do it too much or too hard though.
0lly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2013, 23:16
Fried Kickin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 48,816
Your N64 is actually outputting composite video via scart.
Do you have any other scart appliances plugged into your tv at the same time?
RGB tends to knock out composite video on a tv.
For example if you have a freeview box that is set to RGB then N64 running composite may just show a black screen.
You won't have to unplug anything just power down other scart appliances when you turn the N64 on.
Fried Kickin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2013, 07:52
Vegeta
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 502
I hooked up my n64 onto my Samsung tv last week using the AV cables attached to scart. I wanted to play Mario 64 after missing out on it for over 15 years. No matter what I did, there was no signal, but my gamecube worked perfectly. Then I realize it was due to the N64 games. Try Giving it a blow on a few games and see what happens.
Vegeta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2013, 10:08
2Dshmuplover
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Norfolk UK
Posts: 7,807
Yeah N64 carts sometimes need a bit of a clean to get working. It should be showing a signal the same way the GameCube does though sometimes the lead needs to be pushed in a little harder at the back of the N64, make sure it's plugged in nice and tight as I've done that before myself and had no picture.
2Dshmuplover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-2013, 16:32
evesapples131
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4,248
Hiya everyone, thanks for your replies

I've tried just about everything, but still no luck.

I'm trying to get it to work on AV2 (because gamecube works on that channel) I've tried blowing in the machine and the game, but the screen doesn't even flicker or react at all when I turn the nintendo on.

Unfortunately I don't have any other games to test out, so it's possible that the game itself just could be completely broken, if I knew someone else with a n64 I could test it out, but I don't lol

Thanks again for all the advice - It looks like I'm going to have to buy zelda for the gamecube instead
evesapples131 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 01:59
Hypnos
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 951
I hooked up my N64 about 6 years ago (still had a CRT) to play a bit of Goldeneye. Prepare for dissapointment.
Hypnos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 06:36
Lathamite
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 533
I played GoldenEye on a Rom for my MacBook a few weeks ago. Prepare for awesomeness.
Lathamite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 10:50
lordOfTime
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: County Durham
Posts: 13,063
I hooked up my N64 about 6 years ago (still had a CRT) to play a bit of Goldeneye. Prepare for dissapointment.
I hooked the N64 to play Goldeneye last Christmas. It's just as much fun as it always was.
lordOfTime is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 08:38
grimtales1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: St. Albans, UK, Team Wagner
Posts: 37,922
I hooked up my N64 a few years back to play Goldeneye, couldnt get it to work
grimtales1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 09:25
Gormond
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 14,922
Hiya everyone, thanks for your replies

I've tried just about everything, but still no luck.

I'm trying to get it to work on AV2 (because gamecube works on that channel) I've tried blowing in the machine and the game, but the screen doesn't even flicker or react at all when I turn the nintendo on.

Unfortunately I don't have any other games to test out, so it's possible that the game itself just could be completely broken, if I knew someone else with a n64 I could test it out, but I don't lol

Thanks again for all the advice - It looks like I'm going to have to buy zelda for the gamecube instead
Check everywhere for dust including the AV connector into the N64 and the port, also the cartridge slot itself.

Have you checked to see if your TV has composite connectors (red, white, yellow), you could just plug them in directly rather than via scart.

Also try both scart ports with nothing else plugged in to see if it works and try via the aerial connector and tune it in that way.
Gormond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 20:20
Vegeta
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 502
even though the n64 works on my hd tv, I don't remember the picture quality looking this bad.
Vegeta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 20:30
bob2005
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: London
Posts: 3,060
Thats why I always hook up to a standard TV the only retro console which looks decent is the Dreamcast.
bob2005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 21:48
2Dshmuplover
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Norfolk UK
Posts: 7,807
I only ever hooked up my N64 to an HDTV once out of curiosity and the picture quality was nothing short of a total abortion.. and that was in RGB! I dread to think what S-Video or Composite look like. Anything that deals with such low resolutions is going to look horrible on modern displays. CRT is really the only way to go outside of emulation, I think providing you do things properly then the games still look lovely even today.
2Dshmuplover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 22:12
0lly
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 156
I played through Goldeneye a year or so ago and I still enjoyed it just as much.

I don't mind playing my retro consoles through my LCD. If I had enough room to have a CRT as well then sure I'd probably use that, but after a bit of playing with the settings they look alright to me.
0lly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 00:36
WellHiddenMark
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Not-London
Posts: 1,101
I only ever hooked up my N64 to an HDTV once out of curiosity and the picture quality was nothing short of a total abortion.. and that was in RGB! I dread to think what S-Video or Composite look like. Anything that deals with such low resolutions is going to look horrible on modern displays. CRT is really the only way to go outside of emulation, I think providing you do things properly then the games still look lovely even today.
For old consoles on an LCD you really need an upscaler and a scanline emulator to make them look any good.
WellHiddenMark is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:02.