Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

CnM Touchpad


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 29-03-2013, 15:04
hallc
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Jesmond
Posts: 71,023

Hi

I am trying to connect this tablet to the internet using a USB, It works fine on Wi-Fi system..
When I try to connect it I can not find WCDMA in the menu does this mean it can`t be set up using a usb ?

Any help please
hallc is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 29-03-2013, 21:10
alan1302
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Yorks
Posts: 5,778
What is it you are exactly trying to do? If you can get access to Wi-Fi then why you you want to access the net via USB?
alan1302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-2013, 12:13
hallc
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Jesmond
Posts: 71,023
The tablet belongs to some-one who does not have Wi-Fi, he only has his Vodafone usb
hallc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-2013, 18:15
NaturalDancer
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,752
I'm no expert but in case nobody else comes back to you this is what I think. By trying to connect via the USB I'm presuming it would be over 3G; I assusme that would only work if the tablet is 3G enabled. Not all of them are.
NaturalDancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2013, 10:52
NaturalDancer
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,752
I'm no expert but in case nobody else comes back to you this is what I think. By trying to connect via the USB I'm presuming it would be over 3G; I assusme that would only work if the tablet is 3G enabled. Not all of them are.
Sorry ignore that. I reaslised later that if the tablet was 3G enabled you wouldn't need to try to connect via the USB.
NaturalDancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2013, 14:31
hallc
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Jesmond
Posts: 71,023
I,m still trying ,but I think the USB route is not enabled
hallc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2013, 21:15
Mr. Cool
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,482
Hi

I am trying to connect this tablet to the internet using a USB, It works fine on Wi-Fi system..
When I try to connect it I can not find WCDMA in the menu does this mean it can`t be set up using a usb ?

Any help please
Does the tablet have a full-sized USB port?

If yes - it more than likely won't work anyway (driver related etc.)

If no - you're screwed and it definitely won't work.

Your friend could install an application onto his computer that would turn his laptop/desktop into a router, using his 3G USB modem, which he could then connect to his tablet.
Mr. Cool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 10:16
neo_wales
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South Wales/Gran Canaria
Posts: 7,419
On my Windows phone you can 'share internet' you then open your tablet, wi fi picks up your phone, you enter the password the phone generates and away you go...so long as you have a 3g signal of course. I've not looked for an android app but I'm sure there is one.
neo_wales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 18:52
NaturalDancer
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,752
Just thought I'd mention this here in case anyone else continues to view. I bought 2 7" CNM tablets for my granddaughters for Christmas after reading lots of really good reviews on the Argos website (they seem to have disappeared now or maybe it's just me I can't find the reviews now). One developed a fault after some weeks and had to be exchanged which was fine, no problems with exchanging it, but I had a text from one of my grandduaughters last week saying when she switched hers off one night it came back on - this happened twice and that her sister's isn't charging properly. I suggested they reset them but it didn't resolve the issues.
The main problem really is, though they're guaranteed for a year it's actually exchanging them that's a bit of a problem as they live too far from me to make it worthwhile posting them to me and for their mum to take them back to Argos you have to consider the cost of petrol as there isn't a store that close - not too far but it shouldn't really cost you anything to return faulty items. I contacted Argos this morning to see if I could get a refund rather than them just repair or replace. I was offered the Acer Iconia B1 which was the same price I'd paid for the CNM. Sorted it all by phone for them to reserve 2 of them at the Southport store so my son could take the CNMs and exchange them for the Acers. Which he did an hour later. I thought it was great service from Argos and though the Acer Iconia B1 is a budget tablet from Acer I think they'll be fine for my granddaughters.
NaturalDancer is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:28.