Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Laptop and Printer Problem


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 30-03-2013, 22:43
Taglet
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 13,190

Hoping for some advice because the current situation is driving me nuts.

I purchased a canon wireless 5350 printer after my old one died and set it up as per instructions but ever since the browser on my laptop wont work unless the printer is actually turned on and even then it is very slow when I first turn my laptop on...but does speed up after a while.

I went away at the weekend so no printer and used the hotel wireless and it was virtually impossible to use the internet as browsing was so slow it kept timing out so I gave up in the end and left it off until I got home.

Any advice gratefully received...I'm not very technical so the simpler the better.
Taglet is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 31-03-2013, 08:40
Stig
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sandy Heath, Beds, UK
Posts: 6,623
Do you mean your Internet browser?

What version of Windows are you using?

How do you connect to the Internet at home? Do you have a wireless router?

I think the hotel wifi issue could be a completely separate issue, so ignore that.
Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2013, 08:56
Taglet
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 13,190
Do you mean your Internet browser?

What version of Windows are you using?

How do you connect to the Internet at home? Do you have a wireless router?

I think the hotel wifi issue could be a completely separate issue, so ignore that.
Yes I mean my internet browser, well in fact any of my direct desktop links don't work too so its not just searching but more my internet connection. I have windows 7 and have a wireless router. The only reason I mentioned the hotel is because if my printer is not switched on I get the same effect and at the hotel I did not have my printer with me. Its almost as though my connection goes through the printer if that makes sense?.....slowing it up and ceasing to function if the printer is not on.
Taglet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2013, 09:17
Stig
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sandy Heath, Beds, UK
Posts: 6,623
Is the printer connected to the router via a wired or wireless connection?

One thing always worth trying: turn everything off. Starting with the router, turn each device on, with about a 1 minute gap between each. Turn the printer on last. See what happens.
Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2013, 09:38
Taglet
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 13,190
Is the printer connected to the router via a wired or wireless connection?

One thing always worth trying: turn everything off. Starting with the router, turn each device on, with about a 1 minute gap between each. Turn the printer on last. See what happens.
Printer is connected via a wireless connection. Tried it and although the computer looks connected (status thing on the toolbar) when I open anything I just get the spinning egg timer until it times out. It remained that way until I turned the printer on then would connect.
Taglet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2013, 09:47
John259
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Posts: 13,217
OP,

Does Device Manager indicate any problems?
John259 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2013, 09:50
Taglet
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 13,190
OP,

Does Device Manager indicate any problems?
Not that I can see but don't really know what I am looking for.
Taglet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2013, 10:02
John259
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Posts: 13,217
Not that I can see but don't really know what I am looking for.
Fair enough, it's something many people don't even know exists. These articles might help.

How to get into Device Manager:
http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000833.htm

Identifying problems in Windows Device Manager:
http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch001212.htm
John259 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2013, 10:31
Taglet
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 13,190
Fair enough, it's something many people don't even know exists. These articles might help.

How to get into Device Manager:
http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000833.htm

Identifying problems in Windows Device Manager:
http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch001212.htm
It all looks fine according to that link
Taglet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2013, 10:33
John259
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Posts: 13,217
It all looks fine according to that link
OK, it was worth checking IMHO. Let's hope someone else can help. It's a strange fault.
John259 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2013, 10:40
soulboy77
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Herts
Posts: 14,222
Did you install a load of printer related s/w on the laptop when installing the printer? Uninstalling would help prove if this is the cause.
soulboy77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2013, 11:58
Taglet
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 13,190
Did you install a load of printer related s/w on the laptop when installing the printer? Uninstalling would help prove if this is the cause.
What a star...yes I did. so I have just uninstalled everything except the printer driver and it works perfectly now. Its often the simplest solutions that work
Taglet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2013, 12:58
Stig
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sandy Heath, Beds, UK
Posts: 6,623
What a star...yes I did. so I have just uninstalled everything except the printer driver and it works perfectly now. Its often the simplest solutions that work
Good suggestion from soulboy77.

HP printers are also terrible for having huge applications installed along with the printer drivers. At work I keep a copy of the 'lite' drivers to hand for new installs.
Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2013, 13:10
RobinOfLoxley
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Devon
Posts: 6,054
Every now and again everyone has problems with 'connection' in some unknown way.

Having a spare browser, or re-installing one, is quick and easy to see if an alternative works.

I use Firefox (mainly), Chrome and IE. If one plays up, I try the others.


Funnily enough, this morning, I had some very strange problems. (no connection at all although connection seemed fine). No browsers worked.

I thought it was another world wide hack attack or clock change or maintenance with ISP.

In fact it was just my router seemed to need turning on and off (which has never happened before)
RobinOfLoxley is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:35.