Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Three Tether block notification keeps appearing


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-04-2013, 00:32
slick1two
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,377

And I am not tethering! Not even once since I have had my Nexus 4. I switched to the ultimate internet sim 200, which has all you can eat data but doesn't allow tethering, ok that's fine. I've just been using the data on the phone itself. Everything been going great for 2 months, but for the past 3 days I have been getting a tethering block notification come up which stops me using data, until I restart the phone.

Called three and they told me to change the APN, which I did as the tech guy instructed, rebooted and same problem. He said if it doesn't sort it out, then do a factory reset, which I have done. Was ok for a day, but today it's back.

I'm not doing anything radically different in my browsing, and using pretty much same amount of data I've used in previous months around about 2.5-3gb.

Guess I will have to call back, anyone else had this happen?
slick1two is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 01-04-2013, 01:37
AxeVictim
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 2,318
Had this happen too ,did the reboot and changed settings but still came back.
Eventually sorted itself out been ok for a while now.
AxeVictim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 01:45
slick1two
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,377
Had this happen too ,did the reboot and changed settings but still came back.
Eventually sorted itself out been ok for a while now.
Hmmm, what on Earth is triggering it though? If there isn't any tethering going on?? Strange! I don't often have a bad word to say about three, but this is pretty annoying. Could an app be doing something weird that's making three think I am tethering? or the fact that I am using more than a gig of data? but then, I am getting all you can eat data with the plan so don't really get it.

I will have to call up three again.
slick1two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 02:27
jabbamk1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 7,388
i remember someone posting on here before and it turned out to be an app that was updating all the time. I think it was a clock widget or weather widget?
jabbamk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 08:59
Thine Wonk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10,661
i remember someone posting on here before and it turned out to be an app that was updating all the time. I think it was a clock widget or weather widget?
Yup, it's nearly always an app or widget using a non mobile user agent to phone home. It's faulty software, rather than Theee's fault usually and they are forced into blocking people who haven't paid for a tethering plan because we've seen so many people abuse.
Thine Wonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 09:00
Thine Wonk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10,661
i remember someone posting on here before and it turned out to be an app that was updating all the time. I think it was a clock widget or weather widget?
Yup, it's nearly always an app or widget using a non mobile user agent to phone home. It's faulty software, rather than Theee's fault usually and they are forced into blocking people who haven't paid for a tethering plan because when they didn't so many abused it.
Thine Wonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 09:37
legends wear 7
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,071
Erm id say it is very much Threes fault if they are breaking their contract by denying a paid for service, when the customer has only used the service in line with its terms.
legends wear 7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 10:08
prking
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Weston-super-Mare
Posts: 8,983
Erm id say it is very much Threes fault if they are breaking their contract by denying a paid for service, when the customer has only used the service in line with its terms.
'breaking their contract by denying a paid for service' Hopefully that's just very poor wording and you do understand the difference between a technical fault and a breach of contract.
prking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 10:40
Thine Wonk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10,661
Erm id say it is very much Threes fault if they are breaking their contract by denying a paid for service, when the customer has only used the service in line with its terms.
It is faulty software that is non RFC compliant installed by the user that causing the fault probably

If developers aren't adhering to http://www.ietf.org/rfc/rfc2616.txt and are instead writing desktop user agent strings into mobile applications then it's faulty software.

I'd start by uninstalling any lesser known apps and seeing if the problem goes away. The last time a user had this problem they had some awful widget software on, I can't remember the name it, let's call it sh*te widget. That's the problem when you get apps written by less skilled coders.

That's why Three are saying do a factory restore which would fix it, until you put the dodgy app back on.
Thine Wonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 10:50
legends wear 7
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,071
Poor wording yes, but the cause is the same...its three that are causing the issue by blocking his phone when he is not tethering, if three are going to block tethering then they need to ensure their software can take into account the issues of app coding.
legends wear 7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 10:53
legends wear 7
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,071
One might suggest its one of the reasons other networks don't block tethering on any plan but control network abuse through data limits
legends wear 7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 10:55
Thine Wonk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10,661
Poor wording yes, but the cause is the same...its three that are causing the issue by blocking his phone when he is not tethering, if three are going to block tethering then they need to ensure their software can take into account the issues of app coding.
I disagree, and we're only in this situation because people cheated. 3 and others have been forced to try and block users that don't follow what they agreed to in the terms.

You can't blame 3 because the user has downloaded and installed a faulty application that is poorly written. This only effects a tiny minority of users, in all my time on forums like these I've only seen a handful of cases, every one is a really dodgy or crap app as well like that awful widget software that was posted before.
Thine Wonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 10:59
legends wear 7
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,071
Its threes issue, they cant control 3rd party apps and users use of them, nor should they try.

what they can control is their own blocking software which in this instance is not working fir a customer and they should deploy tethering software to allow for such a scenario.
legends wear 7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 11:48
AxeVictim
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 2,318
Hmmm, what on Earth is triggering it though? If there isn't any tethering going on?? Strange! I don't often have a bad word to say about three, but this is pretty annoying. Could an app be doing something weird that's making three think I am tethering? or the fact that I am using more than a gig of data? but then, I am getting all you can eat data with the plan so don't really get it.

I will have to call up three again.
When I called them the guy said even a change of browser could set it off.
AxeVictim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 12:00
konebyvax
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ignoringtrollsville
Posts: 7,300
Have no axe to grind with Three here (will very probably be going to them when my contract is up) but i have to side with legends wear 7 here - this is Three's problem and it is wrong that it is adversely affecting an honest customer who isn't tethering.
konebyvax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 12:16
moox
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 7,276
It is faulty software that is non RFC compliant installed by the user that causing the fault probably

If developers aren't adhering to http://www.ietf.org/rfc/rfc2616.txt and are instead writing desktop user agent strings into mobile applications then it's faulty software.
But that's just the HTTP RFC which doesn't really cover mobile devices in any detail (it was written in 1999). Section 14.43 (user agents) doesn't state that an application's user agent must be truthful.

However, how do you know that Three's system isn't broken? Is it proven that a specific mobile app is sending an incorrect user agent and that app is on the OP's phone?

I am inclined to blame Three here - it must be a flaky system if you have to be careful about what apps and browsers you use on your phone for fear of having your connection shut off. It also doesn't help people who for some reason have to be spoofing a desktop user agent (to access different versions of web sites, or perhaps for dodgier web sites that only allow certain browsers despite being fully compatible).

It seems like the easiest and cheapest approach to solve the problem of blocking tethering, except that it doesn't do it particularly well. It really shouldn't be preventing people from doing otherwise perfectly legitimate things in order to catch the few people who might actually be causing a problem to the network with excessive tethering.

Anyone who actually knows what they're doing would just set up a VPN or SSH tunnel or something anyway.
moox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 12:21
AxeVictim
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 2,318
This was the page I got taken too did a screenshot on the phone.

http://i217.photobucket.com/albums/c...528-211222.png
AxeVictim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 12:49
slick1two
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,377
This was the page I got taken too did a screenshot on the phone.

http://i217.photobucket.com/albums/c...528-211222.png
Yep that's the one.

With regards to apps which may be causing this I do have a clock widget called advanced clock widget. But Also tried this new weather app called 1weather. Could be one of those perhaps. I will remove them and see if that solves it. I have tried different browsers too. Recently been using boat. But I did set the user agent to desktop. Could that trigger the block? I actually prefer full sites than mobile ones. But it's still on my phone isn't really fair if I am penalized for using a desktop user agent when it's still on my ohone and not on a pc.
slick1two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 12:56
denyo1977
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 622
I doubt it's the same problem, but for some reason today I suddenly couldn't access websites with adult content. The adult content block has been off for a month. So, not sure where that came from. Saved the off setting again and now it's fine.
denyo1977 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 13:07
AxeVictim
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 2,318
Im using Opera Mobile set to desktop atm and its been fine.Something is triggering the block page perhaps its a case of Three just learning your browser choice
I got it regularly on different phones but after a while its just stopped.
AxeVictim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 13:10
Thine Wonk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10,661
Im using Opera Mobile set to desktop atm and its been fine.Something is triggering the block page perhaps its a case of Three just learning your browser choice
I got it regularly on different phones but after a while its just stopped.
Opera proxies you, fetching the content as desktop, returning it downscaled.

In any case you can still view the desktop version using a mobile UA, you just can't say you're internet explorer when you're a mobile browser.

This is a rare issue, nearly always caused by a dodgy app, and the only other option for Three would be to cancel the non tethering plans and take away that option, so that would mean saying goodbye to the 15 PAYG unlimited, as it's not commercially viable to offer tethering on that as well.

Giffgaff and others who do 'proper' unlimited, but no tethering also have these issues and have implemented measures to try and stop the cheats.

Your browser or an app that the user installed is reporting it's a desktop, not a mobile phone, so the anti-tethering is working correctly. It's the app that is faulty / root cause in my opinion, but others may disagree.
Thine Wonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 13:24
legends wear 7
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,071
The app is not faulty though is it, the app is working fine and would work fine on any network that does not block tethering.

the issue here is all three
legends wear 7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 13:24
Thine Wonk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10,661

Anyone who actually knows what they're doing would just set up a VPN or SSH tunnel or something anyway.
Or you could *shock* *horror* pay the extra for tethering if you want to cheat. Which would be cheaper / the same as using a VPN service or messing about SSH tunnelling through another server which has to stay on.

Good luck getting decent speeds and performance too with VPNs and tunnels.

Very few would even know how to do this, it's to stop the small minority who get a cheap PAYG deal and then try using it as their main internet, hammering it, when they only have handset data included.
Thine Wonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 13:24
Thine Wonk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10,661
The app is not faulty though is it, the app is working fine and would work fine on any network that does not block tethering.

the issue here is all three
The app is in the wrong / causing the issue in my opinion. As I say, the only other choice from the mobile network is to stop the non tethering plans all together and take those off the market, so consumers cannot buy them anymore.

This is so rare, I've only seen 3 posts about it in all my time on this and other forums. It's always "shy*e weather" or "rubbish widgets", some really crappy badly coded piece of software the user has installed causing it!

Restore to factory defaults and the issue will go away.
Install good software that it well known and you won't experience the issue. Skype, Google, BBC etc, if you've installed something from an "unheard of" company, then always try uninstalling that first and it'll fix it.
Thine Wonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 14:05
Richard_T
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: East Midlands
Posts: 3,398
I disagree with the above, if the network says the user is tethering and the user is not then the networks software needs to be looked at, and an alternative method should be used to detect tethering.
Richard_T is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:28.