Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Xbmc on tv best way?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-04-2013, 09:21
Tobias.
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Here
Posts: 854

As the title suggests I want xbmc to work with my hd tv but not sure about the best way to do this.

I want xbmc as it has a great UI and plenty of plugin channels etc.

I have come across the raspberry pi however, it appears that to stream HD it needs extra bits bringing the cost up somewhat including the purchase of codecs that are free elsewhere?

Ideally I want something I can just plug in the back of the tv into hdmi or USB and I'm off so to speak. The wdtv live box seems good as it has direct storage, but it doesn't have the extra channel plugins for streaming.

Any of you out there with any ideas, suggestion etc?

Much appreciated.
Tobias. is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 02-04-2013, 09:35
JasonWatkins
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 36,859
Well according to this, which i think is the official site for XBMC on the Pi, the codecs have been reverse engineered and are now free due to a dispute with the foundation.

http://www.raspbmc.com/
JasonWatkins is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 09:46
Esot-eric
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 886
the codecs have been reverse engineered and are now free due to a dispute with the foundation.
Unfortunately, it seems that it was a childish prank by people who seem to think it's funny to spread misinformation every year on 1st April.

Hard enough to separate truth from fiction on the Internet without usually credible sources actively spreading nonsense.

Anyway, to the OPs question:

I believe the Raspberry Pi comes with support for h.264 hardware decoding built-in. It's just the other codecs that require you to purchase a license, and i think the R-Pi has enough CPU grunt to decode those in software anyway.

If you can wait until June the Ouya Android console should be shipping, and that will come with support for XBMC.
Esot-eric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 09:46
mred2000
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6,348
Acer Revo nettop machine? More expensive than a Pi but it'll do everything and you can probably fix it to the back of your telly so it'll be well out of the way...
mred2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 09:56
JasonWatkins
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 36,859
Unfortunately, it seems that it was a childish prank by people who seem to think it's funny to spread misinformation every year on 1st April.
Fair play, my fault for not reading properly ..

There's an unofficial build of XBMC for Android that allows HD playback - if the OP got a decent Android TV stick, it could certainly work and give much more scope for streaming.

According to the site, it's a full release as well

http://www.xbmcandroid.com/2013/01/1...oid-must-have/
JasonWatkins is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 13:05
Tobias.
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Here
Posts: 854
Acer Revo nettop machine? More expensive than a Pi but it'll do everything and you can probably fix it to the back of your telly so it'll be well out of the way...
Seen these on ebuyer for 160 with no o/s which is fine as I use Ubuntu anyway. However reviews suggest these are not Ubuntu friendly?
Tobias. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 13:06
Tobias.
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Here
Posts: 854
Fair play, my fault for not reading properly ..

There's an unofficial build of XBMC for Android that allows HD playback - if the OP got a decent Android TV stick, it could certainly work and give much more scope for streaming.

According to the site, it's a full release as well

http://www.xbmcandroid.com/2013/01/1...oid-must-have/
Think it was the mk808 on amazon for about 35 quid but has issues with wifi and android support is in early stages but that's interesting link. Ty
Tobias. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 14:25
TheDisneyMagic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 432
Another vote for the Revo range, I have R3700's attached to every TV in the house all connected to a server which also has a SQL database to keep track of content - they are brilliant, the newer models come with BluRay drives as well making them even better for the job.

I personally have Windows installed on them but they boot directly in to XBMC using the program XBMC Launcher. By using this it removes the Windows Shell unless I attempt to exit XBMC this makes the whole process seamless.

When you get round to setting everything up let me know if you have any problems and I will be happy to help you.
TheDisneyMagic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 14:30
Tinky-Winky
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: England
Posts: 95
Hi,

Does the latest Revo series handle HD from BBC iPlayer as I heard that the R36** could not handle it.

TW
Tinky-Winky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 14:46
TheDisneyMagic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 432
I used to have the R3610 version a couple of years ago and after upping the RAM (I think it was 4GB) it was able to handle HD with no problems - Now I can't remember if that included the BBC iPlayer HD or whether iPlayer HD was even about back then. I still have one of those models at work so I will give it a try for you when I get a chance.
TheDisneyMagic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 14:49
TheDisneyMagic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 432
The R3700 and above definitely handle it with no problem. I can account for that personally.
TheDisneyMagic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 15:09
Tobias.
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Here
Posts: 854
What about this? Good for hd streaming? Has audio out for surround etc. would it cope well though?
Tobias. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 15:14
TheDisneyMagic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 432
Yup they cope fine with the audio, I have some of them attached through the HDMI for Audio and Video and others attached through HDMI for Video and Optical for Audio and no problems what so ever.
TheDisneyMagic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 15:22
theARE
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,394
I have a Blutimes M1 android tv box which fully supports the XBMC build for android
But XBMC for android generally is still quite new and their are bugs - but it's getting better

Edit: the only issue with the Bluetimes was that the remote that comes with it is absolute crap - and wont let you do pretty basics things. So had to get a usb airmouse / keyboard to go with it to make it properly usable. Just factor that into your budget if you go for one.
theARE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 15:53
BrokenArrow
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 14,664
I have a Blutimes M1 android tv box which fully supports the XBMC build for android
But XBMC for android generally is still quite new and their are bugs - but it's getting better

Edit: the only issue with the Bluetimes was that the remote that comes with it is absolute crap - and wont let you do pretty basics things. So had to get a usb airmouse / keyboard to go with it to make it properly usable. Just factor that into your budget if you go for one.
I have an MK802 mk3 dual core and this works straight off your Android phone with no remote control required, even uses the G sensors.

Not tried XBMC on it though.
BrokenArrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 16:16
Tobias.
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Here
Posts: 854
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Acer-Revo-L8...s_computers_20

Helps if I add a link lol. This is the type of thing?
Tobias. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 16:58
TheDisneyMagic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 432
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Acer-Revo-L8...s_computers_20

Helps if I add a link lol. This is the type of thing?
They should be good, I haven't got my hands on one yet but considering they are the upgrade to the R3700 I would guess they should be able to handle it. The Celeron and Core i3 processors should be more powerful than the Atom in the machines I have.
TheDisneyMagic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 17:46
Esot-eric
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 886
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Acer-Revo-L8...s_computers_20

Helps if I add a link lol. This is the type of thing?
Should work fine.

I just converted one of these (i used the processor and HDD to upgrade my sister's computer and replaced them with a Sempron 140 and 60GB laptop HDD) to an XBMC machine using OpenELEC and the one you linked to is much higher specs.

Runs fine and plays back content without a problem, including 720p stuff (don't have any 1080p content to test). Installed the iPlayer, ITVplayer, and 4oD plugins and they playback fine too.

Unless you need to run Windows software or what to use it as a computer too putting Windows on it is just throwing your money away. OpenELEC is much more light-weight and free.

There are also these recently released.
Esot-eric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 18:32
Tobias.
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Here
Posts: 854
Should work fine.

I just converted one of these (i used the processor and HDD to upgrade my sister's computer and replaced them with a Sempron 140 and 60GB laptop HDD) to an XBMC machine using OpenELEC and the one you linked to is much higher specs.

Runs fine and plays back content without a problem, including 720p stuff (don't have any 1080p content to test). Installed the iPlayer, ITVplayer, and 4oD plugins and they playback fine too.

Unless you need to run Windows software or what to use it as a computer too putting Windows on it is just throwing your money away. OpenELEC is much more light-weight and free.

There are also these recently released.
I can get the one I linked to for 160 with no o/s was hoping to put ubuntu on but that is a no go with these machines. Would openELEC just install and make the unit an xbmc only device? Ie boot straight in? If so is it the same as xbmc as in plugins and updates? What about codecs etc? Ubuntu you download via terminal, whereas this? Loks promising...

EDIT - maybe not just looked and there are issues apparently on that range with installing Linux inc Ubuntu and openELEC...hmmm
Tobias. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 18:44
whoever,hey
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29,233
Are the codecs free on ubuntu?

Doesn't the raspberry pi just run linux anyway, so cant you install puppy ubuntu on it or something and install the free codecs?
whoever,hey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 10:55
Tobias.
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Here
Posts: 854
Should work fine.

I just converted one of these (i used the processor and HDD to upgrade my sister's computer and replaced them with a Sempron 140 and 60GB laptop HDD) to an XBMC machine using OpenELEC and the one you linked to is much higher specs.

Runs fine and plays back content without a problem, including 720p stuff (don't have any 1080p content to test). Installed the iPlayer, ITVplayer, and 4oD plugins and they playback fine too.

Unless you need to run Windows software or what to use it as a computer too putting Windows on it is just throwing your money away. OpenELEC is much more light-weight and free.

There are also these recently released.
The acer Revo has the celeron 887, 4gb memory and only seems to work with windows 8 - would that be okay for doing backup from my DVD collection to the hard drive? Would it be slow? Would I be better off looking at something else?

General consensus seems to be that with win 8 it will run xbmc fine had included streaming should be okay depending on broadband but not much info on back up times etc?

So many choices lol... Ty for all the help though.
Tobias. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 13:47
Esot-eric
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 886
Yeah, it looks like the newer Revos will only currently work with Windows, which automatically bumps the price by around 70.

Eventually the various Linux distros will solve the problem but for now, if you're going for a Revo, you'll either need to use Windows or try and get the previous generation Revo.

The Revo will be able to backup from your DVDs but it'll be pretty slow. Better to rip them on your (more powerful) main computer and then transfer them to the XMBC box or a NAS.

Those Artic MC001 machines would have been perfect for a media box but it looks like they've been discontinued and i haven't found anywhere else selling them. Perhaps they're due a refresh, so it may be worth keeping an eye on the site.

You asked about installing XBMC plugins in OpenELEC. They will work fine since it's just a very minimal Linux system with XBMC (12.1) running on top. OpenELEC includes some additional plugins and an additional settings menu where you can configure things like networking. So, if you have (or get get hold of) an old PC it'll work fine. It'll even work with cheap Windows Media Center remote controls out of the box, so no need for mouse/keyboard.
Esot-eric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 14:01
Esot-eric
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 886
Are the codecs free on ubuntu?

Doesn't the raspberry pi just run linux anyway, so cant you install puppy ubuntu on it or something and install the free codecs?
Looks like the Pi doesn't have enough CPU grunt to software decode without stuttering.

The Pi comes with a licence for h.264 so anything using that will be hardware accelerated and play without problem (even 1080p stuff).

A licence for MPEG2 can be purchased for 2.40, and VC-1 for 1.20, which also hardware accelerates content using those codecs, but it seems like the Pi still struggles with AC-3 or DTS audio.

The OP could encode all their DVDs using h.264 video and AAC audio and the Pi will play them back without problem. Similarly most of the catchup services use h.264/AAC streams, so those should work too.

A Pi (32 inc case), USB power supply or powered USB hub (5-10), a MCE remote (15) and, optionally, a USB Wifi adapter (~10). At under 70 all-in it may be worth a shot.

Now that i've finished upgrading all the household computers i'm going to pick up a Pi later this month to experiment with.
Esot-eric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 09:24
Tobias.
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Here
Posts: 854
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B...=1&s=computers

With the Revo out of the question, I am leaning towards this? But the specs seem exactly the same as the Revo l80 unless I'm missing something obvious... Thus I presume Ubuntu etc would be out the the question here too? Would I be able to use a USB bluray drive to backup films with it?
Tobias. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 09:36
call100
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,240
More expensive, but, this from Novatech is supposed to be OK..
call100 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:41.