Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

No Operating System....


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-04-2013, 20:01
peterfoster
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 657

I've been asked to check out a friend's laptop running Vista. It's a Packard Bell MS2273.

The problem as reported to me is that it won't start.

The Startup Repair Diagnosis tells me-

"Root Cause Found. No OS found on disk.
Repair action: Partition Table Repair
Result: Failed.
Error Code0x490"

There are a number of system recovery options-

1. System Restore. (There are no system restore points)
2. Windows Complete PC Restore. (No Backup Image Available)
3. Windows Memory Diagnostic Tool (I didn't bother to run this given the "No OS" message)
4. Command Prompt. (Haven't persued this)
5. Recovery Management Powered by Acer - Restore system from factory default.

Is there anything else I could try before taking option 5, above?

Is there anyway of retrieving any of the data on the hard drive before running option 5 above.

Thanks.
peterfoster is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 02-04-2013, 20:05
Stig
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sandy Heath, Beds, UK
Posts: 6,695
I'd remove the hard disk, attach it to another PC via a SATA to USB adaptor, and try and retrieve any data.

Of course, if the disk has failed, you won't be able to access the data or the recovery partition.
Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 20:16
Mr Dos
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 411
If the laptop has a DVD drive and a USB port, you might be able boot from a Linux live cd, browse the HDD and copy data to a flash drive. Google it - I found this guide

http://www.shockfamily.net/cedric/knoppix/

or a USB caddy as Stig mentioned. I opened a broken notebook the other day to do just this, but the HDD wasn't SATA so I was out of luck.
Mr Dos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 20:16
max99
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,633
You can try the command prompt and run chkdsk /r. It'll either work or waste an hour of your time. But backup the data first.

Also, tell the friend that they are probably going to lose all their data. Even if you do manage to recover it, it might just teach them not to be so damn lazy in future.
max99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 20:20
peterfoster
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 657
Thanks for that.

The pc has passed the following "Setup Repair Diagnosis" Tests-

Check for Updates
System Disk Check
Disk Failure Diagnosis
Disk Metadata Test
Target OS Test
Volume Content Check



Would this adapter fit the bill-

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/2-5-3-5-SA...item589e2e612d
peterfoster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 20:54
peterfoster
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 657
If the laptop has a DVD drive and a USB port, you might be able boot from a Linux live cd, browse the HDD and copy data to a flash drive. Google it - I found this guide

http://www.shockfamily.net/cedric/knoppix/

or a USB caddy as Stig mentioned. I opened a broken notebook the other day to do just this, but the HDD wasn't SATA so I was out of luck.
This looks very interesting. I've followed the link and accepted the download agreement which takes me to a page of about 50 individual downloadable items. Is the one I need-

Knoppix_V7.0.5DVD-2012-12-21-EN.ISO 3.8GB

Thanks.
peterfoster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 20:55
peterfoster
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 657
You can try the command prompt and run chkdsk /r. It'll either work or waste an hour of your time. But backup the data first.

Also, tell the friend that they are probably going to lose all their data. Even if you do manage to recover it, it might just teach them not to be so damn lazy in future.
Sorry. Are you saying that I shouldn't run "chkdsk /r" until I've backed up the data? Thanks.
peterfoster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 20:57
whoever,hey
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29,786
Your first port of call should ALWAYS be to get a backup.
whoever,hey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 21:08
RobinOfLoxley
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Devon
Posts: 6,266
Backing up anything important, that is visible on the disk, before attempting repairs, is always the wisest option. Just in case things get worse.

Another suggestion might be to try Minitool Partition Wizard Bootable CD

If the partitions seem to have disappeared, there is a Partition Recovery Wizard.

And if the boot sector is corrupt, there is a Rebuild MBR function (only run that when HDD is still in the original faulty laptop)

Otherwise keep on with your Knoppix ideas etc.
RobinOfLoxley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 22:11
peterfoster
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 657
Backing up anything important, that is visible on the disk, before attempting repairs, is always the wisest option. Just in case things get worse.

Another suggestion might be to try Minitool Partition Wizard Bootable CD

If the partitions seem to have disappeared, there is a Partition Recovery Wizard.

And if the boot sector is corrupt, there is a Rebuild MBR function (only run that when HDD is still in the original faulty laptop)

Otherwise keep on with your Knoppix ideas etc.


I've burnt the Minitool Partition Wizard Bootable CD and tried to run it on the dodgy laptop but it won't run. This is because I can't get into the BIOS to get the pc to boot from the "D" Drive. I've tried F2, F8 and F12 but the pc tries to start Windows . I get the "little green balls running from left to right" and then Windows goes into startup repair. Windows says it can't repair the pc automatically and invites me to send the information to Microsoft which I can't do of course. So I view the "problem details" which tells me there is no operating system. I then go into "View advanced options for system recovery and support" and I see the list of recovery tools I listed above.

I've got a Vista Acronis Bootable CD which might be of use but it will be of no use if I can't get the pc to boot from the CD drive first.
peterfoster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 22:27
LION8TIGER
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,313
This is because I can't get into the BIOS to get the pc to boot from the "D" Drive. I've tried F2, F8 and F12 but the pc tries to start Windows . I get the
It won't be F8, that is safe mode on all computers. F2 would seem to be the one for Packard Bell but maybe it varies between models ?
Does it not flash up briefly on the first screen you get as it boots up to enter setup or boot menu ?
LION8TIGER is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 22:33
peterfoster
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 657
It won't be F8, that is safe mode on all computers. F2 would seem to be the one for Packard Bell but maybe it varies between models ?
Does it not flash up briefly on the first screen you get as it boots up to enter setup or boot menu ?
I've Googled and Packard Bells go into BIOS if you press F1 or F2 or Del. I can hear the DVD whizzing round but Windows always tries to boot itself up. Sadly, I can't try to get into the BIOS with no CD in the drive because the CD Drive window won't open to enable me to extract the CD!
peterfoster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 22:34
RobinOfLoxley
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Devon
Posts: 6,266
Could be Del, Esc or F1 key instead? (tap repeatedly from power-on till obvious whether it is correct key)


If you can't get into BIOS...

If it will boot from USB flash drive/stick, you could make a boot one of them instead with the iso files.
(CDs can be converted to isos with imgburn.)

http://www.pendrivelinux.com/univers...easy-as-1-2-3/

Windows disks maybe need a different USB creator.
http://download.cnet.com/Windows-7-U...-10972600.html
RobinOfLoxley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 22:43
chappie
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 281
manually open the dvd drive, push an opened paper clip in the small hole at the front.

If you get into set up ,check the date, the cmos battery could have lost its charge
chappie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 22:50
LION8TIGER
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,313

If you can't get into BIOS...

If it will boot from USB flash drive/stick, you could make a
Windows disks maybe need a different USB creator.
If you can't get into the BIOS how can you make it boot from a flash drive ?
LION8TIGER is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 22:52
LION8TIGER
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,313
manually open the dvd drive, push an opened paper clip in the small hole at the front.
Is it not working ?
LION8TIGER is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 23:15
RobinOfLoxley
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Devon
Posts: 6,266
If you can't get into the BIOS how can you make it boot from a flash drive ?
The USB maybe selected before HDD, even if CD isn't, or Boot Menu may allow choice of drive.

Just ideas to try.
RobinOfLoxley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 23:17
peterfoster
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 657
manually open the dvd drive, push an opened paper clip in the small hole at the front.

If you get into set up ,check the date, the cmos battery could have lost its charge
Great tip about the paper clip. The cd is out. I've re-booted with no cd in the drive, pressing F1 and have got into Boot Manager. I press F8 for "advanced choices." I tried "safe mode" but that didn't produce anything new.
In Advanced Boot Options I can choose-

Enable Boot Logging
Enable Low Resolution Video
Last Known Good Configuration
Directory Services Restore Mode
Debugging Mode
Disable Automatic Restart on System Failure
Disable Driver Signature Enforcement

I'll load a bootable cd onto a memory stick because perhaps the dvd drive is defective.
peterfoster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 23:19
peterfoster
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 657
I can't at the moment see anything which will change the boot order.
peterfoster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 23:44
max99
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,633
Keep looking, there'll be an option somewhere in the BIOS to choose the boot order.

However.... before going any further, how important is the data? Bear in mind that if you do anything wrong, do you really want to be responsibility for losing someone else's irreplaceable photos, etc? Even if it's not your fault, it'll still be seen as your responsibility. That's how it works when you offer to fix a friend's computer. A non-booting, unbacked up machine can be tricky and time-consuming to fix, so if you don't want would could be a major hassle, it may be best to simply hand the computer back and tell them that you tried your best.
max99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 23:50
Oscar_
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Surbiton
Posts: 1,415
Best idea would be to download a Puppy Linux .iso and burn it to a CD (burn as an image) to make a bootable Live CD. http://www.puppylinux.com

That should boot to a full desktop (in RAM so you can even eject the disc after booting) with everything you need to easily mount the HDD and rescue any data. Drive partitions all appear as desktop icons. Just click the icon and explore as normal with the file manager. Very easy for recovery and repair assuming the hardware is OK.

Most PC's have the bios set by default to boot from the optical drive first if a bootable disc is in there so you shouldn't need to go into the bios, but if you do then it is probably not F8 but one of the others you need for bios setup or boot order (sometimes there is another F key just for boot order alone).

Also, might be an idea to test any bootable CD you create on a computer you know is working so you can be sure it has been burned correctly as bootable. At least this eliminates one of the unknowns.
Oscar_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 00:12
fracal
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 376
I've been asked to check out a friend's laptop running Vista. It's a Packard Bell MS2273.

The problem as reported to me is that it won't start.

The Startup Repair Diagnosis tells me-

"Root Cause Found. No OS found on disk.
Repair action: Partition Table Repair
Result: Failed.
Error Code0x490"

There are a number of system recovery options-

1. System Restore. (There are no system restore points)
2. Windows Complete PC Restore. (No Backup Image Available)
3. Windows Memory Diagnostic Tool (I didn't bother to run this given the "No OS" message)
4. Command Prompt. (Haven't persued this)
5. Recovery Management Powered by Acer - Restore system from factory default.

Is there anything else I could try before taking option 5, above?

Is there anyway of retrieving any of the data on the hard drive before running option 5 above.

Thanks.
Is this a PB with a dodgy Acer OS installed? Or are you trying to use an Acer install disc?
fracal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 01:23
DANCE OF DEATH
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4,723
Is this a PB with a dodgy Acer OS installed? Or are you trying to use an Acer install disc?
Some Packard Bell laptops are made by Acer and Acer install there software on it. I had one before that had the PB badge on it, but everything was Acer.
DANCE OF DEATH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 07:20
chappie
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 281
go into setup ,if no hard drive shown use arrow keys to hilight where it should be,press enter ,see if it finds it , then f 10 to save
chappie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 10:18
peterfoster
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 657
Morning, guys.

Another day, another dollar.

First of all a big thanks to everyone for your time and trouble with all this.

I've just now booted the machine and pressed F2 and this time I have found myself in the Setup Utility which includes an option called "boot." This shows the following current boot priority order-

1. IDEO: ST9250315AS - (PM)
2. CD/DVD: Slimtype DVD A DS8A3S - (PS
3. Network Boot: MBA v11.4.1 Slot 0200
4. USB HDD
5. USB Fdd
6. USB Key
7. USB CD/DVD ROM

I've swapped the first two in the list around so that the first one in the order is now the CD/DVD drive.

I have rebooted the machine with the MiniTool Partition Wizard Bootable CD I made earlier at the kind suggestion of RobinOfLoxley. The CD has run and has left me with a splendid looking screen ("MiniTool Partition Wizard Home Edition v7.8) which shows the Partition situation of Disk 1 as follows-

Partition "PQSERVICE" capacity 9.77GB, used 9.01GB, unused 773.09mb File system FAT32 Type = Primary Status = None

Partition "OS" capacity 223.12GB, used 113.16GB, unused 109.96GB File system NTFS Type = Primary Status = Active

To my untutored eye that all looks very hopeful that I can copy the data off the Packard Bell machine onto a remote drive (either a stand alone drive or a drive on one of my pcs.) I gather that the PQSERVICE partion is used to restore the original OS to factory settings.

I have now connected up an external drive to the Packard Bell pc, pressed "reload disk" at the top of the Minitool screen and can now see the external drive. Splendid. This must be good.

Now, I don't wish to do a "Devon Lock" here so I'm going to ask if my next move is to copy one or both of the Packard Bell's partitions to the external drive. I presume I just copy the NTFS drive but I'll await confirmation of this. Thanks.
peterfoster is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:22.