Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Option - Copy


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-04-2013, 09:31
suzieque
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: west yorkshire
Posts: 222

My mk4 dish was installed by Sky last year, I noticed the signal on input 1 was higher than input 2 but all works well with no problems even during snow.

I put the signal difference down to the quad lnb, yesterday I replaced the lnb with a new octo type all works well on all three boxes but the signal strength difference is still the same.

I presume this is normal ? and if so why ?
suzieque is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 03-04-2013, 10:47
lotrjw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: south west
Posts: 6,050
I get fluctuations in signal too between input 1 and 2 but its never a problem so I dont worry about it.
lotrjw is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 10:52
Marti S
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Leicester
Posts: 1,683
There are slight differences in strength, depending on which transponder and which satellite the input is picking up.

The Quality is the more important thing to look at but even they can vary, Eurobird 1 tends to be a bit weaker.
Marti S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 02:58
FIFA1966
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 434
This is what I've read:

When Sky send the signal to the satellites in space, the signal is strong.

But when the signal arrives on your dish, the signal is weak.

Why?

Because it breaks up during the journey to your dish.
FIFA1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 19:43
SteveMcK
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 4,769
This is what I've read:

When Sky send the signal to the satellites in space, the signal is strong.
But when the signal arrives on your dish, the signal is weak.
Why?
Because it breaks up during the journey to your dish.
Because the satellites are 25,000 miles away, and any radio signal that has just travelled 50,000 miles is going to be more than a tad weaker that when it left the source.
SteveMcK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 07:06
BOOTHY2905
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,078
Condition and length of cable can cause minute signal differences. And the quality of the connector terminations also. Cable may have been hit slightly with hammer when it was clipped maybe.
BOOTHY2905 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:44.