Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Option - Copy


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-04-2013, 17:41
webbie
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: North Devon
Posts: 1,438
With the colossus you still need the hdmi to component converter as the hdmi socket complies with hdcp and prevents copying.
The converter I linked to and the Hdfury2 or 3 ignore the hdcp so are fine to use with the colossus analogue inputs. Just keep the leads short and of good quality and you'll be fine.
webbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 05-04-2013, 10:50
Skid Solo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Hertfordshire
Posts: 150
Hi Webbie thanks for your help, one further piece of advice please.

I currently use CAT5 and HDMI baluns to transfer HD around my house. Thus my scenario is something like this :

• My PC is located in my office
• I have an HDMI feed into this room which should carry 5.1 sound over HDMI, (I believe Sky is now transmitting 5.1 over HDMI, not sure if it works on my Samsung SKY+HD box and don’t have a good way of testing)
• I can therefore convert the HDMI into Component and then into the Colossus in the back of a PC.
• However sound from the converter box only appears to be Stereo and not Optical and thus 5.1
• How do I therefore feed the Colossus with 5.1 quality sound (and I would see 5.1 as one of the main reason to transfer to Blu ray rather than just recording to DVD via Scart, along with picture quality of course)
•
I can find a converter for HDMI to Toslink to sit alongside the boxes you have suggested. Any ideas ?
The other way would be to link the Optical cable directly, but I am sure I would get sync problems if I can get a long enough Toslink cable (around 20m)
Skid Solo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 21:30
webbie
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: North Devon
Posts: 1,438
On your sky box, find settings then audio. If you have 5.1 over hdmi it will be an option in there. I don't think it's been activated on Samsung sky boxes yet and don't know when'if it will be.
I don't know if a 20m optical cable will work - I think you would have to try and see. They make them so they should work! I'm not sure if you would get lip sync errors as both signals (hdmi and optical) travel at the speed of light.
There are audio extractors from hdmi:
http://www.amazon.co.uk/ViewHD-Premi...d_sim_sbs_ce_1
is one I found. There are others and I have no idea what they are like. At least Amazon are good with returns!
There are ways round lip sync issues - most amps these days have an adjustment but this only adds a delay to the sound so if the sound is already delayed that won't help.
A solution may be to keep the recordings on a hard disk and play them back using the latest wdtv live streamer - this has + and - lip sync correction up to 2 seconds.
Otherwise you can run the recordings through software such as tsmuxer which can move the sound forwards and backwards as you like until you find the perfect setting.
webbie is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:32.