Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Panasonic TXL32E5B - SCART Switching


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-04-2013, 21:56
Rich57
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Rugeley, UK
Posts: 29

I have a hard disk video recorder connected to AV1 using the SCART adaptor lead. When the recorder wakes up to record a programme, the TV auto-switches to that input. I remember this behaviour from my earlier TV but it's not what I want now. Can I turn off auto-switching on this input?

Richard
Rich57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 04-04-2013, 23:00
Chris Frost
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 4,824
Probably. It's likely to be a function in the recorder that needs to be changed. Check your manual.
Chris Frost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 08:54
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 38,638
Probably. It's likely to be a function in the recorder that needs to be changed. Check your manual.
It's most likely a Humax recorder?, Humax don't have the slightest clue how SCART is supposed to work, which is why theirs works in such a stupid way, which can't be disabled.

The 'solution' is to cut pin 8 off the SCART lead, which then requires manual selection to watch the recorder. Or buy a make that can design a recorder properly!.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 14:42
Chris Frost
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 4,824
lol
Chris Frost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 19:05
gds1972
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3,647
It's most likely a Humax recorder?, Humax don't have the slightest clue how SCART is supposed to work, which is why theirs works in such a stupid way, which can't be disabled.

The 'solution' is to cut pin 8 off the SCART lead, which then requires manual selection to watch the recorder. Or buy a make that can design a recorder properly!.
Doesn't pin 8 also control the widescreen switching?
gds1972 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 19:38
iangrad
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 768
Doesn't pin 8 also control the widescreen switching?
Well remembered LOL

its about +ve 6 volts sets the TV to normal 16 : 9
and about +ve 12 volts sets the TV to the 4 : 3 picture format
zero voltage should allow the TV to go back to the previous source but some odd designed TV's stick on AV and have to be forced back to TV from the remote
iangrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 20:25
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 38,638
Doesn't pin 8 also control the widescreen switching?
So does a button on the handset - the lesser of two evils!

There's also WS switching on the teletext lines, so assuming the box and TV both do that it will still switch fine.

I notice the OP hasn't been back, so we're only assuming it's a Humax box - the only boxes I've seen which implement SCART incorrectly.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 20:47
Rich57
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Rugeley, UK
Posts: 29
Thanks for the responses.

My first LCD TV is less than a week old and I love the picture. It also enables me to connect what I want. However, there are a few (minor) issues that I'd like to clear up.

2) SCART auto-switching

a) Topfield TF5800 recorder (Toppy)
Here's a relevant extract from my previous thread.

I've checked the Toppy manual, but will now check the Toppy forum.
Rich57 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 20:12.