Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Avast! and Win32:Evo-gen report


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-04-2013, 12:24
JeffG1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Newbury
Posts: 4,840

Has anyone else come across Avast! blocking downloads of exe files, reporting a virus Win32:Evo-gen?

I am convinced it's a false positive, because uploading a freshly-scanned clean image causes the problem to be reported when I attempt to download it again.

Avast puts the file in its Virus Chest - going there and scanning the individual files reports no virus.

Google seems to suggest a lot of people are experiencing this problem - does anyone know when it first started happening?
JeffG1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 07-04-2013, 12:28
MassiveDynamics
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: England
Posts: 473
Upload it to VirusTotal if you can.

https://www.virustotal.com/en/
MassiveDynamics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 15:36
JeffG1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Newbury
Posts: 4,840
I did. No problems. I am looking for information on how long this has been going on for.
JeffG1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 17:43
curiousclive
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Slough, UK
Posts: 371

Do you have the latest version 8 of Avast?
curiousclive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 08:14
shhftw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 1,818
More interestingly, what's the .exe? Is it specific or all .exe's?
shhftw is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 11:06
JeffG1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Newbury
Posts: 4,840
More interestingly, what's the .exe? Is it specific or all .exe's?
At least all exe's I have built using Microsoft Visual Studio 2010 (Visual C++), regardless of web site.

A colleague who has McAfee, not Avast!, downloaded the same file with absolutely no problem.

As an experiment, I uploaded a 3rd party exe (ccsetup328.exe) to my web site, and it downloaded it without a problem.

So it's something in my builds it's complaining about. However, it's not just mine, as Googling shows that other people have had the same problem with other files.

And yes, as someone else asked, I have Avast version 8, but the problem was also there before I updated.

I have submitted one of my files to Avast as a false positive, so it's just possible if enough different files show this problem, they may fix it.

If anyone wants to try a download with their AV, it's http://www.jeffg.co.uk/_spine/spine70.exe
JeffG1 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:25.