Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Apple Clamchell


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-04-2013, 15:57
cmorris
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Leicester
Posts: 4,771

I have a problem with my Apple Clamchell. I know its working as I tested it this morning (turned it on and it booted up) but when I went to shut it down and reboot it it powers on and I can hear the chime but nothing appears on the screen

Help
cmorris is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 10-04-2013, 16:05
Maxatoria
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5,699
Get an IT technician to have a quick look at it?

Shine a light at the screen and if you can see what should be on the screen then its the inverter, but being apple its going to be expensive no matter what as Apple have never been known for cheap spares, but it could be a ribbon worn out or even the screen has died

and what the hells a clamchell (i've assumed its one of their laptops)
Maxatoria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 16:25
chenks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 10,760
i assume he means one of these old things http://www.andovercg.com/ebay/images...ell_indigo.jpg

unless he just means clamshell mode (ie laptop running with lid closed).

knowing cmorris, he's probably taken on one for repair and is in over his head and doesn't know what the hell he is doing. he runs a computer repair business so he says.
chenks is online now Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 17:04
mred2000
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6,762
Get an IT technician to have a quick look at it?
he runs a computer repair business so he says.
...he's a qualified technician in his own right, now... apparently...

He's obviously just testing us to keep us on our toes.

Those clamshells are sought after by some folk, though. Might be worth fixing it up and banging it on eBay...
mred2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 17:08
chenks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 10,760
...he's a qualified technician in his own right, now... apparently...

He's obviously just testing us to keep us on our toes.

Those clamshells are sought after by some folk, though. Might be worth fixing it up and banging it on eBay...
Microsoft Certified - MCDST, MCP & MTA
and IT Technician / IT Tutor

we are in great company here!

based on some of the questions he asks here, and the totally inability to grasp even the basic of replies i have to wonder about those qualifications.
chenks is online now Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 17:46
cnbcwatcher
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: At college, in L.A.'s office
Posts: 50,793
I remember those! They were some of Apple's ugliest Macs ever. They looked like kids' toys
cnbcwatcher is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 18:18
cmorris
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Leicester
Posts: 4,771
I was given it and going to sell it. I will do some more diging. Apple products are not my strong point

I think the graphics card inside has gone. Would forcing a CD to boot (such as Mac CD fix the problem) and if so are there any keys need to be presed
cmorris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 18:33
chenks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 10,760
I was given it and going to sell it. I will do some more diging. Apple products are not my strong point

I think the graphics card inside has gone. Would forcing a CD to boot (such as Mac CD fix the problem) and if so are there any keys need to be presed
at least tell us the exact model of the device you have.

for a powerpc apple device

Booting from CD — hold down the “C” key (until the Apple logo appears) while powering on the laptop. Insert a bootable CD as soon as the power is on.

Booting as a FireWire “target” — connect the PowerBook to another FW-equipped system. hold down the “T” key (until FW symbool appears) while powering on the laptop.

Choosing boot device — hold down the Option key (until the Apple logo appears) while powering on the laptop. You’ll see an icon for each bootable device (hard disk, bootable CD, network, etc). Select one of the icons, then click on the right-arrow icon.

Booting single-user — hold down the “Command-S” keys (until the Apple logo appears) while powering on the laptop.
chenks is online now Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 18:45
cmorris
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Leicester
Posts: 4,771
Don't worry I have sorted it
cmorris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 18:47
chenks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 10,760
Don't worry I have sorted it
share the solution then
chenks is online now Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 18:47
Chairman___Meow
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Cardiff
Posts: 396
I was given it and going to sell it. I will do some more diging. Apple products are not my strong point

I think the graphics card inside has gone. Would forcing a CD to boot (such as Mac CD fix the problem) and if so are there any keys need to be presed
You'd be lucky to get 50 quid for it.
Chairman___Meow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 19:52
cmorris
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Leicester
Posts: 4,771
There is a reset button. I only want £40.00
cmorris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 20:02
cnbcwatcher
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: At college, in L.A.'s office
Posts: 50,793
Don't worry I have sorted it
How did you sort it?
cnbcwatcher is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 20:07
cmorris
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Leicester
Posts: 4,771
I pressed the reset button above the power button, it reset and came too with a display but every time I shut it down and power it on it still comes up with a black screen but the sound comes on (to rectify I have to push the reset button)

But I do get the Date/Time message saying its out of date -but when I reset this it doesn't stay whn I restart machine

Would that be the cause of the no display on screen
cmorris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 20:21
newda898
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chez Newda
Posts: 3,277
I love these threads.
newda898 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 20:27
cmorris
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Leicester
Posts: 4,771
Mac's are not my strong point
cmorris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 20:27
Maxatoria
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5,699
Given the age of the machine i'd say its a CMOS battery dying/dead as last weeks mackrel..and given my efforts of replacing those in some old 68k series mac's i'd say good luck as Apples main job is to make everything as hard to replace as possible and thus make it easier to replace rather than repair and ensuring a steady flow of faithful to the holy churches tills

Just flog it as spares/repairs as it'll only probably lower the price by 5-10 quid and given some of the idiots on fleabay it'll probably go for more
Maxatoria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 20:32
chenks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 10,760
Mac's are not my strong point
what is your strong point?
chenks is online now Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 20:33
whoever,hey
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29,888
what is your strong point?
Comedy? Certainly not IT.
whoever,hey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 20:42
Maxatoria
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5,699
Comedy? Certainly not IT.
Tada...boom...tish ...guess we know who'll be here all week
Maxatoria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 23:54
cnbcwatcher
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: At college, in L.A.'s office
Posts: 50,793
Mac's are not my strong point
They are mine though
cnbcwatcher is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2013, 14:20
cmorris
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Leicester
Posts: 4,771
Ok good for you cnbcwatcher
cmorris is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:58.