Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

how powerful microwave I need


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 17-04-2013, 14:13
Chrysalis
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Leics
Posts: 329

want to buy one for rustlers and some frozen food, but cant find cooking instructions anywhere on the net.

is 800 watts enough? 1000+ watt microwaves are extremely expensive.
Chrysalis is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 17-04-2013, 15:27
degsyhufc
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Up North
Posts: 50,395
Most foods have guidelines from 650w to 900w/1000w
degsyhufc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2013, 15:59
andersonsonson
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,708
800 watts is definitely enough. Don't think I've saw food instructions with 1000W on it
andersonsonson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2013, 17:28
Welsh-lad
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Mid Wales / Canolbarth Cymru
Posts: 27,968
I have a 1000 watt one, though I've never seen instructions for 1000w on food packaging.

I just knock off some time due to the higher wattage.
Welsh-lad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2013, 19:30
bowland37
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4,230
I have a 1000 watt one, though I've never seen instructions for 1000w on food packaging.

I just knock off some time due to the higher wattage.
I bet you could fit a whole Lamb in that.
bowland37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2013, 23:27
SherbetLemon
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Scotland
Posts: 3,369
I have a 1000 watt one, though I've never seen instructions for 1000w on food packaging.

I just knock off some time due to the higher wattage.
Ours is also a 1000w, but I just match it to the highest wattage shown on the packaging (usually 900w). It doesn't adversely affect the cooking at all, or at least not in a way that is noticeable.

OP - 800w would do, but if you can stretch your budget to 900w, it would be better.
SherbetLemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2013, 19:04
frankie_baby
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 990
just get an 800 unless 10 seconds less cooking time is that important to you
frankie_baby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2013, 19:17
marianna01
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,035
just get an 800 unless 10 seconds less cooking time is that important to you
Yes, I agree - no need for more than 850 - I tend to just stick frozen meals in and check after three or four minutes, shake dish and judge how much longer is needed. You can always put dish back in for the extra minute or two if needed (if meal is still only warm in the middle). You get used to whatever make of oven you have - just like most things in your kitchen/life!
marianna01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2013, 19:19
dragonrapide
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: shoreham-by-sea
Posts: 530
We have a really old Matsui one which is 950w. It was such a cheap microwave too.

Now I keep thinking I should replace it, but have not found one with 950w. Most of them are also a lot smaller inside than ours.

Shame as I use the microwave most days, so would like a good one. I do not use it for pre packed meals as we do not buy them.
dragonrapide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2013, 15:45
Chrysalis
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Leics
Posts: 329
yeah got 800 works fine. thanks.

odd that its common I see on rustlers to show 750watts and 850watts on instructions yet I have never seen a 750 or 850 watt microwave.
Chrysalis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2013, 20:03
frankie_baby
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 990
yeah got 800 works fine. thanks.

odd that its common I see on rustlers to show 750watts and 850watts on instructions yet I have never seen a 750 or 850 watt microwave.
yeah instructions on packets always say 750, 850, ect. and microwaves are always sold in nice round hundreds these days, if its an 800 microwave just follow the instructions for 850
frankie_baby is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:54.