Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Archos announce three android smartphones...


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 19-04-2013, 16:44
TelevisionUser
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Storbritannia
Posts: 21,623

... Tablet maker Archos recently announced a new line of Android-based smartphones featuring a slim design, Qualcomm processor, an IPS display and two SIM slots to allow customers to use the phone with two different carriers seamlessly. All of the new handsets will ship unlocked out of the box and support 3G only, we’re told. The handsets in question include the Archos 35 Carbon, Archos 50 Platinum and Archos 53 Platinum, retailing for $99.99, $219.99 and $249.99, respectively...The handset will ship standard with Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich.
http://www.techspot.com/news/52295-a...artphones.html

Archos are best known as makers of tablets for the leisure market where they were pioneers. They are late entrants to the mobile phone market so they might struggle to gain market share.

Pictures here http://www.expertreviews.co.uk/galle...ones-announced and another report here http://www.expertreviews.co.uk/smart...ones-announced
TelevisionUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 19-04-2013, 19:40
BT@home
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,904
I assume the term " support 3G only" is meant to indicate the lack of 4G rather than both sim slots having 3G capability, as this is the only thing that would these apart from a dual sim China phone. Certainly the pics I found didn't show the 2nd sim with 3G bars.
BT@home is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2013, 19:59
swordman
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5,913
Although you may have more chance of an os upgrade in the future
swordman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2013, 20:03
jabbamk1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 7,103
I assume the term " support 3G only" is meant to indicate the lack of 4G rather than both sim slots having 3G capability, as this is the only thing that would these apart from a dual sim China phone. Certainly the pics I found didn't show the 2nd sim with 3G bars.
Nope, the processor and radio these phones use are inferior to the ones made by Mediatek in taiwan.


Although you may have more chance of an os upgrade in the future
Not true, a lot of Chinese phones that came with ICS now run jellybean.
jabbamk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2013, 20:06
swordman
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5,913
I had a star phone for a year never got upgraded in that time although may not be true for all I suppose.
swordman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2013, 21:05
jabbamk1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 7,103
I had a star phone for a year never got upgraded in that time although may not be true for all I suppose.
You won't get OTA updates on these phones.

The manufacturer releases them online and then you have to download and manually flash the update to the phone.

The archos will have the advantage of updating via OTA, but i dont see them doing that.
jabbamk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2013, 22:38
The Alpha Gamer
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3,004
Might get one, they seem to have better specs and are cheaper than the Sony Xperia L i was waiting for
The Alpha Gamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2013, 23:00
jabbamk1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 7,103
Might get one, they seem to have better specs and are cheaper than the Sony Xperia L i was waiting for
So the uk price for that phone was £320. You know it's a galaxy S2 clone. You can buy the Galaxy S3 for that price. The Nexus 4 is cheaper as well.
jabbamk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2013, 15:03
Mr. Cool
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,482
You won't get OTA updates on these phones.

The manufacturer releases them online and then you have to download and manually flash the update to the phone.

The archos will have the advantage of updating via OTA, but i dont see them doing that.
I can't see Archos doing that either. They're terrible with regards to updates.
Mr. Cool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2013, 16:02
Prilicla
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 544
Archos UK support is no more and they ended email enquires and the main telephone line. So have they shut down ?
Prilicla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2013, 23:26
TelevisionUser
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Storbritannia
Posts: 21,623
Archos UK support is no more and they ended email enquires and the main telephone line. So have they shut down ?
They're still going but they're using this webpage: http://www.archos.com/store/?country=gb&lang=en
TelevisionUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2013, 11:16
Justincox
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 26
Yes, all these smartphones are enabled with great features. These phones has a slim design, Qualcomm processor, an IPS display and two SIM slots to allow customers to use the phone with two different carriers seamlessly.
Justincox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2013, 04:27
PencilBreath
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Here.
Posts: 3,211
i expect to see then on bid.tv/pricedrop.tv with the rest of their tat shortly.
PencilBreath is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:01.