Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Just got an Apple TV - question about picture quality


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 20-04-2013, 17:35
rewind
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,823

To go with my Mac, I have just bought an Apple TV. Everything is working fine and I am glad I went to the trouble a few months ago of putting my favourite DVDs onto my Mac (before I even thought about getting an Apple TV!).

Quick question. When watching content (mainly Apple trailers or Netflix as they are the highest quality content I have access to), although the overall picture quality is excellent, there is what can only be described as a very slight judder, more noticeable on panning or moving shots. It is still perfectly watchable but was wondering if there is anything that can be done to improve it?

The Apple TV is outputting the image at 1080p/50hz.

Thanks.
rewind is online now   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 20-04-2013, 18:16
chenks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 9,581
change the appletv to 60hz and see if the problem goes away.
both mine are set to 60hz IIRC

in fact - set the "tv resolution" setting on the appletv to "auto".
chenks is online now Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2013, 18:18
mlayzell
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Luton
Posts: 435
To go with my Mac, I have just bought an Apple TV. Everything is working fine and I am glad I went to the trouble a few months ago of putting my favourite DVDs onto my Mac (before I even thought about getting an Apple TV!).

Quick question. When watching content (mainly Apple trailers or Netflix as they are the highest quality content I have access to), although the overall picture quality is excellent, there is what can only be described as a very slight judder, more noticeable on panning or moving shots. It is still perfectly watchable but was wondering if there is anything that can be done to improve it?

The Apple TV is outputting the image at 1080p/50hz.

Thanks.
Are all trailer in 1080P, does the problem still happen if you set your Apple TV to 720P?
mlayzell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2013, 18:39
chenks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 9,581
Are all trailer in 1080P, does the problem still happen if you set your Apple TV to 720P?
trailers can be both SD and HD.
as i said, change to 60hz and the problem will go away.
chenks is online now Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2013, 20:45
zapod
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 572
Might be worn checking the TV picture settings on the TV itself.

I know that on our Sony, each input (HDMI, DTV, SCART) can have defined characteristics - I'm talking about the picture smoothing options, motion tracking, picture softness... that sort of thing.
zapod is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2013, 20:57
chenks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 9,581
Might be worn checking the TV picture settings on the TV itself.

I know that on our Sony, each input (HDMI, DTV, SCART) can have defined characteristics - I'm talking about the picture smoothing options, motion tracking, picture softness... that sort of thing.
nope. it's a simple as i have posted twice now.
chenks is online now Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2013, 22:18
Chris Frost
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 4,550
^^^ ever feel like you're bashing your head against a brick wall? lol
Chris Frost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2013, 10:02
rewind
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,823
change the appletv to 60hz and see if the problem goes away.
both mine are set to 60hz IIRC

in fact - set the "tv resolution" setting on the appletv to "auto".
Sorry - meant to say in the original post, I can't do that. The setting is set to "Auto" and when I change it to 60hz, it says my TV doesn't support it.
rewind is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2013, 13:56
zapod
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 572
nope. it's a simple as i have posted twice now.
So, just to confirm, it's inconceivable, to you, that adjusting the motion tracking settings on a TV might affect issues with motion tracking?
zapod is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2013, 13:42
chenks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 9,581
So, just to confirm, it's inconceivable, to you, that adjusting the motion tracking settings on a TV might affect issues with motion tracking?
Having used appletv's (all variations) since they launched and seen the same "issue" reported numerous times, then yes my original solution is the correct one.

The fact that the OPs TV doesn't support 60hz says it all and means that, most likely, he/she is going to have to either put up with it or not use an appletv due to their TV not fully supporting it.

I'm sure you have years of appletv experience though, don't you.
chenks is online now Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2013, 10:14
rewind
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,823
Having used appletv's (all variations) since they launched and seen the same "issue" reported numerous times, then yes my original solution is the correct one.

The fact that the OPs TV doesn't support 60hz says it all and means that, most likely, he/she is going to have to either put up with it or not use an appletv due to their TV not fully supporting it.

I'm sure you have years of appletv experience though, don't you.
Just been looking at my manual for my TV and my TV does support 60hz (I forgot - I use it on my Xbox 360!): http://www.tv-manual.com/manuals/phi..._42PFL9703.pdf - so do you think the side HDMI connector doesn't support it? Will swap it for one of the ones on the rear to see.
rewind is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2013, 17:57
rewind
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,823
Just been looking at my manual for my TV and my TV does support 60hz (I forgot - I use it on my Xbox 360!): http://www.tv-manual.com/manuals/phi..._42PFL9703.pdf - so do you think the side HDMI connector doesn't support it? Will swap it for one of the ones on the rear to see.
Tried a different HDMI port but it still won't allow me to output the Apple TV in 60hz. This is strange when my TV supports it.

Any suggestions?
rewind is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2013, 20:36
rewind
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,823
Any clues anyone?
rewind is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2013, 22:40
rewind
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,823
Bumping this.
rewind is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 00:09
VMRocks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Belfast
Posts: 128
Tried a different HDMI lead...?
VMRocks is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 10:10
rewind
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,823
Tried a different HDMI lead...?
No I hadn't but just tried that now and still the same I'm afraid.
rewind is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 19:18
Chris Frost
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 4,550
This sounds like an EDID issue.

Part of the HDMI handshake process between two devices is the source device (ATV3) learning the capabilities of the display device (42PFL9703) and then adjusting it's output settings accordingly. This data is contained in a data package called EDID (Extended Display Identification Data).

If the ATV3 doesn't understand the particular data package from the TV, but the XBox does, then the fault lies with the ATV3. However, do check if there's a software update for your TV. It does happen that TV manufacturers will try to implement a work-around fix to get round the issue of broken software in a source.

You could also try the Apple support forums. Have a look to see if any other ATV3 owners are having similar problems.
Chris Frost is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:22.