Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

New Phone line installation info - BT Openreach


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 24-04-2013, 19:57
Dansky+HD
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Swansea
Posts: 1,809

Hi

I am getting a new phone line installed soon by BT Openreach.

Can anyone explain how exactly this is done.

How is it cabled from the exchange to my property e.t.c

As much or little info you can give would be most welcome.

Many thanks in advance,

Dan.
Dansky+HD is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 24-04-2013, 21:12
Chris Frost
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 4,552
When we had an extra line put in the BT engineer cabled from the pole to the house. He then put in the socket. The engineer told us he then makes the other end of the connection at the local junction box, and that in turn connects to the local exchange.
Chris Frost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2013, 22:24
Dino
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: South Manchester
Posts: 1,990
We had a new line into our house. Didn't have one. BT engineer assumed they'd probably not wired it up because house was cable.

He wired socket to spare slot on pole, connected it up in street cab and there was some fiddling at exchange. So confirms Chris Frosts's account really.
Dino is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2013, 09:26
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 36,861
It's pretty simple.

1) Underground (BIG!) cable from exchange to a local cabinet.

2) Underground (smaller) cable from cabinet to telephone poles on the street.

3) Overhead wire from pole to your house.

So there are (hopefully) spare wires in 1) and 2) - they allocate these wires to your account, connect the wire from pole to house, and then go to the exchange and connect the correct wire at that end - job done.

For fibre connections section 1) is replaced by fibre instead of wire, with a larger cabinet installed that converts the fibre back to copper wires, which then go to the house as before.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2013, 12:00
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 20,387
One thing I've noticed round here is that Openreach seem to be phasing out the traditional wooden telegraph pole. I've seen them install hollow metal poles in a few places. The cable goes from the house to the top of the pole then drops down inside and the distribution point where the house cable joins onto the cable back to the exchange is at the bottom of the pole behind an inspection hatch.

Which means the Openreach guys don't have to climb the pole after installation to inspect and test the circuit up to that DP.
chrisjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2013, 19:54
chenks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 9,589
It's pretty simple.

1) Underground (BIG!) cable from exchange to a local cabinet.

2) Underground (smaller) cable from cabinet to telephone poles on the street.

3) Overhead wire from pole to your house.
you'll find that telephone poles are a thing of the past.
there are no poles anywhere in my town.
chenks is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2013, 19:59
alan1302
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Yorks
Posts: 5,509
you'll find that telephone poles are a thing of the past.
there are no poles anywhere in my town.
I can see one from where I am sitting now! I must live in the past LOL
alan1302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2013, 20:02
chenks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 9,589
I can see one from where I am sitting now! I must live in the past LOL
you must... or you live in a town with old infrastructure.
chenks is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2013, 20:08
alan1302
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Yorks
Posts: 5,509
you must... or you live in a town with old infrastructure.
Definitely the old infrastructure town - well, village. Telephones had not been invented when this place was built.

Jut out of interest where in North Ayrshire are you? The only new town I know there would the newer parts of Irvine.
alan1302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2013, 20:12
chenks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 9,589
Definitely the old infrastructure town - well, village. Telephones had not been invented when this place was built.

Jut out of interest where in North Ayrshire are you? The only new town I know there would the newer parts of Irvine.
i live in the old town part of Irvine and not a telephone pole to be seen where i am.

none in the newer parts of the town either.
chenks is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2013, 20:25
alan1302
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Yorks
Posts: 5,509
There is one here:

http://goo.gl/maps/CvNi4
alan1302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2013, 20:29
chenks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 9,589
that's the really old part though, one of the original historic streets (just around the corder from the vennel where Burns once lived/worked).

my bit is just big shiny green street cabs and the rest is underground to the houses.
chenks is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2013, 22:45
Dino
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: South Manchester
Posts: 1,990
Telephone pole at bottom of my drive. Thankfully a wooden one. I'll be mindful of them on my travels now this thread has warned me of their extinction.
Dino is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2013, 08:42
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 36,861
you'll find that telephone poles are a thing of the past.
Not at all - there are still many, many millions of telephone poles in use (and new ones still been installed), and I'd be VERY surprised if your town doesn't still have plenty of them.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2013, 09:51
fastest finger
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Heart of England.
Posts: 5,574
I live in a newly developed area where there are no telephone poles, but I've never seen a green cabinet nearby, either. Do they now sink those underground too?
fastest finger is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2013, 10:45
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 36,861
I live in a newly developed area where there are no telephone poles
On new developments they install underground telephone wires during the development, when it's cheap and easy.

Retro-fitting underground cables to every home would cost billions, and cause absolute havoc.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2013, 11:01
fastest finger
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Heart of England.
Posts: 5,574
On new developments they install underground telephone wires during the development, when it's cheap and easy.

Retro-fitting underground cables to every home would cost billions, and cause absolute havoc.
Obviously.

But have you any idea about the equipment that would usually be found in the green cabinets, because we don't appear to have any?
fastest finger is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2013, 11:16
chenks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 9,589
Obviously.

But have you any idea about the equipment that would usually be found in the green cabinets, because we don't appear to have any?
You may have manholes instead (the big rectangular ones)
chenks is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2013, 11:24
fastest finger
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Heart of England.
Posts: 5,574
You may have manholes instead (the big rectangular ones)
So the answer to my question appears to be yes, as per my suspicions.

(Although I haven't spotted ours yet, despite efforts.)

Thank you Chenks.
fastest finger is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2013, 13:46
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 36,861
But have you any idea about the equipment that would usually be found in the green cabinets, because we don't appear to have any?
I can't even find the green cabinet that my phone line connects to - and the OpenReach guy even mentioned roughly where it was
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2013, 15:03
kev
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: South Notts (Waltham TV TX)
Posts: 19,177
2) Underground (smaller) cable from cabinet to telephone poles on the street.

3) Overhead wire from pole to your house.
Round here all the cabling appears to be above ground - certainly no BT Manhole covers on the streets, the green cabs are right next to telegraph poles which have some thick cables running up them and the from pole to pole - you can trace the cable from my house to the local fibre enabled cabinet (including where the old rediffusion cables are now sagging and resting on the BT stuff), and from the cabs to where they go underground at the end of the estate.

Mind you we are in a flood plain and I have seen water bubbling up from the Diamond Cable manholes before so perhaps that's the reason (then again considering the state of their cabs I'm surprised it still appears to work - many of them have the side doors open most of the time, a few have bricks leaning against them to keep them shut )
kev is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:36.