Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Far Cry 3 and Sleeping Dogs won't and has never worked for me


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 26-04-2013, 21:19
fmradiotuner1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: TheEssexSunshineCoast Clacton
Posts: 12,765

Hi
I Built a new PC but these two games have never worked for me.
I keep getting this when ever I start them.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KSi88KNxdj4

Have tried updating my drivers and direct X uninstalled them and redownloaded but still no good.

Does anyone know what might be wrong please?
Been trying to get these to work for hours.
It sucks as I have paid for these yet I find the pirate copies work far better
fmradiotuner1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 27-04-2013, 10:57
the gold room
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: overlook
Posts: 755
this is why I wouldn't buy games from Steam because you get no comeback if the game doesn't work.

have you tried this http://forums.sleepingdogs.net/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=3904
the gold room is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2013, 23:32
DarkestHour
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: High Wycombe, UK
Posts: 1,355
this is why I wouldn't buy games from Steam because you get no comeback if the game doesn't work.

have you tried this http://forums.sleepingdogs.net/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=3904
Games simply don't "not work" on PC. There is always a reason, and it can be fixed.

OP - is that your video? (i.e. are you using an HD 7870)

Do you have any overlays or injectors running or installed - something like FRAPS, SweetFX, MSI Afterburner, Precision X etc.?

Although you've said you've reinstalled them, try verifying the files in your Steam library by right-clicking > Properties > Verify integrity of game cache.
DarkestHour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2013, 10:36
fmradiotuner1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: TheEssexSunshineCoast Clacton
Posts: 12,765
Yes I have done this but 3 weeks later still no good.
I don't have that stuff running.
I have been playing Cities XL 2012 fine.
fmradiotuner1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2013, 14:35
alan1302
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Yorks
Posts: 5,654
Yes I have done this but 3 weeks later still no good.
I don't have that stuff running.
I have been playing Cities XL 2012 fine.
Have you contacted Steam for support or asked on the forums there?
alan1302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2013, 15:13
fmradiotuner1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: TheEssexSunshineCoast Clacton
Posts: 12,765
Sent a message but no reply yet might have to post this there maybe.
fmradiotuner1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2013, 16:17
alan1302
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Yorks
Posts: 5,654
Sent a message but no reply yet might have to post this there maybe.
Probably better off posting on there as someone may have had the same problem and know how to sort it out.

Hope you do as both are very good games.
alan1302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2013, 00:06
Jimmy_McNulty
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Baltimore, M.D
Posts: 10,193
http://forums.steampowered.com/forum...splay.php?f=17 (you have to sign up to the forum, the validation takes awhile)

http://steamcommunity.com/discussions/forum/1/ (you can post straight away in client)
Jimmy_McNulty is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2013, 08:30
Daedroth
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2,951
this is why I wouldn't buy games from Steam because you get no comeback if the game doesn't work.

have you tried this http://forums.sleepingdogs.net/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=3904
It doesn't matter if you buy the game through Steam, Amazon, Play, HMV, Game, etc...if the game doesn't work due to your hardware you aren't going to get a refund, especially if you've used the serial number.
Daedroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 17:25
fmradiotuner1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: TheEssexSunshineCoast Clacton
Posts: 12,765
Still not got games going but found out how to get into the event viewer
This comes up will try have a look on google see if I can make out what this means.

1201 - Time : 03/05/2013 00:06:07
1202 - Source : Application Error
1203 - Description : Faulting application name: farcry3_d3d11.exe, version: 0.1.0.1, time stamp: 0x51226a2f
Faulting module name: D3DCOMPILER_43.dll, version: 9.29.952.3111, time stamp: 0x4bf73239
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x00078c02
Faulting process id: 0x13708
Faulting application start time: 0x01ce474ef26ba8d0
Faulting application path: D:\Software\farcry3\bin\farcry3_d3d11.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Windows\system32\D3DCOMPILER_43.dll
Report Id: 3266a8ce-b342-11e2-b6cb-902b34d7532b

1201 - Time : 03/05/2013 00:05:28
1202 - Source : Application Error
1203 - Description : Faulting application name: HKShip.exe, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x511151c4
Faulting module name: D3DCOMPILER_43.dll, version: 9.29.952.3111, time stamp: 0x4bf73239
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x00078c02
Faulting process id: 0x12a00
Faulting application start time: 0x01ce474ed712addd
Faulting application path: D:\Software\stem\steamapps\common\SleepingDogs\HKShip.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Windows\system32\D3DCOMPILER_43.dll
Report Id: 1ab3e029-b342-11e2-b6cb-902b34d7532b
fmradiotuner1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 17:40
fmradiotuner1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: TheEssexSunshineCoast Clacton
Posts: 12,765
Tried again reinstalling my Direct X but still no luck.
fmradiotuner1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 17:58
fmradiotuner1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: TheEssexSunshineCoast Clacton
Posts: 12,765
Found out what my problem is now downloaded this and has fixed it

http://www.dll-files.com/dllindex/dl...d3dcompiler_43
fmradiotuner1 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:46.