Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy

DS Forums

Why does downloading a game take so long? PS3

Old 27-04-2013, 12:06
ChateauMarmont
Forum Member

I'm a novice when it comes to gaming, I prefer my iPad and IPhone for games. However I won a PS3 at work and got rather nostalgic and tried to download GTA 3 to it. However it's a 4gig download, doing this on my home wifi on my phone would take a matter of minutes but on the PS3 it's saying over three hours!

Any reasons as to why?
ChateauMarmont is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 27-04-2013, 12:18
XxBlaKOuTZxX
Forum Member

I read that no matter how fast ur BB speed is, you won't get any faster than 5mb over wireless. Not sure how accurate that is though. Lots of others have asked the same question about why downloading from Psn is so slow.
XxBlaKOuTZxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2013, 12:30
stevencraig07
Forum Member

I'm a novice when it comes to gaming, I prefer my iPad and IPhone for games. However I won a PS3 at work and got rather nostalgic and tried to download GTA 3 to it. However it's a 4gig download, doing this on my home wifi on my phone would take a matter of minutes but on the PS3 it's saying over three hours!

Any reasons as to why?
if the router is N rated ps3 buy n ps3 only uses a G to test this if you have a good 15mb or something

Turn on ps3 download BBC I PLAYER over wifi then play a program (if you connection can handle a HD stream play anything for a few seconds (if it stops and starts turn ps3 off connect a ethernet cable the rewatch the same program from the start i guarantee it will be a lot faster.

in a word wifi on ps3 suffers from a lot of interference they all do but ps3 wifi is far worse
use ethernet method in this video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p_6T2oY3zhE (always use auto settings)

look for "ethernet cable" if you dont have one make sure is long enough to go ps3 from your routher