Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Is libreoffice 100% compatible with MS Office


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 28-04-2013, 20:56
DeelyBopper
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,280

I'm refurbing one or two cheap units for some friends and if it were me I'd stick Linux on 'em since they are free.

Friends need MS Office for work and are really resistant to change.

I only have rudimentary experience of Libre (I type the odd letter etc), how good are these free suites now and how compatible are they with Libre.

One deal breaker is if they can't load existing Office documents into Libre with all the correct formatting etc. It must look and behave exactly as the original document when it was created.
DeelyBopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 28-04-2013, 20:58
alan1302
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Yorks
Posts: 5,509
It won't be 100% but would be pretty close.

Surely if it's for work it's better to stick with MS Office?
alan1302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2013, 21:17
DeelyBopper
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,280
It won't be 100% but would be pretty close.

Surely if it's for work it's better to stick with MS Office?
Well that's what they tell me. Its not the main work unit. They will be home units that have a requirement to do work at home. So inter-changeability is required with documents.

How close is pretty close though, that's the question.
DeelyBopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2013, 21:23
alan1302
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Yorks
Posts: 5,509
Well that's what they tell me. Its not the main work unit. They will be home units that have a requirement to do work at home. So inter-changeability is required with documents.

How close is pretty close though, that's the question.
That's kind of the impossible question to answer - it will depend a lot on exactly what they are doing but personally if it's for work it's not worth the hassle of using something that may or may not work.
alan1302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2013, 21:49
mounty
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: London
Posts: 8,856
I don't know much about Libre Office, but I have tried in the past to get non techies onto using Open Office and they didn't appreciate it one bit. Ended up buying a new version of MS Office.
mounty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2013, 22:02
barky99
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Scotland - near a whirly thing
Posts: 2,509
Well that's what they tell me. Its not the main work unit. They will be home units that have a requirement to do work at home. So inter-changeability is required with documents.

How close is pretty close though, that's the question.
it gets updates monthly so compatibility/stability improvements (among other tweaks) are coming all the time ... well coming until November 2014 anyway.
barky99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2013, 22:02
TheBigM
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: moon
Posts: 12,526
With the requirement for complex formatting to be exactly right, there's only one option and that's MS Office.

Unless it is very light editing in which case they can use the Office Web Apps for free which do preserve formatting.
TheBigM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2013, 22:06
whoever,hey
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29,233
I don't know much about Libre Office, but I have tried in the past to get non techies onto using Open Office and they didn't appreciate it one bit. Ended up buying a new version of MS Office.
My mother inlaw loved it because it looked just like she used to use at work when MS office was "pre-ribbon".
whoever,hey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2013, 22:09
mred2000
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6,354
If the software is for work use then they can put a copy of Office on there from work, this is allowed in the EULA. It doesn't matter that they're home computer units. Obviously, they're not then supposed to use the software for home use but no-one will come around to check. Heck, they could even have Libre Office on there as well, purely for home use. I'm on my mobile or I'd go into more detail. Your friends just have to get copies and serial numbers from their workplace.
mred2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2013, 22:42
Loobster
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 11,275
One deal breaker is if they can't load existing Office documents into Libre with all the correct formatting etc. It must look and behave exactly as the original document when it was created.
It depends how complex the documents are as regards formatting etc. If there are excel spreadsheets with a bunch of forumals the chances go up that there will be quirks (or it just be broken). Same with word formatting with customised tables etc.
Loobster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2013, 22:55
DeelyBopper
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,280
If the software is for work use then they can put a copy of Office on there from work, this is allowed in the EULA. It doesn't matter that they're home computer units. Obviously, they're not then supposed to use the software for home use but no-one will come around to check. Heck, they could even have Libre Office on there as well, purely for home use. I'm on my mobile or I'd go into more detail. Your friends just have to get copies and serial numbers from their workplace.
The only issue is I would need to fork out for Windows OS licences.

The items I am working on are, 1 old laptop which has no recovery partition (since the previous owner already wiped the drive), no recovery discs. The other unit is a desktop but has no HD in it, I am supplying one of my old ones.
DeelyBopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2013, 23:10
s2k
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4,789
The only issue is I would need to fork out for Windows OS licences.

The items I am working on are, 1 old laptop which has no recovery partition (since the previous owner already wiped the drive), no recovery discs. The other unit is a desktop but has no HD in it, I am supplying one of my old ones.
Do they not have CoA stickers for a suitable OS on them? If you can source the correct media you can use the existing key to avoid having to buy additional OS licences. Bear in mind you need Pro/Business versions to join a domain.

Originally Posted by mred2000
If the software is for work use then they can put a copy of Office on there from work, this is allowed in the EULA
This is a very broad-brush statement and depends entirely on the licence agreement the company has.
s2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2013, 23:33
Helmut10
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 337
Libre Office/Open Office is not 100% compatible. Whether it's 85% or 90% is irrelevent. Neither are they similar in use to recent versions of MS software.

It's compatible enough for a casual Home User, but not for the work scenario.

In the work scenario where they use MS Office, then that's what should be installed and used. That's as near 100% compatible as you can get.

I have MS Office installed here on the Home PC for the very reason you are asking. MS Office is used for work related stuff.
I have Open Office installed as well but it is used for personal trivial uncritical stuff.
Helmut10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2013, 23:51
DeelyBopper
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,280
Do they not have CoA stickers for a suitable OS on them? If you can source the correct media you can use the existing key to avoid having to buy additional OS licences. Bear in mind you need Pro/Business versions to join a domain.

This is a very broad-brush statement and depends entirely on the licence agreement the company has.
One has xp pro coa but I don't have or know anyone that I can borrow discs from.

There is no coa with the Desktop.

Didn't realise they were that much incompatible. Looks like they need to stick with MS Office then.
DeelyBopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2013, 00:03
mred2000
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6,354
This is a very broad-brush statement and depends entirely on the licence agreement the company has.
True. How many different EULAs for Office are there? I've experienced two different ones regarding Office and they both allowed installation on a single home computer for work use.
mred2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2013, 08:10
Esot-eric
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 887
Even MS Office isn't 100% compatible with MS Office, especially between versions.

Most times MS Office will be more compatible, but sometimes OpenOffice.org/LibreOffice will open files that MS Office can't.
Esot-eric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2013, 17:41
s2k
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4,789
True. How many different EULAs for Office are there? I've experienced two different ones regarding Office and they both allowed installation on a single home computer for work use.
Well the ones you are referring to would be retail editions. If you start looking at volume licensing I'd imagine we are talking tens, possibly even hundreds of different options. Put it this way, many organizations pay 3rd parties to go away and find the best agreements for them since they simply don't have the time or expertise to do it themselves.

Originally Posted by DeelyBopper
One has xp pro coa but I don't have or know anyone that I can borrow discs from.

There is no coa with the Desktop.
Unless the place you are building for has some kind of volume licencing agreement (which I doubt they would since it would also mean they would be likely to have in-house IT) then as a minimum you are going to need an OS for the desktop.

You could download XP Pro OEM CD but the issue is finding a copy that hasn't been tampered with. Since there is less than a year of support left I'd say it would be better to just go down the Win7 Pro route on both.
s2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2013, 17:47
mred2000
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6,354
Well the ones you are referring to would be retail editions.
One was definitely retail. The other... not sure what it would be called. Basically I briefly worked for a reseller and support company and they had a master disc of everything MS related. We could have a copy of whatever we needed on our work machines as well as a copy on our home machines for work use.
mred2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2013, 17:57
DeelyBopper
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,280
I wish I had bought more copies when Win 7 were going for 50 notes. I foolishly only bought one licence. Even if I didn't need I'd have been able to sell at a profit.
DeelyBopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2013, 19:39
barky99
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Scotland - near a whirly thing
Posts: 2,509
I've found documents created in ms office 2010 that often didn't work perfectly in openoffice of a year or 2 back now display flawlessly in current libreoffice .... perhaps there is some luck in that but seems places where ms office is still a 'must' are getting fewer .... save in doc/xls & ODF and files should display OK these days in either ... still a few wee niggles with docx/xlsx, yes, hear of problems with old versions of office struggling with them.
have to admit, one of biggest plus marks for libreoffice for me is the classic non-ribbon interface & now that it copes better with even docx/xlsx I see no reason to downgrade to a newer version of office .... there are whole government depts in some countries using openoffice/libreoffice & unless you use plugins from other programs that demand ms office I think many private businesses could do likewise ... can depend how big they are, how paranoid they are ...
barky99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2013, 21:27
neo_wales
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South Wales/Gran Canaria
Posts: 7,229
Its not 100% compatible and if your using it for work then best stick with Office.
neo_wales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2013, 21:55
1saintly
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,095
This..
Its not 100% compatible and if your using it for work then best stick with Office.
I Have been doing some CVs for somebody, set and layed them out, filled it in, using LibreOffce, thought great job well done

But had a thought, best double check it, so sent it to e.mail and opened it using several versions of Microsoft Office.
Tried all the comp settings etc, but no matter what i did, when Microsoft opened a LibreOffice Doc, it was all over the place.

That wouldnt have impressed a HR Dept trying to read the CV
So re did it using Mcrosoft Office.

PS Nothing to do with Office. But they got the job
1saintly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 09:15
karma mechanic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 254
For a CV I'd be sending it as a PDF. In LibreOffice just press 'export to PDF' and then you know that what the recipient sees is exactly what you see when you view or print it.

Yes, Microsoft Office is poor at showing some docs, although that may be because LibreOffice supports ODF 1.2, while Office is lagging behind on 1.1.
karma mechanic is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 10:54
scooby1970
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Neath
Posts: 2,280
We use it in our workplace, and share documents around the World with users of MS Office and never had any problems. As someone said, even MS Office is 100% compatible with itself on different versions, that's why we decided when opening a new office to stick exclusivley to Libre Office.

It's a great package, and has not let our office down yet when opening Word or Excel files. I'd highly recommend it, it's a brilliant piece of free software.

Mark
scooby1970 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 11:02
Magic Cottage
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,425
Stick with Office. I was curious about Libre and therefore recently downloaded just to see what the fuss was about. First thing I tried was my own CV [backups made first!!!]. What a mess. Uninstalled!
Magic Cottage is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:42.