Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Tor Browser Questions


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 29-04-2013, 02:55
FIFA1966
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 546

1. Is using Tor Browser illegal?

2. How can I change the system that Tor uses from Firefox to Chrome?
FIFA1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 29-04-2013, 08:11
Maxatoria
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5,228
The use of tor is perfectly legal

you just need to change the proxy settings in chrome to use the tor proxy which is setup as part of tor running on your pc - but it looks quite simple http://lifehacker.com/5614732/create...ymous-browsing
Maxatoria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2013, 08:21
Daedroth
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2,952
Tor, like bittorrent is legal to use, it's just often used for illegal purposes. From what I remember, there are some Tor connections that monitor/sniff for usernames and passwords, so just be careful.
Daedroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 03:34
FIFA1966
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 546
The use of tor is perfectly legal

you just need to change the proxy settings in chrome to use the tor proxy which is setup as part of tor running on your pc - but it looks quite simple http://lifehacker.com/5614732/create...ymous-browsing


Ok, I have done everything that it says in the link, but I can't get it to work with Chrome.
FIFA1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2014, 12:46
radcliffe95
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3,672
Does anyone know how Sky is managing to block sites even when I'm using TOR pirate browser?
radcliffe95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2014, 13:14
s2k
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4,955
Does anyone know how Sky is managing to block sites even when I'm using TOR pirate browser?
Either you don't have it setup correctly or you are hitting an exit-node that is a Sky BB customer.
s2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2014, 13:19
flagpole
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 43,524
Ok, I have done everything that it says in the link, but I can't get it to work with Chrome.
Have you installed tor or the tor bundle?
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2014, 13:19
flagpole
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 43,524
Either you don't have it setup correctly or you are hitting an exit-node that is a Sky BB customer.
the former being more likely that the latter, by some margin.
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2014, 14:17
radcliffe95
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3,672
Either you don't have it setup correctly or you are hitting an exit-node that is a Sky BB customer.
I just run the executable and browse using the Firefox browser that starts up. Do I need to do something else?
It was working fine up until last week, and it's only certain sites that get blocked. Pirate bay works ok but 1337x gets blocked.
radcliffe95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 11:19
s2k
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4,955
I just run the executable and browse using the Firefox browser that starts up. Do I need to do something else?
It was working fine up until last week, and it's only certain sites that get blocked. Pirate bay works ok but 1337x gets blocked.
You shouldn't need to change anything to simply connect, but if you have added any additional extensions or amended anything related to the connection settings it could be bypassing the tor proxy. When the browser first opens you should hit a landing page that will tell you if you are connected to the tor network or not. Also are you certain that these are Sky block pages you are getting?

If its just for torrents you are probably better off using one of the mirror sites.
s2k is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:59.