Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

SD Dummy Card Issue


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 29-04-2013, 11:21
-Batman-
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4,448

everytime I switch my laptop on I get a message up saying you need to format the disk in drive f: before you can use it.
now this is just a plastic dummy sd card.

anyone got any ideas
-Batman- is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 29-04-2013, 11:24
DeelyBopper
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,292
Ask Robin? Sorry couldn't resist.
DeelyBopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2013, 12:35
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 22,353
everytime I switch my laptop on I get a message up saying you need to format the disk in drive f: before you can use it.
now this is just a plastic dummy sd card.

anyone got any ideas
Take it out?

Not entirely sure why you would want a dummy card in the slot but it could just be triggering some detection device and making the laptop think there is a real card inserted.
chrisjr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2013, 12:53
alan1302
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Yorks
Posts: 5,791
Ask Robin? Sorry couldn't resist.
IMHO Alfred would be the one to ask.

I'd recommend taking it out though.
alan1302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2013, 10:09
-Batman-
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4,448
cheers for the help would rather keep the dummy card in to keep dust out, for the amount of times I have used it have disabled it
-Batman- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2013, 10:31
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 22,353
cheers for the help would rather keep the dummy card in to keep dust out, for the amount of times I have used it have disabled it
I would seriously doubt you would encounter enough dust in a normal domestic situation to cause any harm.

If you live next door to a concrete crushing plant then that would be a different matter.
chrisjr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2013, 11:11
fletchem
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,166
Buy an SD card to fit the slot - they're not at all expensive and then use it either as a RAM booster, or as a back up.
fletchem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2013, 16:03
Smiley433
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Location: Location
Posts: 3,646
"A RAM booster"?

I don't think an SD card is going to be fast enough to warrant being used as a "RAM booster". And how would it be configured anyway?
Smiley433 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2013, 16:28
Roland Mouse
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 9,323
Take it out and stick a bit of gaffer tape over the slot!

Alternatively, find out where the card inserting switch is and file that bit off the dummy card so that is doesn't activate it.
Roland Mouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2013, 20:12
alan1302
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Yorks
Posts: 5,791
"A RAM booster"?

I don't think an SD card is going to be fast enough to warrant being used as a "RAM booster". And how would it be configured anyway?
Are USB sticks quicker than an SD card then?
alan1302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2013, 22:14
Smiley433
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Location: Location
Posts: 3,646
Not sure what you are asking. There was no mention of USB up until now.
Smiley433 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2013, 22:16
alan1302
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Yorks
Posts: 5,791
Not sure what you are asking. There was no mention of USB up until now.
You said you can't use an SD card as a RAM booster but you are able to use USB sticks so was asking is a USB stick was quicker than an SD card.
alan1302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2013, 23:29
Smiley433
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Location: Location
Posts: 3,646
You said you can't use an SD card as a RAM booster but you are able to use USB sticks so was asking is a USB stick was quicker than an SD card.
I didn't mention USB devices in my post so don't know where you're picking that up from.

My interpretation of "RAM booster" was using the SD card to increase the amount of memory available for running applications which I don't think is practical as the access would be way too slow for the CPU. Perhaps that's not what the poster meant.

Using an SD card or USB flash drive to increase storage space, yes that's fine.

Happy for anyone else to correct me, but I guess USB and SD access speeds could be about the same give or take 10Mb/sec. Of course it may depend on how the SD card is connected - is it through a dedicated card slot, or through a USB connected card reader in which case they are more likely to be very similar.
Smiley433 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 07:56
fletchem
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,166
When I stick an SD card in my laptop, one of the auto run options is to use it as a supplemental memory device under the guise of 'readyboost'. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ReadyBoost
Perhaps RAM boost was the wrong phrase to use.
fletchem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 08:51
Smiley433
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Location: Location
Posts: 3,646
Thanks for that link. As an XP user I wasn't aware of such functionality and thought these flash memory devices would be far too slow to offer a performance increase. But looks like I'm wrong.
Smiley433 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 09:00
roddydogs
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,177
You shouldnt leave a SD card, dummy or not in a comp, could cause startup problems.
roddydogs is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:15.