Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

EE is down this morning


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 29-04-2013, 12:13
paulker
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 808

No data and sporadic phone signal. Seemingly getting attended to at the highest priority. Here's me thinking my local mast was getting the 4g treatment. Oh well.
paulker is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 29-04-2013, 12:20
Synthetic42
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 152
I was wondering what was going on, had me rebooting and all sorts
Synthetic42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2013, 12:36
beecart
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 368
widespread apparently... down in leeds
beecart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2013, 13:26
plymouthbloke1974
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SW England
Posts: 5,008
Should be working again now.
plymouthbloke1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2013, 13:32
enapace
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,138
Interesting this happened on just EE surprised it didn't effect Three as well as they use basically the same infrastructure specially for 3G.
enapace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2013, 13:46
interactiv-uk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 351
Interesting this happened on just EE surprised it didn't effect Three as well as they use basically the same infrastructure specially for 3G.
Not if it was a core network issue - these are completely separate.
interactiv-uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2013, 13:51
enapace
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,138
Not if it was a core network issue - these are completely separate.
True that is a good point.
enapace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2013, 14:14
Synthetic42
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 152
It didnt seem to effect Orange or T-Mob either
Synthetic42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2013, 14:19
KesterK
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Posts: 2,463
The annoying thing is, they have a status page on the website but didn't update it! What's the point in having a status page if they just leave it saying there is a good service. Also they could have posted something on twitter, but the reps who post on twitter didn't seem to be aware there was a problem, just the usual "DM your post code" or "check the status page".
KesterK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2013, 14:30
beecart
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 368
The annoying thing is, they have a status page on the website but didn't update it! What's the point in having a status page if they just leave it saying there is a good service. Also they could have posted something on twitter, but the reps who post on twitter didn't seem to be aware there was a problem, just the usual "DM your post code" or "check the status page".
I know! at least o2 do update theres!!!
beecart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2013, 14:51
enapace
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,138
I know! at least o2 do update theres!!!
Don't try and turn this into an O2 topic everyone agrees O2 has good customer service just an rubbish network for everything else.
enapace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2013, 15:22
uno
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Leicestershire
Posts: 205
EE are very poor at communicating when they have network problems as the same issues happened a couple of months ago and the network status page didnt get updated and the social media team were not made aware of problems. After the event there was some good posts on the EE community forum where the costs agreed a proper service status page like O2 or Vodafone would be good to see when nationwide issues and can also highlight when work is being on masts in your area by postcode. This would have large benefit to the business as would cut down on CS calls for them and also customers can see exactly when outages as planned.
uno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2013, 19:16
The Lord Lucan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3,951
I know! at least o2 do update theres!!!
Took them (o2) 2 hours to update their website/status page when they had the last two big outages! Status pages are only good if the details filter through quick enough. Pointless otherwise, unless your network is down for several hours.


EE could do better though, especially for the planned upgrades etc.
The Lord Lucan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2013, 19:25
Thine Wonk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10,679
Interesting this happened on just EE surprised it didn't effect Three as well as they use basically the same infrastructure specially for 3G.
Three and EE have a RAN share, which is the Radio Access Network. That has lots of fault tolerance built in like 16 distributed aggregation points etc.

The back end network, HLR, MSC / NSS, any proxies, filtering, gateway and all the rest is separate.
Thine Wonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2013, 19:29
enapace
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,138
Took them (o2) 2 hours to update their website/status page when they had the last two big outages! Status pages are only good if the details filter through quick enough. Pointless otherwise, unless your network is down for several hours.


EE could do better though, especially for the planned upgrades etc.
Same for Three could be better saying which areas are getting upgraded when. Hopefully when they release 4G they get a better coverage checker program I find the colour difference hard to tell.
enapace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2013, 19:38
The Lord Lucan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3,951
Three and EE have a RAN share, which is the Radio Access Network. That has lots of fault tolerance built in like 16 distributed aggregation points etc.

The back end network, HLR, MSC / NSS, any proxies, filtering, gateway and all the rest is separate.
Agreed, very unlikely to see anything wipe out Three & EE at the same time especially countywide or nationwide. One or two masts yes (local power issue, mast downed by car crash, or digging up the backhaul) but thats about it.

Good to see you know your stuff
The Lord Lucan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2013, 22:53
moox
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 7,328
Didn't notice anything on T-Mobile in the SW.
moox is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2013, 22:55
KesterK
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Posts: 2,463
The EE twitter feed people seem to be acknowledging there was a problem earlier when people are querying it, but no word on what caused the problem.
KesterK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2013, 12:12
KesterK
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Posts: 2,463
Is data down for anyone else again? Started having the same issues over the past hour as we had the other week.
KesterK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2013, 12:13
The Lord Lucan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3,951
Nope.. 2G, 3G, 4G Fine here.
The Lord Lucan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2013, 12:22
Synthetic42
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 152
Yeah i'm having again too
Synthetic42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2013, 12:23
big brother 9
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 12,400
thats why mine is down, is it affecting orange customers aswell
big brother 9 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2013, 12:35
paulker
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 808
Data is daaaaawn
paulker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2013, 12:45
KesterK
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Posts: 2,463
And once again, they haven't bothered to change the status page.

Edit: Just looked on twitter, loads of complaints about signal issues.
KesterK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2013, 13:09
sabreuk1975
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 294
Data is down in Harrogate and York...
sabreuk1975 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:17.