Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Windows not loading ?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-05-2013, 07:48
Bassthound
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Blackpool
Posts: 565

Ok , I had about 45 Gb of captured video I needed to move from the old PC that had a firewire card in to the new one.

Old PC is on the network via homeplug so for speed I took the drive out of the old PC and put it in a USB caddy attached to the new one. Worked fine , copied files in a few minutes.

Put the drive back in the old PC and it won't boot. Went into the bios to turn on POST messages and it looks likes it's clean. Memory fine , recognises drives. etc..

But windows won't load at all. I'm having a brain blank but has anyone got any ideas ?
Bassthound is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 01-05-2013, 11:54
alan1302
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Yorks
Posts: 5,504
You didn't choose cut instead of copy and have moved everything off the drive onto your backup so your old drive has been wiped off?
alan1302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 15:14
max99
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,610
Describe exactly what appears on screen after the POST. Windows logo? Black screen with flashing cursor? Nothing at all?

What version of Windows and do you have a Windows disk?

If you connect the drive via USB to the new computer again, does it look like Windows and any obvious folders and boot files are present?
max99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 19:02
Bassthound
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Blackpool
Posts: 565
No way have I moved everything off... Target folder has 3 files in.

After post there is a blinking cursor for a few seconds then just a black screen. Sounds like drive still spinning.
Bassthound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 19:03
Bassthound
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Blackpool
Posts: 565
Oh..and it's windows 7 pro.
Bassthound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 19:50
alan1302
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Yorks
Posts: 5,504
Are all files on there if you put it back in the caddy?
alan1302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 22:37
max99
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,610
Ensure the hard drive is connected to the original SATA port.

Try running the Windows Start-up Repair or use System Restore to rollback to an earlier date:

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-GB/w...startup-repair

You can also try selecting the Command Prompt option and running the command chkdsk /r. This will take a good hour or so to complete.

If you can't access the above System Recovery menu, you might be able to boot from a Windows 7 disk and run it from there instead.

And if you have any data on the drive which isn't backed up, do so before attempting any of the repairs. Last resort is to restore everything back to factory settings or reinstall Windows.
max99 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 16:34.