Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Looking For Region Free DVD Player


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-05-2013, 08:30
Fieldmouse83
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Wales
Posts: 478

I have imported a lot of NFL DVDs from USA and am looking for a region free DVD player so that I can actually watch them on my tv!
I have two DVD Players and have searched for codes online to make them region free to no avail. Are there any players on the UK market that have region free free built-in or at least have existent codes online to unlock them?
Fieldmouse83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 03-05-2013, 08:35
Fieldmouse83
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Wales
Posts: 478
PS ideally I want the player to be a blue ray player as well - It doesnt need to unlock the region code for blue rays just DVDs thanks.
Fieldmouse83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 11:17
Fieldmouse83
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Wales
Posts: 478
Thanks checking those out now.
Fieldmouse83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 12:03
evil c
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wirral Peninsula
Posts: 3,124
Here's a few more places to try to get your unlock codes.
Videohelp: http://www.videohelp.com/dvdhacks
DVDHacks: http://www.dvdhacks.co.uk/
DVD365: http://www.dvd365.net/handset.php
All these links have up-to-date databases on DVD players codes. Also AVForums. The link goes to a on-running forum thread on DVD/Blu-ray player multiregion hacks. If you can't find your players hacks, post a thread asking for the codes: http://www.avforums.com/forums/blu-r...iregion-hacks/

Try Amazon as well for players. Just search for region free Blu-ray players. There's loads.
evil c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 13:44
BKM
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5,487
I have imported a lot of NFL DVDs from USA and am looking for a region free DVD player so that I can actually watch them on my tv!
I have two DVD Players and have searched for codes online to make them region free to no avail. Are there any players on the UK market that have region free free built-in or at least have existent codes online to unlock them?
Most (all???) recent/current Sony DVD/Bluray players can be unlocked for region-free DVD (NOT Bluray) playback using one of two methods - both based on sending the player "service remote" codes (only needs done once!) which CANNOT be generated by the supplied user remote!

1) Costs money. Some firms hire out a "one shot" device which sends the correct "region free" codes - a deposit is also taken and returned when the device gets sent back.

2)FREE!!! Use a One4All programmable remote to generate the codes! I use this method and can find more details if required.
BKM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 21:23
Fieldmouse83
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Wales
Posts: 478
Thanks to all for replys. I am going for a Panasonic DMPBDT-120 MR and when it's arrived will try the hack I found one a link. Will report back on how things work out - if I remember
Fieldmouse83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 21:28
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 21,483
If you mean this

http://www.richersounds.com/product/...a-dmpbdt120-mr

then it's already hacked for DVD multi region (guess what the MR stands for ).
chrisjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 22:12
Rodney McKay
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,776
PS ideally I want the player to be a blue ray player as well - It doesnt need to unlock the region code for blue rays just DVDs thanks.
I bought a Philips one from Tesco and just got the unlock code off a website.

I can't remember the last player I had that I couldn't unlock.
Rodney McKay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 23:10
BKM
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5,487
I bought a Philips one from Tesco and just got the unlock code off a website.

I can't remember the last player I had that I couldn't unlock.
As I said above you won't have been able to unlock any Sony (also Panasonic etc.???) player without the appropriate hardware!

Generally the cheaper the player the easier they are to unlock!
BKM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 23:13
BKM
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5,487
If you mean this

http://www.richersounds.com/product/...a-dmpbdt120-mr

then it's already hacked for DVD multi region (guess what the MR stands for ).
Richer Sounds do sell some players which need special hardware to make region free with the apprioriate hack pre-applied (at slightly more cost AFAIR!)
BKM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 23:27
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 21,483
Richer Sounds do sell some players which need special hardware to make region free with the apprioriate hack pre-applied (at slightly more cost AFAIR!)
The "normal" version is ten quid cheaper

http://www.richersounds.com/product/...pana-dmpbdt120
chrisjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 23:42
BKM
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5,487
That sounds about right! I remember NOT paying extra for a Sony from them as I already had a One4All remote and could do it myself!
The firms which hire out region-free devices charge about 20 so it's cheaper to buy from RS!
BKM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 00:01
Fieldmouse83
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Wales
Posts: 478
If you mean this

http://www.richersounds.com/product/...a-dmpbdt120-mr

then it's already hacked for DVD multi region (guess what the MR stands for ).
Sorry my mistake the model I ordered is without MR in the name so I guess i will need to use a hack. Do the region hack codes always require you to use a separate controller like one4all/universal or can't they be done with just the remote supplied with the machine itself?
Fieldmouse83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 08:16
BKM
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5,487
Sorry my mistake the model I ordered is without MR in the name so I guess i will need to use a hack. Do the region hack codes always require you to use a separate controller like one4all/universal or can't they be done with just the remote supplied with the machine itself?
How to get multi region varies by manufacturer! For Sony it is using remote codes which the user remote cannot generate!

A quick Google suggests that this Panasonic needs hacked firmware to be installed instead!

See http://www.firmwareinfo.com/viewtopic.php?f=66&t=274

It would seem so much easier to buy MR from Richer Sounds!
BKM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 10:11
Fieldmouse83
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Wales
Posts: 478
I can't buy from Richer Sounds cos the nearest store is other side of the country. They don't appear to have an option to buy direct from them on the website.
Fieldmouse83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 11:12
Deacon1972
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 6,630
I can't buy from Richer Sounds cos the nearest store is other side of the country. They don't appear to have an option to buy direct from them on the website.
Give them a ring, I've ordered quite a bit off them and had it delivered even though there was no dedicated buy button or the item was an in store only offer.
Deacon1972 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 12:22
mac2708
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,913
Have a look here http://www.electronicempire.co.uk/dv...blu-ray-player
although why it's so much cheaper instore I have no idea
mac2708 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 12:27
Fieldmouse83
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Wales
Posts: 478
I ordered one from Amazon marketplace for 55 plus 10 p+p
Fieldmouse83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 13:37
BKM
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5,487
I ordered one from Amazon marketplace for 55 plus 10 p+p
Looking at eBay this (and a few other) "service remote clones" DO claim to make your player region free for 11.99

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Panasonic-...item19c06e0f09
BKM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 15:08
Fieldmouse83
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Wales
Posts: 478
Looking at eBay this (and a few other) "service remote clones" DO claim to make your player region free for 11.99

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Panasonic-...item19c06e0f09
Got just that today. Now just a matter of using it when the player arrives. Ta again for the input.
Fieldmouse83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 13:42
Fieldmouse83
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Wales
Posts: 478
Got just that today. Now just a matter of using it when the player arrives. Ta again for the input.
Player arrived today so set it up try the hack remote from eBay and it worked and I am a happy man
Fieldmouse83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 01:41
bobcar
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 12,155
As I said above you won't have been able to unlock any Sony (also Panasonic etc.???) player without the appropriate hardware!

Generally the cheaper the player the easier they are to unlock!
Has that changed then? All I needed to unlock my Sony was an old Oneforall remote - it is a BDP-S350 so is old. (DVD part unlock only)
bobcar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 22:12
Corus
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 23
I have imported a lot of NFL DVDs from USA and am looking for a region free DVD player so that I can actually watch them on my tv!
I have two DVD Players and have searched for codes online to make them region free to no avail. Are there any players on the UK market that have region free free built-in or at least have existent codes online to unlock them?
If the DVDs are from the USA, you might have playback issues due to the PAL and NTSC differences.
Corus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 08:18
Fieldmouse83
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Wales
Posts: 478
If the DVDs are from the USA, you might have playback issues due to the PAL and NTSC differences.
Not so far but if any such probs come up I will report here thanks for info I had not considered that.
Fieldmouse83 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:56.