Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

YouTube problem.


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-05-2013, 16:04
Mythica
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,150

Sometimes when watching YouTube videos they go very weird. Sort of a slow mo sound for about 5/10 seconds and the video stops then the screen locks up. Takes about 30 seconds before the laptop to become responsive again.

Also I seem to be getting a lot of Flashplayer crashes. Anyone else had any of these problems? Well it says the Adobe flash plugin has crashed.

Another problem I seem to have is when trying to go to the Facebook homepage, I will click on it and it will try to load and then freeze for 10/20 seconds on a blank page before actually loading it up properly.

Don't know if they are all connected or not.
Mythica is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 05-05-2013, 17:17
Stig
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sandy Heath, Beds, UK
Posts: 6,848
What browser? Internet Explorer, Firefox, Chrome? Which version?
Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 21:09
Mythica
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,150
What browser? Internet Explorer, Firefox, Chrome? Which version?
Firefox and latest version, version 20 is it?
Mythica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 15:45
DVDfever
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 14,728
Sometimes when watching YouTube videos they go very weird. Sort of a slow mo sound for about 5/10 seconds and the video stops then the screen locks up. Takes about 30 seconds before the laptop to become responsive again.

Also I seem to be getting a lot of Flashplayer crashes. Anyone else had any of these problems? Well it says the Adobe flash plugin has crashed.

Another problem I seem to have is when trying to go to the Facebook homepage, I will click on it and it will try to load and then freeze for 10/20 seconds on a blank page before actually loading it up properly.

Don't know if they are all connected or not.
How many tabs on your browser have you got running? I've got loads so mine sometimes locks up.
DVDfever is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 15:55
REDBUS
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,990
click help infirefox tab the 'restart with add-on's disabled' to see if add-on's are causing problems
REDBUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 15:35
Mythica
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,150
How many tabs on your browser have you got running? I've got loads so mine sometimes locks up.
Sometimes it can be a couple, other times a lot. But I have a Sony Vaio i5, 6gb ram laptop, so I'm guessing that shouldn't be a problem?
Mythica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 15:35
Mythica
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,150
click help infirefox tab the 'restart with add-on's disabled' to see if add-on's are causing problems
Ok, I'll try that soon.
Mythica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 15:57
DVDfever
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 14,728
Sometimes it can be a couple, other times a lot. But I have a Sony Vaio i5, 6gb ram laptop, so I'm guessing that shouldn't be a problem?
It depends on the number of tabs open and whatever else is running. Tends to be whether the machine is slow in general.

I've got loads of things running, while having lots of tabs open on the browser, so it tends to happen frequently for me.
DVDfever is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 16:06
Mythica
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,150
It depends on the number of tabs open and whatever else is running. Tends to be whether the machine is slow in general.

I've got loads of things running, while having lots of tabs open on the browser, so it tends to happen frequently for me.
I've got 7 tabs open at the moment and the laptop is running fine apart from the Adobe flash plugin has crashed, surely on a i5, 6gb ram laptop, that isn't causing the problems?

And just to add, that is also a common problem, the Adobe flash plugin always seems to be crashing daily, so could this be the thing causing my problems and if I disable this, what would stop working?
Mythica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 16:31
DVDfever
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 14,728
I've got 7 tabs open at the moment and the laptop is running fine apart from the Adobe flash plugin has crashed, surely on a i5, 6gb ram laptop, that isn't causing the problems?

And just to add, that is also a common problem, the Adobe flash plugin always seems to be crashing daily, so could this be the thing causing my problems and if I disable this, what would stop working?
If there's nothing else running, then it could be the Adobe flash as that's what Youtube runs with. Have you tried updating Flash?

That said, I did - to the latest version - and Facebook won't let me use anything other than the basic uploaded to upload photos because "You do not have the latest Flash installed" GRRR!
DVDfever is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 16:39
Mythica
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,150
If there's nothing else running, then it could be the Adobe flash as that's what Youtube runs with. Have you tried updating Flash?

That said, I did - to the latest version - and Facebook won't let me use anything other than the basic uploaded to upload photos because "You do not have the latest Flash installed" GRRR!
Yes it is updated, but if I disable the plugin, then I can't get any videos to work which is then a bit pointless really.
Mythica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 18:32
DVDfever
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 14,728
Yes it is updated, but if I disable the plugin, then I can't get any videos to work which is then a bit pointless really.
Well, disabling it won't solve the problem, but I don't understand why it keeps crashing. If you can completely uninstall Flash before installing the latest version that's the only thing I can think of.
DVDfever is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 18:57
REDBUS
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,990
I know the frustration your feeling ,sooner flash is replaced the better ,only thing i know work's in this situation is disable hardware acceleration ,sorry for not mentioning this earlier ,also if you've updated flash and still get message to update you REALLY need to run uninstaller then reinstall ,you flash player exe files are corrupt ,uninstall and clear any file's for flash,run Ccleaner and instal ,disable hardware acceleration if still not working but that should work ,tbh really feel you add-on is causing problems so would get rid of that first ,can always re-instal if flash sorted ,what have you got to lose by trying it.
REDBUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 19:46
Mythica
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,150
I know the frustration your feeling ,sooner flash is replaced the better ,only thing i know work's in this situation is disable hardware acceleration ,sorry for not mentioning this earlier ,also if you've updated flash and still get message to update you REALLY need to run uninstaller then reinstall ,you flash player exe files are corrupt ,uninstall and clear any file's for flash,run Ccleaner and instal ,disable hardware acceleration if still not working but that should work ,tbh really feel you add-on is causing problems so would get rid of that first ,can always re-instal if flash sorted ,what have you got to lose by trying it.
Thing is, I've only just recently done a factory reset on this laptop (the problem was happening before and is still happening now) so is really uninstalling it and reinstalling it going to help seeing as I've started a fresh anyway?

I don't get the last bit, don't I need the add-on to make videos work on the sites I visit? As soon as I disable it I couldn't watch a video on Facebook.
Mythica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 23:17
REDBUS
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,990
Thing is, I've only just recently done a factory reset on this laptop (the problem was happening before and is still happening now) so is really uninstalling it and reinstalling it going to help seeing as I've started a fresh anyway?

I don't get the last bit, don't I need the add-on to make videos work on the sites I visit? As soon as I disable it I couldn't watch a video on Facebook.

sorry got mixed up with another thread ,though you had another add-on running ,does disabling hardware acceleration have no impact, has worked for me and loads others when flash has been playing up ,only other thing i'd suggest would be instal earlier version of flash or checking you have right version of driver for you graphics card ,if no update available try rolling it back to previous version ,can't think of what else could be causing this especially before/after reformat ,good luck anyway
REDBUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 15:40
Mythica
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,150
sorry got mixed up with another thread ,though you had another add-on running ,does disabling hardware acceleration have no impact, has worked for me and loads others when flash has been playing up ,only other thing i'd suggest would be instal earlier version of flash or checking you have right version of driver for you graphics card ,if no update available try rolling it back to previous version ,can't think of what else could be causing this especially before/after reformat ,good luck anyway
Nope, it's already disabled. Ok thanks for you help, will try them when I have a bit of time.
Mythica is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:28.