Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

EE iPhone Data Reception Issues Anyone..?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-05-2013, 18:39
Adamuk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 69

Hi all,

My T-Mobile iPhone has developed a really irritating problem. Sometimes when I lose signal completely, the phone will not pick up data again until I reboot it. Normally there is either a 3G or 2G (circle) indicator next to the reception bars, but sometimes this doesn't appear after I've lost reception. I can call and text, but the Internet is dead despite having 5 bars.

Does anybody else have this problem? A few of my friends seem to suffer the same, and we can't figure it out.

I have reset settings and called T-Mobile who have told me they've reprovisioned data on my account, but to no avail.

Any advice?

Thanks!
Adamuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 07-05-2013, 18:56
exterra
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 80
yep, have this all the time and am completely fed up having to re-boot my phone. I have had it (an iPhone 5) replaced 3 times by Apple, have paid EE for a new sim card but the problem persists so I'm inclined to think the issue is with EE.
exterra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 20:20
paulker
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 803
Definitely an ee issue. I've had the problem and so have a few others I know. I was getting it regularly but has now stopped. Lets see how long that lasts. Must be network upgrades causing issues.
paulker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 20:46
DevonBloke
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Totnes, Devon
Posts: 2,636
I've had that a few times but not all the time.
Frankly, I'd be surprised if they didn't have issues while the upgrades are taking place. I can't believe that it actually continues to work as well as it does.
DevonBloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 21:09
Jwhiterz
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: South Wales (Brecon Beacons)
Posts: 461
I had that issue on tmobile.(EE) all be time. Switched to three. Same phone just new sim. And problems vanished. So problem is defiantly on ee's side
Jwhiterz is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 21:47
tdenson
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,017
I'm on ee and never had the problem
tdenson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 22:23
Adamuk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 69
Thanks for the replies, guys!

I am pleased that it's not just my phone/area. I wish EE would fix it, it's becoming more of a nuisance and occurring more often. When I called them they didn't seem aware that it was a problem

Do you think the problem will just resolve itself when the network upgrades in my area are completed?
Adamuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 22:54
exterra
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 80
not sure the network upgrades will fix it - I've had the problem for 7 months now and it's not confined to where I live - I've encountered the same problem in other parts of the country.
exterra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 23:03
The Lord Lucan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3,880
I've seen this and the no signal issue on more than just the EE network. Maybe contact Apple.
The Lord Lucan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2013, 21:42
ffcphone
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bolton, UK
Posts: 170
It's defo not an iPhone problem. I'm on EE and can access their LTE network when in a suitable area. But have noticed the following:-

When on a voice call, NO DATA SIGNAL is available on my iPhone 5. So using speakerphone and browsing the net to check something for the caller is NOT possible. Spoken to EE about this. Never had it with Vodafone, T-Mobile or O2! Apparently when on LTE data connection should fallback to 3G. It doesn't!

Also, as I travel around and connect to different cell sites and different networks (LTE, 3G, Edge, etc) I've noticed data signal can be strong yet nothing can be done. In other words its as if there no data signal at all and the iPhone is lying about the signal strength.

As a temporary remedy, can I recommend the following. Rather then rebooting iPhone simply go to settings - general - cellular - cellular data. Turn it off. WAIT 10 SECONDS. Then turn it back on again. Your iPhone should hunt around for a new data signal. Often it will pick one up with only 1 bar indicating the previously advised 3-5 bar strength indicator was perhaps false and the reason why you couldn't browse the net.

If that doesn't work try settings - airplane mode. WAIT 10 SECONDS. Then off again. This will reset both the voice and data signals.

In the meantime one other EE gripe is I never get a Visual Voicemail notification unless I turn my iPhone off and on again. Useless. 4 phone calls to EE and still no resolution in sight.
ffcphone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2013, 21:52
Adamuk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 69
Hi ffcphone,

Thanks for the reply. I have been checking with my friends and we all still having the same problem. At one point in the pub 4 of us had no data signal at the same time! It's getting ridiculous now.

I wil try the data fix the next time it happens. It seems to be doing it about 3-4 times a day at the moment, so I shouldn't have to wait too long before I give it a go.

EE seriously need to get this fixed as it's not doing their reputation any good..!

Here's a screenshot of my phone... There's rarely a 3G or a circle (2G) icon.

http://i39.tinypic.com/30mmkr8.jpg
Adamuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2013, 21:59
ffcphone
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bolton, UK
Posts: 170
Hi ffcphone,

Thanks for the reply. I have been checking with my friends and we all still having the same problem. At one point in the pub 4 of us had no data signal at the same time! It's getting ridiculous now.

I wil try the data fix the next time it happens. It seems to be doing it about 3-4 times a day at the moment, so I shouldn't have to wait too long before I give it a go.

EE seriously need to get this fixed as it's not doing their reputation any good..!
EE certainly having issues as T-Mobile, Orange and genuine EE. Very annoying. LTE quite impressive though
ffcphone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2013, 22:01
alanwarwic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Researchington
Posts: 24,638
It's defo not an iPhone problem.
Recent news had it that Apple now control the connection settings for each and every network.

Normally the network sends across a connection settings string. Seems it works the other way round with Apple. They request Apple to send the connection settings.
From what I know it never used to be like this so maybe came about with an IOS update.

The problem here is that if you have work scheduled, how do you adapt on the fly to what could be very temporary changes?
alanwarwic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2013, 22:02
Adamuk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 69
I've called EE about it and they don't want to acknowledge there's a problem... I keep getting told to reset my network settings

I've uploaded a screenshot above showing the problem I'm getting. I am kinda glad that it doesn't seem to be just happening to me.
Adamuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2013, 22:05
ffcphone
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bolton, UK
Posts: 170
Recent news had it that Apple now control the connection settings for each and every network.

Normally the network sends across a connection settings string. Seems it works the other way round with Apple. They request Apple to send the connection settings.

From what I know it never used to be like this so maybe came about with an IOS update.
Are the settings not stored in cellular carrier update profiles which get updated from time to time?
ffcphone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2013, 22:06
paulker
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 803
I had the data disappearance act for a while. It seems to have gone away though. May have been network configuration on varying areas. I am in Glasgow.
paulker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2013, 22:07
ffcphone
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bolton, UK
Posts: 170
I've called EE about it and they don't want to acknowledge there's a problem... I keep getting told to reset my network settings

I've uploaded a screenshot above showing the problem I'm getting. I am kinda glad that it doesn't seem to be just happening to me.
I find during a voice call I lose a data connection and when call terminated can take a while to come back.
ffcphone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2013, 22:19
alanwarwic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Researchington
Posts: 24,638
Are the settings not stored in cellular carrier update profiles which get updated from time to time?
I just edited my comment to mention 'time to time'.
It still confuses me but maybe there are two types of profile to make it all work?

And I really thought the differential came about to promote preferred partner networks to the detriment of 'not so preferred partners'.
alanwarwic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2013, 22:22
ffcphone
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bolton, UK
Posts: 170
I just edited my comment to mention 'time to time'.
It still confuses me but maybe there are two types of profile to make it all work?

And I really thought the differential came about to promote preferred partner networks to the detriment of 'not so preferred partners'.
EE were given star billing on launch of iPhone 5 the day before Phil Schiller revealed the device. But doubtless Apple will want to control which networks have access to iPhone's LTE capabilities. Remember iPhone 5 will only work on EE for LTE in UK and come September some Three to. O2 and Voda use different frequency bands not supported by iPhone 5
ffcphone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2013, 22:34
enapace
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,121
EE were given star billing on launch of iPhone 5 the day before Phil Schiller revealed the device. But doubtless Apple will want to control which networks have access to iPhone's LTE capabilities. Remember iPhone 5 will only work on EE for LTE in UK and come September some Three to. O2 and Voda use different frequency bands not supported by iPhone 5
IT should work on Three but apparently Apple decide which networks they allow to use LTE so perhaps it won't .Technically it could work on Vodafone it depends Vodafone applied to use 4G spectrum in the 2100MHz the IPhone 5 does run on that so it depends how quickly they refarm doubt it will be anytime soon though just thought I would point out.
enapace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2013, 23:19
ffcphone
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bolton, UK
Posts: 170
IT should work on Three but apparently Apple decide which networks they allow to use LTE so perhaps it won't .Technically it could work on Vodafone it depends Vodafone applied to use 4G spectrum in the 2100MHz the IPhone 5 does run on that so it depends how quickly they refarm doubt it will be anytime soon though just thought I would point out.
I thought Vodafone had only applied to use LTE on 800 and 2600MHz bands, neither of which are supported by iPhone 5.

In any event this is all somewhat of a near pointless debate as almost certainly come the autumn and the seventh iteration of the iPhone it's going to be near universally supported on LTE to increase potential uptake.
ffcphone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2013, 23:46
The Lord Lucan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3,880
iPhone 5 wil work on Three come launch. We won't see 2100 LTE for awhile yet..
The Lord Lucan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2013, 23:49
ChateauMarmont
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Mystic Falls
Posts: 706
I have the same problem. iPhone 5 on EE and when I lose signal and it connects it will still show the GPRS or 3G indicator yet will not connect to the Internet at all. Rather than rebooting I do the airplane mode on and off and it works again.

On Saturday it got worse and I hard reset the phone (power button and home button) but for some reason I had numerous emails come through and all of the notifications were reset back to default. So I had to change them all back to silent again and my ringtone. It's very annoying and confusing why it's doing this.
ChateauMarmont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2013, 23:52
dangermouse1986
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,543
This happened to me, replaced phone from Apple 3 times, replacement SIM card, until one day I tweeted them, they told me to send an update text (can't for the life of me remember) which basically reset my HLR (some behind the scenes profile system) and I've never had a problem since. Worth trying to get a Leader in their in-house call centres to try and get in touch with their back office Tech Support Team, they're literally genius'!
dangermouse1986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2013, 00:08
IslandNiles
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 12,830
I have that issue quite a bit, of seeing a strong signal and 3G icon but not being able to access data. It's more frustrating than seeing 'no signal' in my opinion.
IslandNiles is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:42.