Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Sony Handycam - ripping to computer


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-05-2013, 16:36
Hassaan13
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 15,950

I'm not that great with technology so I don't know how to port/rip the footage onto the computer - in the sense that I can't seem to find a correct wire (among those which came with it).
Hassaan13 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 08-05-2013, 16:48
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 22,364
Nowhere near enough information. Please post...

The exact model number of the camera
The leads that you have with it
Some details of your computer, ie is it a desktop, laptop, Macbook, running Windows, Mac OS, Linux or whatever.

Basically the more you tell us the easier it is to suggest solutions.
chrisjr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 19:26
Hassaan13
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 15,950
a) Sony Handycam Digital 8 (20x optical zoom)

b) USB cable with a plug at the end (which does fit into the slot, assume it's for TV), and the inevitable red, white and yellow wires (for the TV). It also comes with a sort of USB cable (which doesn't fit into the slot).

c) I run Windows 8/Vista (depending on which computer I decide to rip the footage onto).

My dad previously managed to do it, but without the sound.
Hassaan13 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 20:03
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 22,364
Still need to know the exact model number, there are loads of different Digital 8 models. A quick look at one or two on the Sony website shows that some have USB sockets on which can be used to download video to a PC.

It is possible that you may need specific Sony software to do this however. If you don't have the CD that came with the camera you might be able to download it from the Sony website. The cameras with USB seem to have a mini USB socket on them which is the slightly larger brother of the micro USB found on many mobile phones. Maybe the lead you have has the wrong variant out of mini/micro to fit the camera?

But from what I can see if you've got a USB lead that fits the camera and PC and any necessary software it should be fairly simple to download the footage from the camera to your computer.
chrisjr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 20:31
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 38,491
My older Sony camcorder came with a USB lead, but this only allowed you to transfer stills you had taken, I had to buy a Firewire lead to transfer video, and a Firewire card for my computer at the time.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 08:43
Chris Frost
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 4,806
a) Sony Handycam Digital 8 (20x optical zoom)
lol. That's about as much use as as asking for tyres for a blue Ford.

Turn it over. Read the plate on the base that gives the model. Might start with something like DCR-TRV.... and then some numbers.

Chances are that if your camera has a DV (digital video) socket then a cable like this is used to connect the camcorder to the PC. This is more commonly known as a Firewire connection. Your PC might have a Firewire socket - in which case all you'll need then is some software to handle the video/audio capture and do editing - or you'll need a Firewire input card which will come with capture and edit software.
Chris Frost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 10:34
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 22,364
lol. That's about as much use as as asking for tyres for a blue Ford.

Turn it over. Read the plate on the base that gives the model. Might start with something like DCR-TRV.... and then some numbers.

Chances are that if your camera has a DV (digital video) socket then a cable like this is used to connect the camcorder to the PC. This is more commonly known as a Firewire connection. Your PC might have a Firewire socket - in which case all you'll need then is some software to handle the video/audio capture and do editing - or you'll need a Firewire input card which will come with capture and edit software.
I did a random google on Sony Handycam Digital 8 and found a Sony webpage that showed several older models with USB streaming listed as a feature.

A random peek at the manual for one of these units showed that it uses USB to transfer footage from the tape in the camera to the PC using some Sony editing software.

Couldn't see any mention of Firewire. But then again without knowing what camera the OP has there is no guarantee I was looking at anything remotely relevant
chrisjr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 10:56
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 38,491
Couldn't see any mention of Firewire. But then again without knowing what camera the OP has there is no guarantee I was looking at anything remotely relevant
Sony don't call it Firewire, but that's what it is - Sony call it i.Link.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 11:12
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 22,364
Sony don't call it Firewire, but that's what it is - Sony call it i.Link.
I did see i-Link mentioned in the specs of a few cameras I looked at. Had a vague feeling that it was their name for Firewire. Pages and pages about USB in the manual I looked at but not much on i-Link.

All it mentions i-Link for is copying to a VCR or such like. It makes no mention of using it to copy to a computer. All the instructions for copying to computer revolve around USB.
chrisjr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 11:43
grahamlthompson
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Redditch Worcs
Posts: 15,841
The only way to get full quality video from a Mini DV camcorder is via firewire (aka I-link iee1394). It's a intraframe low compression digital recording format. 20 mins of 720 x 576 DV uses approx. 4GB of storage which is more than an AVC based Full HD camcorder.

Same applies to the High Definition HDV variant

Digital 8 uses the same digital compression but rather than Mini DV uses a 8mm cassete. Other than this the same restrictions apply.

USB won't work as it's not capable of maintaining the required sustained data transfer rate. A usb to firewire convertor won't work either. A proper firewire card is required.

WinDV is a free firewire capture utility

http://windv.mourek.cz/

My Sony TRV950E has firewire, usb and blutooth, the latter options only work with still photos or low quality web style video
grahamlthompson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 16:20
Hassaan13
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 15,950
This is the model: http://www.sony.co.uk/product/sdh-digital-8/dcr-trv285e
Hassaan13 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 16:28
Chris Frost
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 4,806
I did a random google on Sony Handycam Digital 8 and found a Sony webpage that showed several older models with USB streaming listed as a feature.
Yep. So did I. And yep, I quick scanned a manual for a Blue Ford which mentioned USB transfer of footage. So it looks like we both did more homework than the OP.

However, I also came across mention of iLink in the manual, which is why I wrote "if your camera has....
Chris Frost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 16:31
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 22,364
Click on the Manuals tab and download the manual. Then go to page 72 and follow the instructions there.

It does say you can use either USB or i-Link to do this but will get better results with i-Link. The problem may be that you computer will almost certainly have USB but might not have firewire (which is what i-Link is).
chrisjr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 12:31
Dirtyhippy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: S Wales
Posts: 921
Slightly off topic but one thing I always prefer with Mini DV - it doesn't suffer as much from wobble vision as much as my 1080 capable digital camera.
Dirtyhippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 13:23
grahamlthompson
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Redditch Worcs
Posts: 15,841
Slightly off topic but one thing I always prefer with Mini DV - it doesn't suffer as much from wobble vision as much as my 1080 capable digital camera.
DV is intraframe compressed (ie each frame is present). AVC HD camcorders use mpeg compression. Only 1 complete frame (I frame) exists in a group of pictures, the rest are built from difference info and the I frame. It's a lot more lossy than DV, hence the difference in file sizes.
grahamlthompson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2013, 11:53
Hassaan13
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 15,950
I used PMB/Picture Package Viewer on XP to rip it onto the computer - it would capture the whole video and then I could save it to my computer. However, it saves it in a smaller ratio. I was wondering if it could actually save in HD or it's original quality rather than me having to upload it as HD.

One of the videos that were taken on that camcorder: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rYAltMICSoI
Hassaan13 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2013, 16:07
grahamlthompson
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Redditch Worcs
Posts: 15,841
I used PMB/Picture Package Viewer on XP to rip it onto the computer - it would capture the whole video and then I could save it to my computer. However, it saves it in a smaller ratio. I was wondering if it could actually save in HD or it's original quality rather than me having to upload it as HD.

One of the videos that were taken on that camcorder: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rYAltMICSoI
You can't save it in HD, the original is only SD. To capture video in the original quality you need a PC with a firewire (iee1394) port.
grahamlthompson is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 17:00.