Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Fake Abode Flaash Player Update - Warning!


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-05-2013, 12:17
offtotheraces
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 700

I just got hit by a pop-up asking me to update Flash Player, and in a moment of total stupidity I thought it was genuine and so I clicked on it and ran the install.

Firstly, the install process itself is severely distruptive. Your PC will freeze repeatedly and be generally un-useable during the install, which seems to go on forever.

Then, you'll realise you've been targeted by something really hideous as it's not only a fake update, it bundles LOADS of spyware/malware onto your PC which you didn't ask for. I've just removed about half a dozen programmes this "update" installed and what a pain in the arse it is.

I'm now going to run an anti-virus scan and Malwarebytes but hopefully I've removed the worst of what this "update" foisted upon me.

Am now feeling very annoyed and wanted to warn others so that no one else wastes their time. The whole process has taken up at least about half an hour! I'm seething.
offtotheraces is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 09-05-2013, 12:20
flagpole
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 43,524
Unfortunately this is pretty common.

And quite effective.
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 13:12
offtotheraces
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 700
I feel so embarrassed they fooled me. Usually I'm really on the ball about this kind of thing, but I removed everything right away and hopefully Malwarebytes will catch anything which might be left behind.

These scams are a nightmare.
offtotheraces is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 13:26
cooler
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 8,814
That sound infuritating. Did it download this fake after you visited a website?

Did the popup come up the same way a genuine Adobe flash update appears?
cooler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 13:30
Daedroth
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2,957
That sound infuritating. Did it download this fake after you visited a website?

Did the popup come up the same way a genuine Adobe flash update appears?
They are typically convincing looking websites with a lot of imaginary that imitates Adobe.
Daedroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 13:35
DeelyBopper
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,292
I am getting them alot too but always shut them down. Is there a way to stop the actual pop ups?
DeelyBopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 13:37
Daedroth
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2,957
I am getting them alot too but always shut them down. Is there a way to stop the actual pop ups?
Probably by using an ad-blocker on your browsers.
Daedroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 14:54
JeffG1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Newbury
Posts: 4,840
Presumably this is not the same as the update I did this morning before doing anything else. The Adobe updater runs at startup and checks for new versions. It looked genuine enough to me.

Did your popup occur after you started your browser?
JeffG1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 15:06
Popadopalous
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 650
I get this popup regularly on my favourite Youtube-style porn website. Although, the first time I saw this, I did think it was genuine but still closed it anyway.
Popadopalous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 15:43
DeelyBopper
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,292
I get this popup regularly on my favourite Youtube-style porn website. Although, the first time I saw this, I did think it was genuine but still closed it anyway.
After a while, you'll go blind and won't be able to distinguish the authenticity.

You may also grow hairs on the palms of your hand(s).
DeelyBopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 15:51
LION8TIGER
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,356
I don't tend to see these pop ups, the ones I do see are genuine but out of habit I always go to the company's site in question and update there.
LION8TIGER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 17:49
shhftw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 1,817
There's a pop-under window for it when visiting a well-known torrent site and also a well-known live streaming site.
shhftw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 17:58
SnowStorm86
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lincs
Posts: 12,213
The real flash player installer poisoned my computer by installing Google Chrome and some other google software. Apparently you have to manually opt out. Curiously, having been caught off guard by Adobe, I've been extra cautious ever since then, when clicking/installing things. It made me remember not to trust anyone or anything on the internet.
SnowStorm86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 22:12
offtotheraces
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 700
They are typically convincing looking websites with a lot of imaginary that imitates Adobe.
Actually, in this case it was just a pop-up and I thought it was genuine as I assumed my anti-virus would catch it if not. So it's even sillier I was caught out.
offtotheraces is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 22:29
offtotheraces
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 700
Probably by using an ad-blocker on your browsers.
I run Ad Blocker for Firefox, Microsoft Security Essentials, and Malwarebytes and the sucker still got through.
offtotheraces is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 22:43
LION8TIGER
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,356
I run Ad Blocker for Firefox, Microsoft Security Essentials, and Malwarebytes and the sucker still got through.
Were you on a dodgy website ? You could go to add-ons in firefox and search for WOT (web of trust) which will point out dodgy sites. The only problem with it is that it will sometimes identify OK sites as dodgy but won't say some dodgy sites are OK.
Another good thing to have is a hosts file so you can't connect to most of the dodgy sites.
LION8TIGER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 22:46
tealady
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: colchester
Posts: 10,668
Malwarebytes and the sucker still got through.
Do you use the Pro version?
tealady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 22:53
offtotheraces
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 700
Do you use the Pro version?
Yep! Apart from this incident it's been very good.
offtotheraces is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 22:58
tealady
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: colchester
Posts: 10,668
Yep! Apart from this incident it's been very good.
Damn, not quite as safe as I thought.
tealady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 23:17
offtotheraces
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 700
Damn, not quite as safe as I thought.
I'd imagine there are always things which can get through any safe guard. Cyber-criminals are no doubt a couple of steps ahead of most of us.
offtotheraces is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 01:24
REDBUS
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,990
Do you use the Pro version?

hope you have Microsoft security essentials disabled when using pro version as 2 programmes with active 24/7 antivirus can conflict with each other
REDBUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 01:52
Aye Up
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Somewhere only I know
Posts: 2,923
Its funny I had this earlier this evening, I didn't click on it as it looked a bit dubious at best. Went to the adobe website which confirmed all I needed to know. Don't know how the little sod got through tho....hosts file is filled with blacklistings and I run a certain addon. Even bit defender failed to pick it up
Aye Up is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 02:06
offtotheraces
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 700
Its funny I had this earlier this evening, I didn't click on it as it looked a bit dubious at best. Went to the adobe website which confirmed all I needed to know. Don't know how the little sod got through tho....hosts file is filled with blacklistings and I run a certain addon. Even bit defender failed to pick it up
I don't think the pop-up I received contained a website link. If it did, I didn't notice. Which shows my lack of attention is probably at fault for actually clicking on it. Argh!
offtotheraces is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 06:04
chappie
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 282
you could run adwcleaner as well. ,I used it to get rid of the value apps popup , did the job quickly.
chappie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 12:44
Zenith
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: East London
Posts: 2,853
hope you have Microsoft security essentials disabled when using pro version as 2 programmes with active 24/7 antivirus can conflict with each other
But doesn't MSE & Malwarebytes detect different kinds of threats?

I run MSE at the moment & I'm considering buying Malwarebytes for real time malware protection. Do these 2 programs really cause a conflict?
Zenith is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:20.