Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Netgear Wireless Security


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-05-2013, 20:06
Old Man 43
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4,697

My Mum connects to the Internet using a wireless connection to a Netgear DG834Gv3 router.

I am not going to bore you all with the whole story but lets just say that the router is still set to factory settings.

This means that the wireless security is disabled.

I want to enable it and put a password in.

I have gone into the router set-up using the http link that is printed on the router and I have got to the wireless security set-up page.

Am I correct if I use the WEP key and use the Automatic Key Generation (Passphrase).

Or should I use some other encryption method or am I going off in the wrong direction.

My Mumís Internet supplier is AOL and I donít want to mess anything up with how that works.

Also my Dadís desktop is connected to the same router by an Ethernet cable.

Help please I need to understand what I am doing before I do something wrong.
Old Man 43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 10-05-2013, 20:24
LION8TIGER
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,216
Am I correct if I use the WEP key and use the Automatic Key Generation (Passphrase).

Or should I use some other encryption method or am I going off in the wrong direction.
Use Wpa-Psk rather than WEP, it is safer.

http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/de...-dg834-routers
LION8TIGER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 20:25
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 21,193
Use WPA2, don't bother with WEP unless there is some bit of kit you have that is incapable of using WPA (not very likely these days). WPA is much more secure.

Use a hard to guess pass phrase.Random combinations of numbers and letters and other characters are best. But whatever you do DO NOT do this using a WiFi connection from the laptop, use a cable connection! Once you save the pass phrase into the router it will kick all WiFi devices off. So if you can't remember the pass phrase you could be stuffed!

You will of course have to enter the pass phrase into the laptop to reconnect it via WiFi. So what I do is copy and paste it into a text file and save that to a USB stick that can be plugged into the laptop and you can then copy and paste the pass phrase from the file into the password entry box when you try to connect the laptop again. That way there is less chance of you getting it wrong.

You are very unlikely to screw anything up. The settings only affect WiFi they have no effect on a cable connection and provided you don't mess in any other section of the config you shouldn't screw up the connection to AOL. And if you know the AOL log in details you can always set the router back to it's default settings by poking the hidden reset button on the back near the WiFi aerial.
chrisjr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 20:26
Maxatoria
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 4,988
WEP is pretty much s***te, try and set it up with wpa2 and you can get sites that will generate long keys of 64 characters of absolute randomness which will take longer than even fergie could get extra time at old trafford being 1-0 down

just cut and paste into a document the password while you set everything up as 64 charcters of gibberish is hard to write down

but hardwired aka cabled links to routers are fine as theres nothing really transmitted into the ether
Maxatoria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 22:06
Smiley433
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Location: Location
Posts: 3,546
If you only have one wireless device, you may also be able to set up an access list of trusted devices which can connect to the router and everything else should be rejected.

First setup your security passwords as per messages above and make sure the laptop is connecte. Then in my DG834G v2, select "Wireless Settings", then "Setup Access List" and under the "Available Wireless Stations" select your laptop and click "Add". Then make sure "Turn Access Control" check box is ticked.

If you need to add another trusted device, just repeat that process selecting the new device from the "Available Wireless Stations" list.

This is not compulsory but offers another bit of protection and stops unwanted devices stealing your bandwith.
Smiley433 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 00:01
Old Man 43
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4,697
.Another problem has appeared.

My Mum's laptop keeps disconnecting from the router.

Could someone give me some idea what the problem is.
Old Man 43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 12:57
karma mechanic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 254
If you only have one wireless device, you may also be able to set up an access list of trusted devices which can connect to the router and everything else should be rejected.

First setup your security passwords as per messages above and make sure the laptop is connecte. Then in my DG834G v2, select "Wireless Settings", then "Setup Access List" and under the "Available Wireless Stations" select your laptop and click "Add". Then make sure "Turn Access Control" check box is ticked.

If you need to add another trusted device, just repeat that process selecting the new device from the "Available Wireless Stations" list.

This is not compulsory but offers another bit of protection and stops unwanted devices stealing your bandwith.
MAC filtering isn't worth the bother - the added security is totally negligible since it is easy to sniff out the MAC address of a connected device. Once the MAC address is seen in the clear, it takes a few seconds to 'forge' that legitimate MAC address in the wireless Ethernet settings for an attacker's machine. Use WPA2 and a good password.

Regarding the dropping of the connection, you could install the free utility inSSIDer on the laptop. The network tab will then show the wireless signal from the router and all those others that might be nearby. It will allow you to see the strength and the channel number - it might help to see if the connection drops due to poor strength or maybe somebody else nearby using the same channel with a stronger signal. http://www.metageek.net/products/inssider/
karma mechanic is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2013, 13:41
Shall
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 78
Down inSSIDer This will show all the wireless networks you can see. Make sure you use a channel which has the fewest networks associated with it. Interference from another network is a comman issue which causes disconnections
Shall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2013, 19:17
shhftw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 1,586
.Another problem has appeared.

My Mum's laptop keeps disconnecting from the router.

Could someone give me some idea what the problem is.
Poor signal/interference in location (Use inSSIDer and orientate antenna).

Crappy drivers / firmware update required on router.

Try the first suggestion then let us know if it doesn't solve it before attempting the latter.
shhftw is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:51.