Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

New router - now can't access internet on Samsung


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 15-05-2013, 18:30
Geowitch
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: East Anglia
Posts: 280

Please can someone help me? I have just got a new router from Plusnet today which works fine on all of our wireless devices. I tried to set up my Samsung UE40D5520 which connected OK to the previous router but is now saying there is an IP address problem.
IP address already in use. Set a different IP address from Network Settings
When I select Network Settings it just goes through the same again.
I just don't understand.
Geowitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 15-05-2013, 18:55
tealady
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: colchester
Posts: 9,683
Sounds like the tv is being allocated an IP that is already reserved for a device that is (or was ) currently connected.
You can turn the router off and on and then try the tv first (with no other devices attached) to see if it connects.
The next thing to try would be to reserve an IP address for each of the devices from within the router set up. Hopefully, you have some instructions to login to the router from a webpage. From there, you should find a section where you can allocate an IP to a MAC address of the device.
If you also post the make and model that will help (and don't say Belkin!)
tealady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2013, 18:56
mac2708
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,555
The pages here may help
http://www.plus.net/support/broadband/hardware/
mac2708 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2013, 21:07
Geowitch
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: East Anglia
Posts: 280
Sounds like the tv is being allocated an IP that is already reserved for a device that is (or was ) currently connected.
You can turn the router off and on and then try the tv first (with no other devices attached) to see if it connects.
The next thing to try would be to reserve an IP address for each of the devices from within the router set up. Hopefully, you have some instructions to login to the router from a webpage. From there, you should find a section where you can allocate an IP to a MAC address of the device.
If you also post the make and model that will help (and don't say Belkin!)
Thank you. Turning the router and other devices off then turning it back on and connecting the TV worked with no problem!
Geowitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2013, 21:51
tealady
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: colchester
Posts: 9,683
Thank you. Turning the router and other devices off then turning it back on and connecting the TV worked with no problem!
Good. If the issue reoccurs, then you will need to consider allocating each device a fixed IP (or see if there is a firmware update to solve it).
tealady is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:12.