Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

local area connection doesn't have a valid ip configuration windows 7


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 16-05-2013, 01:16
rhumble
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 57,419

Does anyone know how to fix this?
rhumble is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 16-05-2013, 07:59
Stig
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sandy Heath, Beds, UK
Posts: 7,022
What is your network setup? Wireless router? Do you have other Internet connected devices that work?
Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2013, 11:03
psionic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Crystal Palace TX
Posts: 18,963
Does anyone know how to fix this?
Need more info. For example try ipconfig /all from command line.
psionic is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2013, 15:32
rhumble
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 57,419
Here is the information from the command line:

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : F4-6D-04-70-34-53
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::3978:c3ad:4740:9c7b%12(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 94.169.56.72(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.252.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 16 May 2013 14:59:54
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 22 May 2013 14:44:27
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 94.169.56.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 62.253.131.191
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 318008580
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-14-E5-D5-D2-BC-AE-C5-A8-D1-2D

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 194.168.4.100
194.168.8.100
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Teredo Tunneling Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:5ef5:79fd:2050:1390:a156:c7b7(Pref
erred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2050:1390:a156:c7b7%13(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter 6TO4 Adapter:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2002:5ea9:3848::5ea9:3848(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 2002:c058:6301::1
2002:c058:6301::c058:6301
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 194.168.4.100
194.168.8.100
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter isatap.{983F2DBE-A0F0-43EF-91B2-1FFF4DFAF13A}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Its working at the moment, I had trouble with the internet keep going off with this warning yesterday, I disabled the connection and enabled it a few times and ipconfig/renew the IP. It came back on and hasn't gone off yet.

What causes this to happen and what is the best permanent fix?
rhumble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2013, 15:37
rhumble
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 57,419
It went off again, so I changed the internet protocol version 4 properties, from auto obtain IP address, to the IPv4 Address, from the above info and it came back on.
rhumble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2013, 16:48
Stig
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sandy Heath, Beds, UK
Posts: 7,022
It went off again, so I changed the internet protocol version 4 properties, from auto obtain IP address, to the IPv4 Address, from the above info and it came back on.
You would be better leaving it as automatic/DHCP.

Have you tried rebooting your router (turn off/on)?
Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2013, 17:34
rhumble
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 57,419
You would be better leaving it as automatic/DHCP.

Have you tried rebooting your router (turn off/on)?
Yeah,,,i've tried all that,,it does come back on and stay on with no problems if I mess about with disabling and enabling connection, I haven't had problems with it for months, but yesterday it started going off again.

At the moment it still works not using automatic/DHCP, however if it goes off again I will switch back to auto.

I wonder if steam has anything to do with it, last time I reinstalled steam and I had no problems however that may have been coincidental.
rhumble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2013, 17:40
psionic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Crystal Palace TX
Posts: 18,963
Here is the information from the command line:

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : F4-6D-04-70-34-53
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::3978:c3ad:4740:9c7b%12(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 94.169.56.72(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.252.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 16 May 2013 14:59:54
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 22 May 2013 14:44:27
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 94.169.56.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 62.253.131.191
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 318008580
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-14-E5-D5-D2-BC-AE-C5-A8-D1-2D

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 194.168.4.100
194.168.8.100
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
This is a Virgin Media router? If the above are when its working ok, what do the settings show when it's not working? Any obvious differences? Just DHCP?
psionic is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2013, 18:17
rhumble
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 57,419
This is a Virgin Media router? If the above are when its working ok, what do the settings show when it's not working? Any obvious differences? Just DHCP?
Yeah its Virgin media.

I'm not sure what it shows when its not working,,,i will have to wait for it to go off to find out and post them using my laptop (although I am hoping it doesn't go off again)
rhumble is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 18:13.