Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Windows 8 Login Screen


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 17-05-2013, 12:29
-Batman-
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4,448

is there a way to get Windows 8 to boot to the welcome screen.

I have 3 local accounts and when I switch my pc on it boots into my account and straight to the metro menu.

would like the login screen so I can choose which user wants to login

ty
-Batman- is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 17-05-2013, 12:56
TheBigM
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: moon
Posts: 12,708
Have you put passwords on the accounts?
TheBigM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2013, 13:31
-Batman-
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4,448
Have you put passwords on the accounts?
no and TBH don't really want to
-Batman- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2013, 23:16
call100
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,473
no and TBH don't really want to
If you don't password protect accounts you won't get a choice, it will always boot to the main account and you have to switch once logged on. AFAIK this has always been so, not just in eight.
They don't need to be fancy passwords, something like 1111, 2222 etc.
call100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-05-2013, 08:21
Stig
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sandy Heath, Beds, UK
Posts: 7,025
If you don't password protect accounts you won't get a choice, it will always boot to the main account and you have to switch once logged on. AFAIK this has always been so, not just in eight.
They don't need to be fancy passwords, something like 1111, 2222 etc.
Not true. All versions of Windows since XP have a Welcome screen where you can choose which account to login with, whether they have passwords or not.

I don't know about Windows 8 as I don't use it day to day, but I strongly suspect its the same.
Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-05-2013, 09:42
call100
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,473
Not true. All versions of Windows since XP have a Welcome screen where you can choose which account to login with, whether they have passwords or not.

I don't know about Windows 8 as I don't use it day to day, but I strongly suspect its the same.
I stand corrected..sorry, always thought it just booted to the main account without passwords.....Have to admit I've never tried it.
call100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-05-2013, 10:35
TheBigM
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: moon
Posts: 12,708
There probably is a way to do it without passwords but I don't know.
But I do know it should work if you do put passwords on.

You could put a simple password that is the same on all accounts? e.g. 1234
TheBigM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-05-2013, 11:32
call100
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,473
Just a thought....Are all the accounts Administrator accounts? If all the accounts have the same rights it may not just boot straight to your main account.....
call100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-05-2013, 11:51
TheBigM
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: moon
Posts: 12,708
Just a thought....Are all the accounts Administrator accounts? If all the accounts have the same rights it may not just boot straight to your main account.....
The others should be limited accounts by default.
TheBigM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-05-2013, 12:00
call100
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,473
The others should be limited accounts by default.
Yes, that's what I was thinking. Unless they are all changed to administrator accounts, won't the only admin account be the one that auto logs on?
call100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-05-2013, 12:17
Stig
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sandy Heath, Beds, UK
Posts: 7,025
Yes, that's what I was thinking. Unless they are all changed to administrator accounts, won't the only admin account be the one that auto logs on?
Why don't we stop guessing and wait for someone who actually uses Windows 8 to answer?
Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-05-2013, 13:42
call100
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,473
Why don't we stop guessing and wait for someone who actually uses Windows 8 to answer?
Why don't you move on to a thread you can contribute to?
call100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-05-2013, 14:45
Shaun_Murray
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: The Pub
Posts: 282
I am a W8 user and have just tried this. What a stupid idea. If you have multiple accounts on your computer you should be able to choose which account you want to load instead of it just loading one.
Shaun_Murray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-05-2013, 15:01
TheBigM
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: moon
Posts: 12,708
http://news.cnet.com/8301-10805_3-57...log-in-screen/

You need the second part of this article where you "re-enable" the user and password for each account.
TheBigM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-05-2013, 17:29
Stig
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sandy Heath, Beds, UK
Posts: 7,025
Why don't you move on to a thread you can contribute to?
You're welcome.
Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:53.