Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Anyone here got an iPhone and ps3?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 19-05-2013, 15:01
Lidtop2013
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: West Midlands, UK
Posts: 1,414

I just realised a neat little feature, if you watch youtube on your tv via a ps3 you can connect your iphone wirelessly to it so that you can search for videos on your iphone and when you've found one just tap on it and it changes on the tv, thought that was quite cool.
Lidtop2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 19-05-2013, 15:27
Matt D
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 11,058
Yup. The YouTube app for iOS allows you to use it to control "connected TVs". It works with the YouTube app for the PS3 and also the Xbox 360, along with certain smart TVs. I'd assume the Android version has the same feature.
Matt D is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2013, 15:55
gillyallan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 27,017
Yeah it is on android too. Its good I use it all the time
gillyallan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2013, 15:58
Stiggles
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dundee, Scotland
Posts: 7,772
I use it on my nexus 4 to do the youtube built into my telly.
Stiggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2013, 17:39
Lidtop2013
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: West Midlands, UK
Posts: 1,414
Yeah cool isn't it.

Get some 1080p videos and away you go, was surprised how good the picture quality was seeing as its still just a youtube video.

So how does it work? I don't have Bluetooth on, it must be doing it through wifi I guess?
Lidtop2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2013, 21:58
whoever,hey
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29,706
Yeah cool isn't it.

Get some 1080p videos and away you go, was surprised how good the picture quality was seeing as its still just a youtube video.

So how does it work? I don't have Bluetooth on, it must be doing it through wifi I guess?
Youtube does have 1080 source video.

Why is wifi a surprise?
whoever,hey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2013, 21:59
davethorp
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Preston, Lancashire
Posts: 6,489
Also works with the virgin media TiVo box too
davethorp is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2013, 22:09
gillyallan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 27,017
Also works with the virgin media TiVo box too
Didnt realise that. I hate the keyboard search on tivo so may give that a go.

EDit. Cool just set it up on tivo. Its a little slower to react on tivo than ps3 but guess that's the vm network
gillyallan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2013, 13:10
Philip Wales
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: South Wales
Posts: 2,968
Lol Never knew that, not that it matters as I use Apple TV for You Tube air played from my iPad, nut always nice to know.
Philip Wales is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:58.