Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Can I use google chrome despite previous problems?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 21-05-2013, 21:56
monochrome head
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 83

I ended up damaging an old laptop in sheer frustration after it slowed down to a snail's pace and kept crashing. After the fact I realised it was Shockwave crashing that caused it, but when I got my new laptop the same thing kept happening.

It seemed to always occur in conjunction with google chrome so I took someone's advice and uninstalled all adobe flash and google chrome stuff. I have started using the maxthion browser instead but I've noticed it doesn't use adblock and although it has another ad blocking programme it only seems to work 75% of the time if youtube is anything to go by, and there are also ad banners on some other sites.

Is it safe for me to download and start using chrome again if I do it in conjunction with some other action?
monochrome head is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 21-05-2013, 22:11
DeelyBopper
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,292
Yeah.
DeelyBopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2013, 11:38
monochrome head
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 83
Anyone like to give me a more comprehensive answer? Is there anything I can do to make sure it doesn't happen again?

I avoided running Flash even with a different browser this time.
monochrome head is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2013, 12:22
John259
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Posts: 13,235
My advice FWIW is give Chrome a try. If Chrome gives trouble, stop using it. If problems still persist, uninstall Chrome.

This is probably obvious but perhaps worth mentioning: Chrome includes Adobe Flash Player, so you don't need to download or install it separately for Chrome. (You might possibly want to do so for IE or Firefox though.)
John259 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2013, 12:43
alan1302
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Yorks
Posts: 5,811
Anyone like to give me a more comprehensive answer? Is there anything I can do to make sure it doesn't happen again?

I avoided running Flash even with a different browser this time.
Yes, fine, download it, run it - see what it's like.

Just be more careful this time and much something more solid!
alan1302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2013, 12:49
paulbrock
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Wapping, London
Posts: 15,851
install chrome. Go to the plugins page (by typing chrome://plugins into the address bar). Disable Flash, and anything else that might give you grief.

Done.
paulbrock is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2013, 12:56
DeelyBopper
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,292
Hide your toolbox first.
DeelyBopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2013, 13:12
Sandgrownun
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 4,436
II have started using the maxthion browser instead but I've noticed it doesn't use adblock and although it has another ad blocking programme it only seems to work 75% of the time if youtube is anything to go by, and there are also ad banners on some other sites.
If you don't want to use Chrome, have you tried Firefox or Opera instead, they both have Adblock extensions.
Sandgrownun is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:18.