Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Android Jelly Bean - Samsung Ace 2


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 22-05-2013, 17:22
cmorris
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Leicester
Posts: 4,776

Does anyone know when this version will be officially released and available on Samsung Ace 2 phones?
cmorris is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 22-05-2013, 18:57
1saintly
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,195
http://www.sammobile.com/2013/05/15/...e-2-gt-i8160p/
1saintly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2013, 20:44
dreamypuma
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Earth
Posts: 2,127
This link is for the 1860P which is the NFC variant of the Standard Ace 2.

The good news is that it looks like the wait is almost over in the UK Linky

Any one had an update yet? Mines Orange Locked, so I guess there will be a further delay whilst EE vet / deploy the update?
dreamypuma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2013, 21:07
gds1972
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3,501
My Ace 2 has just updated to Jelly Bean. It looks like you must use Samsung Kies to carry out the update.
gds1972 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2013, 22:00
dreamypuma
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Earth
Posts: 2,127
My Ace 2 has just updated to Jelly Bean. It looks like you must use Samsung Kies to carry out the update.
Was yours unlocked? I have the Kies virus on my PC but it keeps crashing. Not sure if it has anything to do with Windows 8.
dreamypuma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2013, 22:48
purple bunny
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,615
unlocked payg 3. cant do kies but no ota update yet, but i do press my button daily.

last i heard s2 were being updated on 3
purple bunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2013, 22:49
gds1972
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3,501
Was yours unlocked? I have the Kies virus on my PC but it keeps crashing. Not sure if it has anything to do with Windows 8.
My phone came unlocked from Phones4U.
It looks like there are some Windows 8 problems with Kies. Also my version of Kies updated itself a few weeks back, it might be worth uninstalling your version and downloading it again from Samsung.
gds1972 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2013, 22:57
1saintly
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,195
Just doing mine now via Kies.

Phone Unlocked.
Using Kies on Win7


Fingers crossed.
1saintly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2013, 23:31
1saintly
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,195
WOW

its totaly different, in a good way.
Got Android 4.1.2

Have to have a play around , going to be a late night.

Thats one down one to go.

Doing second galaxy ace now
1saintly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2013, 00:22
1saintly
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,195
Both phones done, easy no hassle upgrade

Ring tones/contacts/pictures etc all remembered, just had to re enter wifi password.
1saintly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2013, 06:34
dreamypuma
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Earth
Posts: 2,127
I've now got Kies working on Windows 8 (use compatibility mode and WIN XP SP3)

Noupdate for me over Kies or OTA. Looks like I'm in the hands of Orange now.

Wonder if it's possible to upgrade a locked orange handset using the official upgrade files and Odin?
dreamypuma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2013, 06:51
1saintly
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,195
Looks like its only unlocked phones at the moment?

http://wccftech.com/install-4-1-2-je...y-ace-2-i8160/
1saintly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2013, 07:54
Mustabuster
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Woking, Surrey.
Posts: 2,497
Just did my wifes phone last night. Took awhile to download but pretty straight forward. Her homescreen shortcuts and widgets had to be put back and the wifi password was needed again but it was pretty easy.
Mustabuster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2013, 13:19
cnbcwatcher
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: At college, in L.A.'s office
Posts: 50,810
How do you install it? Would it be wise backing up before downloading?
cnbcwatcher is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2013, 19:25
gds1972
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3,501
How do you install it? Would it be wise backing up before downloading?
Yes it would be worth backing up the phone prior to updating it.

As for how you install it if you download the Samsung Kies software on your PC and then plug your phone into it with a USB lead. The software should detect if a new firmware version is available and download it to the phone providing your phone has enough charge.

It looks like this update might only be working on unlocked phones at the moment.
gds1972 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2013, 20:21
dreamypuma
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Earth
Posts: 2,127
Unlocked two orange handsets using codes bought from eBay. Kies still wouldn't update them, so downloaded the UK update from Sammobile, and updated using Odin.

Noticed that Kies now didn't recognise the software on the phone, so won't check for future updates. To resolve this put the phones into recovery mode, wiped cache, and wipe data / factory and reboot, the handset. The software is now recognised, and can be updated using Kies in the future.

Manually updating the phone using Odin to the official UK JB update is a breeze.

No issues at all.
dreamypuma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2013, 20:28
Mustabuster
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Woking, Surrey.
Posts: 2,497
My wife has been experiencing unresponsiveness of the UI sometimes on her phone after the JB update. Not sure if it's lack of memory or just not enough grunt for JB but's annoying.
Mustabuster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2013, 20:41
dreamypuma
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Earth
Posts: 2,127
My wife has been experiencing unresponsiveness of the UI sometimes on her phone after the JB update. Not sure if it's lack of memory or just not enough grunt for JB but's annoying.
Have you tried moving apps from the internal memory to external memory card?
dreamypuma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2013, 22:23
Mustabuster
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Woking, Surrey.
Posts: 2,497
I moved them from system storage to USB storage but I don't think that's the removable sdcard.
Mustabuster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2013, 22:34
barbeler
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,124
I wish they wouldn't use these childish names for, err, whatever Jellybean is. It really puts me off buying a phone.
barbeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2013, 22:43
alan1302
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Yorks
Posts: 5,779
I wish they wouldn't use these childish names for, err, whatever Jellybean is. It really puts me off buying a phone.
Maybe you shouldn't be so childish and let a name put you off
alan1302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2013, 22:58
cnbcwatcher
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: At college, in L.A.'s office
Posts: 50,810
Yes it would be worth backing up the phone prior to updating it.

As for how you install it if you download the Samsung Kies software on your PC and then plug your phone into it with a USB lead. The software should detect if a new firmware version is available and download it to the phone providing your phone has enough charge.

It looks like this update might only be working on unlocked phones at the moment.
Ah right. I'm a Mac user but I have a Windows partition so I should be able to install Samsung Kies. Is the installation/update process similar to updating iOS on an iPod Touch or iPhone? I'm afraid of bricking my device
cnbcwatcher is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2013, 23:55
Mustabuster
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Woking, Surrey.
Posts: 2,497
Ah right. I'm a Mac user but I have a Windows partition so I should be able to install Samsung Kies. Is the installation/update process similar to updating iOS on an iPod Touch or iPhone? I'm afraid of bricking my device
There's a mac version of Kies.
Mustabuster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 08:15
1saintly
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,195
Is the installation/update process similar to updating iOS on an iPod Touch or iPhone? I'm afraid of bricking my device
Dont know about iPhone.

But upgrading youre Galaxy ace2 is a breeze.
Get Kies for Mac, launch it, plug phone into Mac, just follow a couple of very easy instrutions, wait, sorted
1saintly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 09:52
skycatcher
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hillsborough, NI
Posts: 129
read a couple of reports about laggy performance after update to jellybean...bit worried about this update as I'm very happy with the current performance!
skycatcher is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:30.