Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Original Xbox games skipping


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 26-05-2013, 14:59
gamercraig
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 5,874

I recently bought a modded Xbox (original version) with emulators on and enabled to output via component to my HDTV.
I bought a few Xbox games too and most of them are skipping, some to the point of unplayable. I could see maybe one or two discs being scratched but not all.
I have tried a DVD cleaner (one you put in the drive) to no avail.
Does this sound like a drive replacement is needed or something else?
gamercraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 26-05-2013, 15:25
Daveoc64
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Bristol (BBC1 West)
Posts: 14,926
What do you mean by "Skipping"?

A dirty or damaged game disc shouldn't act like a dirty/damaged audio CD.

Have you tried it without component enabled (an SD connection)?
Daveoc64 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2013, 15:31
gamercraig
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 5,874
For example on Dead Or Alive when the initial screens come on (water chopping video) it jerks and breaks up.
I did wonder if it was more the connection issue, but then some games play fine
gamercraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-05-2013, 02:45
FIFA1966
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 620
Get a brand new original Xbox and check if the skipping still happens.

Give me an update here.
FIFA1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-05-2013, 14:10
gamercraig
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 5,874
Right, just got back from CEX with another Xbox and the games play fine whether connected by Component or Composite. So definitely seems to be the DVD drive. I might just keep both plugged in to avoid undoing the casing
gamercraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-05-2013, 03:32
Daveoc64
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Bristol (BBC1 West)
Posts: 14,926
Right, just got back from CEX with another Xbox and the games play fine whether connected by Component or Composite. So definitely seems to be the DVD drive. I might just keep both plugged in to avoid undoing the casing
That's a pretty dodgy assumption!

What if it's something else in the console that's broken!/
Daveoc64 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 28-05-2013, 08:54
gamercraig
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 5,874
Anything stored on the hard drive plays fine
gamercraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-05-2013, 10:21
2Dshmuplover
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Norfolk UK
Posts: 8,052
Have you tried installing the disk games that do skip to the HDD. DVD's the first thing to go on older Xbox's, everything else will be fine. It's an easy replacement if you decide to go down that route. All Xbox DVD-ROMS are interchangeable too so don't worry about compatibility issues. If you want the best drive go for first gen Samsung, or later Hitachi models.
2Dshmuplover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-05-2013, 16:46
gamercraig
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 5,874
How can I install to HDD? I was going to change over the DVD drives so the working one is in the modded machine
gamercraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-05-2013, 19:13
General Zod
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 374
^ It depends what custom dashboard you have installed. Its usually XBMC, UnleashX, Avalaunch etc. What screen comes up when you turn on the Xbox without a game in the drive? There'll be an option somewhere to install to HDD.
As for exchanging the DVD drives, yes. Put the one that works into the modded box.
General Zod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-05-2013, 22:22
gamercraig
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 5,874
Found how to install games but the 80gb drive is almost full. Oh well!
gamercraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2013, 13:33
gamercraig
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 5,874
Changed DVD drives over and everything now working. So my "pretty dodgy" assumption was spot on.....
gamercraig is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:00.