Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

PC power on but no signal to monitor help!


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 26-05-2013, 16:03
humanoid01
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 40

Hi guys hope you can help

My pc has been working fine for a few years and yesterday was working it quite hard (well updating ITunes which hogged all the CPU) and had it on for about 24 hours solid. Turned it off last night and this morning the power on the pc turns on but the screen is in standby.

I have tried
1. Swapping vga leads
2. Checked the monitor with another computer (and is fine)
3. Checked the computer with another monitor (same issue)

The light on my mouse in on and the power on the computer seems to be ok (there is a little red light on the front of the computer which seems to flash at a pattern of 12 3 4 [small pause] and then repeats

I have given the components a quick dust but not sure what else to do - any advice? I have a load of stuff on there I need to salvage
humanoid01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 26-05-2013, 16:05
edEx
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Londres, Tierra del Fuego
Posts: 12,924
Probably blown your graphics chip or port. Don't worry, neither of those components hold your data. If you need to replace the motherboard you'll be able to salvage your data off your current hard disk.
edEx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2013, 16:08
humanoid01
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 40
Probably blown your graphics chip or port. Don't worry, neither of those components hold your data. If you need to replace the motherboard you'll be able to salvage your data off your current hard disk.
Thanks for the quick reply!

I should also mention I tried plugging the vga lead into the port by the top of the computer as well as on the graphics card (I think the built in moterhboard one) and still the same. Not sure if this means it is the motherbaord?
humanoid01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2013, 16:14
edEx
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Londres, Tierra del Fuego
Posts: 12,924
Open the case and take the suspect graphics card out, then plug the cable into the on-board port. If the on-board port is just disabled in the BIOS that might wake it into life for long enough for you to access the BIOS settings and make it the primary video out.
edEx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2013, 16:31
humanoid01
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 40
OK I will try that now - just had a quick look and the graphics card is in pretty solid - looks like there is a clip or something at the end that is in tight!
humanoid01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2013, 16:39
humanoid01
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 40
No difference - it is still going into standby
humanoid01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2013, 16:41
edEx
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Londres, Tierra del Fuego
Posts: 12,924
Damn. Looks like you might need a new motherboard then. As I posted earlier your data is safe, but I think you need to get your credit card out.
edEx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2013, 16:42
humanoid01
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 40
Damn. Looks like you might need a new motherboard then. As I posted earlier your data is safe, but I think you need to get your credit card out.
Bugger - oh well thanks for talking me through in any case

How do I rescue the things on my hardrive and does it mean I will need to reinstall windows etc over the hardrive when I get a new board?
humanoid01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2013, 16:46
edEx
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Londres, Tierra del Fuego
Posts: 12,924
You should be able to boot from the installed Windows on your existing hard disk, albeit in a limited form, which providing what's installed recognises your ethernet or wifi connection will then link you out to Microsoft to download and install the remaining drivers. Keep your installation CD handy in case it asks for it.
edEx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2013, 16:48
humanoid01
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 40
OK Thanks for your help
humanoid01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2013, 17:27
max99
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,633
If your data is important, you need to back it up before you do anything else.

You can either remove the hard drive and connect it to another machine (either internally or via a USB adapter/caddy). Or boot from a Linux Live disk and access your data that way. If you search this forum, you'll find many threads explaining what to do. You'll also find many comments from people asking why on earth you didn't have your data backed up.
max99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-05-2013, 11:50
Zenith
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: East London
Posts: 2,849
What is the make & model of the pc?

Did the red light on the pc flash before you had this problem? Most pc's have a red light on the case which flashes as the hard drive is accessed.

Did your pc give a "beep" when it used to start up? If so, does it still do it now?
Zenith is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:19.