Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Useless YouTube app HDR-1000S


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-06-2013, 19:04
Skylover4life
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 1,108

Anyone else find that the YouTube app is useless? I know someone has confirmed the bug where when it plays a video the text "Loading..." remains on top flashing away.

However I've noticed it become increasingly unreliable lately, where it will display

"Playback Error.
This video format is not supported."

Or it will just display a black screen with the text "Loading...".

If I use the app on my PS3 or laptop they play fine. Went to play a trailer to show a family member and I tried 4 different uploads and non played at all, making me have to dig out this laptop.

BTW I have a 100Mb connection with Virgin Media and other devices have zero issues with YouTube.
Skylover4life is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 11-06-2013, 21:28
-GONZO-
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kent
Posts: 7,646
Its a problem at YouTubes end, which they're apparently investigating according to Freesat.
-GONZO- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 23:38
Faust
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 6,131
Yep packed up altogether on mine too now. The constant loading icon was bad enough but now it's just a black screen with the loading message displayed.
Faust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 18:01
-GONZO-
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kent
Posts: 7,646
There's now an on screen message that appears when you open the app warning of a problem with youtube that may cause disruption and they're working to ressolve the issue.
-GONZO- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2013, 17:14
Faust
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 6,131
YouTube, FreeSat, Humax or all three aren't exactly busting a gut to get the app working again.
Faust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2013, 10:07
youddiph
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 852
YouTube, FreeSat, Humax or all three aren't exactly busting a gut to get the app working again.
I am now experiencing issues when using the app. if the box records, the box is unable to exit YouTube. only a power cycle can shift it. 2580 on the remote doesn't shift it.
youddiph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2013, 14:23
REPASSAC
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Perchede, France
Posts: 1,736
I am now experiencing issues when using the app. if the box records, the box is unable to exit YouTube. only a power cycle can shift it. 2580 on the remote doesn't shift it.
Does that standby button not work? It is usually still active and avoids possible disk errors a power cycle can bring when writing to disk, which it is normally doing when recording or watching a channel..
REPASSAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2013, 14:32
youddiph
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 852
Does that standby button not work? It is usually still active and avoids possible disk errors a power cycle can bring when writing to disk, which it is normally doing when recording or watching a channel..
Guess what, I did try that. So you tell me when the box freezes what do you do?
youddiph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2013, 15:18
-GONZO-
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kent
Posts: 7,646
Guess what, I did try that. So you tell me when the box freezes what do you do?
Did you wait for the recording to finish first, before pulling the plug?
-GONZO- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2013, 16:04
youddiph
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 852
Did you wait for the recording to finish first, before pulling the plug?
yes of course!
youddiph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2013, 16:18
REPASSAC
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Perchede, France
Posts: 1,736
Guess what, I did try that. So you tell me when the box freezes what do you do?
In the few times I have had such a problem standby and volume remained functional.

Several power cuts however caused the recording buffer file to be corrupt with the consequence of no live pause etc. A format will be necessary to correct when I get around to it.
REPASSAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2013, 17:51
youddiph
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 852
Does that standby button not work? It is usually still active and avoids possible disk errors a power cycle can bring when writing to disk, which it is normally doing when recording or watching a channel..
Guess what, I did try that. So you tell me when the box freezes what do you do?
youddiph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2013, 11:52
REPASSAC
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Perchede, France
Posts: 1,736
Guess what, I did try that. So you tell me when the box freezes what do you do?
Well in the situation you describe, I would first try a network cable disconnect to see if it picks up the connection going down.
REPASSAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2013, 11:57
youddiph
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 852
Well in the situation you describe, I would first try a network cable disconnect to see if it picks up the connection going down.
What does that have to do with an app that has crashed. The network cables are fine, new and no network issues.
youddiph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2013, 12:45
REPASSAC
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Perchede, France
Posts: 1,736
What does that have to do with an app that has crashed. The network cables are fine, new and no network issues.
Easy one: Youtube requires the connection, removing it and the loss should be detected by the hardware, the running application should receive an error from the OS which, if you are lucky, would cause it to exit.
REPASSAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2013, 14:24
SWIZZ?
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cambs
Posts: 874
I have been looking for the special U Tube app to control it on freesat.
A search in my iPhone App Store yields nothing.

What is it called, please.

David
SWIZZ? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2013, 14:26
youddiph
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 852
I have been looking for the special U Tube app to control it on freesat.
A search in my iPhone App Store yields nothing.

What is it called, please.

David
The usual YouTube app
youddiph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2013, 17:09
-GONZO-
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kent
Posts: 7,646
I have been looking for the special U Tube app to control it on freesat.
A search in my iPhone App Store yields nothing.

What is it called, please.

David
As already said above, just the YouTube app that's already available.
Open YouTube settings on iPhone and select Connected TV's and then pair with the Hummy by adding the code the Hummy YouTube app gives you.
-GONZO- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2013, 21:41
Faust
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 6,131
I notice despite the YouTube may not work warning on the 1000s videos are now playing again. However, absolutely no improvement noted with the constant loading icon. I can't help but come to the conclusion Freesat/Humax have given up on offering even a modicum of service to their customers.
Faust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2013, 23:32
SWIZZ?
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cambs
Posts: 874
As already said above, just the YouTube app that's already available.
Open YouTube settings on iPhone and select Connected TV's and then pair with the Hummy by adding the code the Hummy YouTube app gives you.
Thanks GONZO & youddiph.
SWIZZ? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2013, 00:13
Skylover4life
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 1,108
They really are taking their time to fix this app! It was great in that brief period when it worked, when it works like the PS3 app I'll be happy!
Skylover4life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2013, 08:32
SWIZZ?
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cambs
Posts: 874
As already said above, just the YouTube app that's already available.
Open YouTube settings on iPhone and select Connected TV's and then pair with the Hummy by adding the code the Hummy YouTube app gives you.
I selected "connected TV""
It brought up a screen on the iPhonethat said
1 -- go to theYouTube app on your TV or game console.

There seems to be no such app on TV or Humax freesat HDR.

DAVID
SWIZZ? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2013, 08:33
youddiph
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 852
I selected "connected TV""
It brought up a screen on the iPhonethat said
1 -- go to theYouTube app on your TV or game console.

There seems to be no such app on TV or Humax freesat HDR.

DAVID
Now I see this thread is about the hdr 1000s not the old hdr
youddiph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2013, 13:15
Faust
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 6,131
They really are taking their time to fix this app! It was great in that brief period when it worked, when it works like the PS3 app I'll be happy!
It is back and working again. However, the constant loading icon centre screen is still there. This really is poor CS.
Faust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2013, 13:37
youddiph
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 852
It is back and working again. However, the constant loading icon centre screen is still there. This really is poor CS.
really they said they are working on it and new sw is imminent
youddiph is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:42.